Hovden rolls to Holley Iron Man Series USRA Stock Car win at Deer Creek Speedway
Print this page
September 19, 2015

SPRING VALLEY, Minn.—Mitch Hovden came out on top in a USRA Stock Car thriller Saturday at the Deer Creek Speedway during the Meyerhofer Crane & Rigging Clash at The Creek.

With most of the field battling three- and four-wide throughout the race, Hovden came from the eighth starting spot to grab his sixth Holley Iron Man Series win of the 2015 campaign.

Pete Solum held off Kyle Falck for second with points leader Tom Schmitt fourth and polesitter Steve Jackson fifth.

Brandon Hare, Jake Newman, Stefan Sybesma, Danny Sacquitne and Shawn Peter rounded out the top 10.

Schmitt continues to lead the points over Jackson, Falck, Hovden and Newman with four more points races remaining on the schedule.

Both USRA Stock Cars and USRA B-Mods will compete with the Holley Iron Man Series on Saturday, Oct. 3, at the Cresco Speedway in Cresco, Iowa.

But before that, USRA B-Mods will take part in the action all three nights of the 17th Annual Featherlite Fall Jamboree, Thursday-Saturday, Sept.24-26, at the Deer Creek Speedway.

The season finale will take place Thursday-Saturday, Oct. 15-17, during the 2nd Annual USRA National Championships at the Lakeside Speedway in Kansas City, Kan.

To learn more about the USRA, visit www.usraracing.com or call 515-832-6000. You can also like us on Facebook at www.facebook.com/usraracing, follow us at www.twitter.com/usraracing on Twitter and check out our YouTube channel at www.youtube.com/usratv.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

United States Racing Association
USRA Holley Iron Man Series
Deer Creek Speedway, Spring Valley, Minn.
Saturday, Sept. 19, 2015

Showing finishing position, starting position in parentheses, car number, driver, hometown, laps completed and money won. All drivers were locked into the “A” Main, with the top 8 in heat race passing points re-drawing for starting positions 1-8.


Heat Race #1 (8 laps):
1. (2) 00 Danny Cole, Lansing, Iowa.
2. (6) 15 Mitch Hovden, Decorah, Iowa.
3. (3) 20 Brent Tweten, Chatfield, Minn.
4. (8) 37 Pete Solum, Spring Grove, Minn.
5. (5) 6 Danny Sacquitne, Decorah, Iowa.
6. (4) 5b Stefan Sybesma, Sanborn, Iowa.
7. (1) 52 Nathan Wood, Sigourney, Iowa.
8. (7) 14m Brian Mahlstedt, Ionia, Iowa.

Heat Race #2 (8 laps):
1. (2) 67 Kyle Falck, Decorah, Iowa.
2. (3) 18 Tom Schmitt, Independence, Iowa.
3. (1) 97 Lynn Panos, Calmar, Iowa.
4. (6) 44 Dillon Anderson, Decorah, Iowa.
5. (8) 27 Shawn Peter, Mable, Minn.
6. (7) 14 Todd Staley, Webster City, Iowa.
7. (5) 86 Philip Wernert, Galesville, Wis.
8. (4) 33 Kevin Donlan, Decorah, Iowa.

Heat Race #3 (8 laps):
1. (1) 2j Steve Jackson, Polk City, Iowa.
2. (4) 32x Rich Gregoire, Russell, Minn.
3. (5) 56h Brandon Hare, Elma, Iowa.
4. (3) 55 Derek Dettmann, Monroe, Iowa.
5. (7) 11 Jake Lampert, Caledonia, Minn.
6. (2) 222 Jake Newman, Smithville, Mo.
7. (6) 14a Blake Adams, Stacyville, Iowa.

“A” Main (20 laps):
1. (8) 15 Mitch Hovden, Decorah, Iowa, $750.
2. (2) 37 Pete Solum, Spring Grove, Minn., $550.
3. (4) 67 Kyle Falck, Decorah, Iowa, $450.
4. (6) 18 Tom Schmitt, Independence, Iowa, $375.
5. (1) 2j Steve Jackson, Polk City, Iowa, $325.
6. (7) 56h Brandon Hare, Elma, Iowa, $280.
7. (17) 222 Jake Newman, Smithville, Mo., $250.
8. (16) 5b Stefan Sybesma, Sanborn, Iowa, $220.
9. (14) 6 Danny Sacquitne, Decorah, Iowa, $190.
10. (12) 27 Shawn Peter, Mable, Minn., $170.
11. (18) 52 Nathan Wood, Sigourney, Iowa, $150.
12. (15) 14 Todd Staley, Webster City, Iowa, $140.
13. (10) 97 Lynn Panos, Calmar, Iowa, $130.
14. (9) 20 Brent Tweten, Chatfield, Minn., $125.
15. (3) 00 Danny Cole, Lansing, Iowa, $120.
16. (19) 86 Philip Wernert, Galesville, Wis., $115.
17. (20) 14a Blake Adams, Stacyville, Iowa, $110.
18. (11) 44 Dillon Anderson, Decorah, Iowa, $105.
19. (13) 11 Jake Lampert, Caledonia, Minn., $100.
20. (5) 32x Rich Gregoire, Russell, Minn., $100.
DNS – 55 Derek Dettmann, Monroe, Iowa, $75.
DNS – 14m Brian Mahlstedt, Ionia, Iowa, $75.
DNS – 33 Kevin Donlan, Decorah, Iowa, $75.

Provisional Starters: none.
Hard Charger: Newman (started 17th, finished 7th).
Entries: 23.
Next Race: Saturday, Oct. 3, Cresco Speedway, Cresco, Iowa.
Points Standings: Schmitt 1409, Jackson 1284, Falck 1130, Hovden 1117, Newman 1088, Staley 1081, Sybesma 851, Donlan 752, Panos 718, Jake Ludeking 671.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

USRA OFFICIAL SPONSORS: American Racer Tires, BRODIX Cylinder Heads, COMP Cams, Day Motor Sports, Intercomp, KEVKO Oil Pans & Components, MSD, Nitroquest Media, RACEceiver, RacinDirt.com, Radical Race Gear.

USRA PARTICIPATING SPONSORS: Boubin Tire & Automotive, ElbowsUp.com, Erson Cams, Heartland Auto Racing Show, New Vision Graphics.

USRA CONTINGENCY SPONSORS: AFCO Racing Products, ASi Racewear, Beyea Custom Headers, BSB Manufacturing, COMP Cams, Edelbrock, Forty9 Designs, Genesis Racing Shocks, Harris Auto Racing, Hooker Custom Harness, KSE Racing Products, Marsh Racing Wheels, Mitchell Machine, PBM Performance Products, QA1 Performance Products, Quarter Master, Real Racing Wheels, Sybesma Graphics, Wehrs Machine & Racing Products.

USRA PARTICIPATING TRACKS: Ark-La-Tex Speedway, Boothill Speedway, Callaway Raceway, Caney Valley Speedway, Central Missouri Speedway, Chateau Raceway, Crawford County Speedway, Cresco Speedway, Dallas County Speedway, Deer Creek Speedway, Devil’s Bowl Speedway, East Texas Speedway, El Paso Speedway Park, Fairmont Raceway, Fayette County Speedway, Hamilton County Speedway, Heartland Park Topeka, Humboldt Speedway, Huset’s Speedway, I-35 Speedway (IA), I-35 Speedway (MO), I-90 Speedway, Lakeside Speedway, Lawton Speedway, Lonestar Speedway, Lucas Oil Speedway, Mississippi Thunder Speedway, Monett Speedway, Nevada Speedway, North Central Arkansas Speedway, Randolph County Raceway, Rapid Speedway, Red River Speedway, RPM Speedway, Sioux Speedway, Southern New Mexico Speedway, Southern Oklahoma Speedway, Springfield Raceway, Superbowl Speedway, Upper Iowa Speedway, Valley Speedway.

Latest News from the USRA

June 18, 2018
Boone River Bayou postponed to June 26-27
Officials at the Hamilton County Speedway driven by Spangler Automotive have postponed this week’s Boone River Bayou Dirt Track Championships to next Tuesday and Weread more
June 17, 2018
Gulbrandson wins before rain cuts Mason City show short
With heat races for four classes and one feature race in the books, the rain that had threatened off and on all day finally made good on it’s threats and washed outread more
June 16, 2018
Saturday a night of many firsts at Southern New Mexico Speedway
We all remember our first time to the dirt track. Some were just children, tagging along with family and some were older, but whenever the first time happened, we rememberead more
June 16, 2018
Casey's Night finds Tillman, Gillmore in Springfield Raceway winners circle
The "Quick Quarter"of the Springfield Raceway presented Casey's General Stores Night on Saturday with current USRA Modified track points leader Jody Tillmanread more
June 16, 2018
Crapser captures first USRA Modified win at Deer Creek
This week the school bus races and mascot night were the featured attraction at Deer Creek Speedway. Seven schools were represented in the bus races and five school mascoread more
Contact Us

Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group