Champions feted at I-35 Speedway awards banquet
Print this page
November 14, 2015  |  by Rick Staley

WINSTON, Mo.—The stage was set early for a great night of festivities as you pulled into the parking lot and saw them cooking in the Pit Stop Barbecue car at the Cameron Community Center. As the opening ceremonies started we—as we always do at I-35 Speedway—honored Veterans, active military, firefighters and law enforcement as they grant us the freedom and security here in this great country.

Motor Racing Outreach member Robbie Skipper got things started with our invocation to the capacity crowd. We discovered real quick that next year more room will be needed as every seat in the Community Center was full. We then looked at the year in review and how great of a year I-35 Speedway was blessed with and this was a night for the fans and drivers to sit back, relax and enjoy their night, and yes, receive the many awards given.

After a delicious meal from Pit Stop Barbecue and slide show presented by Jessica Oskvig with background music provided by K&C DJ Services we were set for the festivities to get underway.

First presentation of the night was the Unsung Hero Award for that person that works behind the scenes making sure the race runs smoothly. The Unsung Hero Award went to Mike Night for the outstanding job prepping the race track each week.

We then presented the awards to our top 10 point finishers in each division at I-35 Speedway:

USRA B-Mod track champion Tim Eaton of St. Joseph.

USRA Stock Car track champion Dean Wray of Jamesport.

USRA Modified track champion Dennis Elliott of Mt. Ayr, Iowa.

I-35 Speedway then honored our 2015 rookie of the year in each class: Jonathan Knotts of Blue Springs (USRA B-Mods), Nathan Carder of Gallatin (USRA Stock Cars) and Houston Johnson of Smithville (USRA Modifieds).

The crew of I-35 Speedway then presented Mike and Kyle Johnson with a plaque for all their hard work and dedication making I-35 a premier racing facility.

Sportsmanship is a treasured award representing respect and fairness to fellow racers, and this year I-35 Speedway presented three deserving drivers and teams: Houston Johnson, Nic Hanes and Dx Racing (Billie Hoover, Mich Ross, Holden Schultz and John Hanson

I-35 Speedway gave fans the opportunity to vote for their Fan of the Year and four where chosen and presented trophies: Antone “Tank” Ibarra, Andrew Oskvig, Paula Murphy and Roxanne Weller.

The Special Recognition Awards went to Nan Ross and Cheryl Billings.

The Gene Tuttle Award went to a track worker that exemplifies Tuttle’s unselfish and hardworking character. The 2015 Gene Tuttle Award went to Mike Oskvig.

I-35 Speedway has started their own Hall of Fame and will induct members each year at our banquet. When choosing new members, the effort is to honor the time and commitment put into I-35 Speedway to make it the success it is today.

Our first I-35 Speedway Hall of Fame member is no stranger to racing as she supported her husband when he promoted race tracks. She raised a respected family and to date carries on Larry Kaster’s legacy each year at I-35 Speedway with Kaster Celebration Night. She, along with family, presents plaques each year to drivers that may not be the fastest or winningest, but the driver that shows sportsmanship and the determination to compete. No one is more worthy or deserving of this honor. The first I-35 Speedway Hall of Fame member is Dixie Kaster.

At the end of the night, over 40 door prizes were given away, raffle prizes were awarded and the silent auction bid winners claimed their buys. K&C DJ Services then cranked up the music and the dancing began and did not stop until the wee hours of the night. Special thanks to Kevin and Caleb Ash for their hard work and great music as they are the best in the DJ Business today.

A very special thank you to Mike and Kyle Johnson as they outdid themselves with the 2015 I-35 Speedway awards banquet. Fun was had by all and the night was a booming success as we look forward to an even better 2016 racing season where we will have more “Dirt Trackin’ at its Best.”

Contact Us

© Copyright 2019 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group