Robertson rolls to Red River Speedway title in season of many firsts
Print this page
December 7, 2015

SHAMROCK, Texas—The first full season in a full-blown open-wheel dirt modified for Logan Robertson of Shamrock, Texas, was a first in more ways than one.

Robertson, who turned 16 years old in January, not only captured his first USRA Modified track championship but also became the youngest driver to do so in the fourteen season of USRA Weekly Racing Series competition.

“I have had an awesome season and have had some great experiences,” said Robertson, who captured the USRA Modified track championship at the Red River Speedway in Wichita Falls, Texas. “I really have to thank Aaron Shannon and my dad for all of the things they have done for me. I also have to thank my great mom—she lets me do what I love and lets my dad help me. I also want to thank my grandpa, Dean. He has bought parts for me and has been great help in the pits this year. I have a lot of people to thank, whether they sponsored me, bought a shirt, came to watch or just followed me on social media. It’s a great feeling to have all this support behind me.”

In addition to his track title, the home-schooled teenager won his career-first USRA Modified main event on August 15 at the Southern Oklahoma Speedway in Ardmore Okla., where he also wrapped up the 2015 campaign with an eighth-place finish in the track’s points battle.

Among more than 800 drivers in the USRA Modified division he finished 57th in national points. In 29 starts he recorded 1 win, 4 top-five and 19 top-ten finishes.

Final 2015 Red River Speedway track points:

1. 23 Logan Robertson, Shamrock, Texas ... 954
2. 49 Chadd Howell, Waurika, Okla. ... 942
3. 90 Tommy Fain, Abilene, Texas ... 922
4. 87 John Webb, Pauls Valley, Okla. ... 921
5. 89 John Nemetz, Iowa Park, Texas ... 871
6. 34n C.A. Nix, Lawton, Okla. ... 716
7. 12 Michael Baker, Iowa Park, Texas ... 558
8. 57 Jay Baggett, Iowa Park, Texas ... 472
9. D33 Dale Miller, Wichita Falls, Texas ... 414
10. W71 Harold Winton, Waurika, Okla. ... 406

Although he accomplished a great deal, the fourth-generation racer is quick to share the glory with family and sponsors.

“My sponsors helped me out so much. I wouldn't be able to do it without them,” Robertson added. “These people are great and it means so much to have their support. They have made my race team function.”

Robertson’s sponsors include Hall's Contract Pumping, Shannon’s Reality, McNabb’s Quick Lube & Wash, Schwab’s Tinker Shop, Garrison’s Convenience Stores, Mitchell’s Family Restaurant, Panhandle Recovery Services, Champs Graphics, Panhandle Performance Engines, Toni’s Jewelry & Gifts, Kamber Kay Photography and County Star News.

To learn more about the USRA, visit or call 515-832-6000. You can also like us on Facebook at, follow us at on Twitter and check out our YouTube channel at

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

USRA OFFICIAL SPONSORS: American Racer Tires, BRODIX Cylinder Heads, COMP Cams, Day Motor Sports, Intercomp, KEVKO Oil Pans & Components, MSD, Nitroquest Media, RACEceiver,, Radical Race Gear.

USRA PARTICIPATING SPONSORS: Boubin Tire & Automotive,, Erson Cams, Heartland Auto Racing Show, New Vision Graphics.

USRA CONTINGENCY SPONSORS: AFCO Racing Products, ASi Racewear, Beyea Custom Headers, BSB Manufacturing, COMP Cams, Edelbrock, Forty9 Designs, Genesis Racing Shocks, Harris Auto Racing, Hooker Custom Harness, KSE Racing Products, Marsh Racing Wheels, Mitchell Machine, PBM Performance Products, QA1 Performance Products, Quarter Master, Real Racing Wheels, Sybesma Graphics, Wehrs Machine & Racing Products.

USRA PARTICIPATING TRACKS: Ark-La-Tex Speedway, Boothill Speedway, Callaway Raceway, Caney Valley Speedway, Central Missouri Speedway, Chateau Raceway, Crawford County Speedway, Cresco Speedway, Dallas County Speedway, Deer Creek Speedway, Devil’s Bowl Speedway, East Texas Speedway, El Paso Speedway Park, Fairmont Raceway, Fayette County Speedway, Hamilton County Speedway, Heartland Park Topeka, Humboldt Speedway, Huset’s Speedway, I-35 Speedway, I-90 Speedway, Lakeside Speedway, Lawton Speedway, Lonestar Speedway, Lucas Oil Speedway, Mississippi Thunder Speedway, Monett Speedway, Nevada Speedway, North Central Arkansas Speedway, Randolph County Raceway, Rapid Speedway, Red River Speedway, RPM Speedway, Sioux Speedway, Southern New Mexico Speedway, Southern Oklahoma Speedway, Springfield Raceway, Superbowl Speedway, Upper Iowa Speedway, Valley Speedway.

Latest News from the USRA

January 18, 2018
Deadline for USRA banquet tickets is Friday
The United States Racing Association will host its annual awards banquet for drivers competing in this year’s Summit USRA Weekly Racing Series on Saturday, Jan. 27,read more
January 16, 2018
Go-karts fuel Moore's winter need for speed as he gears up for 2018 Lucas Oil Speedway USRA B-Mod season
For one of the Ozarks' rising USRA B-Mod prospects, it's time to start dreaming of spring-time warmth and top-five finishes in the season ahead at Lucas Oil Speedread more
January 15, 2018
I-35 Speedway drivers meeting Jan. 20
In preparation for the start of the 2018 racing season, a driver’s meeting for I-35 Speedway competitors will be held at the Cameron Community Center located at 915read more
January 14, 2018
Strand snares finale, Scott takes title at Wild West Shootout
Dustin Strand emerged atop Sunday's 25-lap USRA Modified feature as the sixth winner in as many events by taking the finale as Las Cruces, N.M.'s Johnny Scott edgread more
January 14, 2018
I-35 Speedway remembers Bud Wilson
Families that race together stay together. We have all heard this saying, even seen it printed on T-shirts, including the Racin for Rian shirts at the I-35 Speedway. read more
Contact Us

Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group