Donlinger’s dominance continues at Deer Creek
Print this page
August 6, 2005  |  by Bill Nelson

SPRING VALLEY, Minn. -- A great field of 127 cars checked into the back gate on Quality Auto night. The drivers, crews and fans were also treated to a display of the Castrol GTX NHRA Funny Car that was on hand courtesy of Greenway.

The USRA Modifieds had some great battles early on as some fast drivers made their way to the front.

Brad Waits led early with Mike Sorensen working into second quickly.

Trevis Underdahl and Doug Hillson raced for the third spot with Steve Arpin and Bob Timm trying to make the top side work early on.

Seventeen to go and Sorensen worked under Waits for the lead.

Jesse Frericks, Arpin, Tim Donlinger, Hillson and Timm were now locked in a super battle for third.

Each driver had the advantage at one time or another as they race every where on the track.

With fifteen to go a caution few with Donlinger into the third spot after starting sixteenth on the grid.

Donlinger took second away from Waits on the restart and set sail after Sorensen out front, behind the front three the racing heated up with some three and four wide battles for position.

Twelve to go and Donlinger took over the lead.

Neil Eckhart, Arpin and Timm now battled for fourth behind a strong running Frericks.

With five to go Timm and Eckhart closed up on Frericks and moved past him as Donlinger pulled out to a half straight away lead and took the win.


Feature - Tim Donlinger, Mike Sorensen, Brad Waits, Bob Timm, Neil Eckhart, Jesse Frericks, Steve Arpin, Trevis Underdahl, Chris Oertel, Albert Wytaske.

Heat 1 - M. Sorensen, Mike Hernke, Waits, Bobby Sorensen, Bill Clemens.

Heat 2 – Timm, Oertel, Frericks, Hank Rollinger, Bruce Angst.

Heat 3 – Doug Hillson, Underdahl, Arpin, Nate Wasmund, Eckhart.

Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group