Donlinger wins again at Deer Creek
Print this page
August 20, 2005  |  by Bill Nelson

SPRING VALLEY, Minn. -- After a heavy rainfall on Friday night the track crew was busy on the speedway on Saturday morning preparing for a great night of racing action. With a late announcement from long-standing sponsors about an increase purse in the USRA Modifeds a great crowd and stellar field of Modifieds arrived to do battle on the high banked track.

The weather was perfect on Bigelow Enterprises Night and Sanderson Auto Repair was on hand along with Fastenal as additional sponsors on the night. Featherlite Trailers, Bigelow Enterprises and Sun Place Tanning all added money to the $2000-to-win USRA modified race.

The final feature of the night was a dandy as the $2000-to-win USRA Modifieds pulled onto the track for their 30-lap feature. With extra money in the purse from Featherlite Trailers, Bigelow Enterprises and Sun Place Tanning a large 38-car field showed up for the Saturday night race.

Steve Wetzstein had his best run of the season at the speedway and led early on in the feature event. The field was three and four wide for the first few laps as everyone tried to charge towards the front early.

Steve Arpin settled into second with Corey Dripps, Tim Donlinger and Bruce Angst racing behind him.

With 24 to go, Mark Noble slowed bringing out a caution. Wetzstein ran low on the restart with Donlinger working to his outside. Donlinger took the lead with 20 to go while Dripps and Wetzstein went side by side for the next four laps.

Fourteen to go and Dripps really had the top side working as he closed in on the leader, but a heavy brush with the wall slowed down his progress. Tommy Myer and Brad McEwan were trying to crack the top 5 late in the race as they came up from deeper in the field.

Donlinger held on for another win at the speedway and the $2,000 prize.


A Feature - Tim Donlinger, Corey Dripps, Steve Wetzstein, Brad McEwan, Steve Arpin, Tommy Myer, John Tesch, Todd Scharkey, Ryan Ruter, Kelly Shryock.

B Feature #1 Matt Aarsvold, Jay Ihrke, Jesse Frericks, Hank Rollinger, Dave Wytaske Jr.

B Feature #2 Dain Schultz, Todd Scharkey, Darwyn Karau, Jake Neal, James Parker.

Heat #1 Mark Noble, Donlinger, Wetzstein, Albert Wytaske, Craig Shaw, Russ Quinnell.

Heat #2 Neil Eckhart, Tesch, Dripps, Myer, Dann Olson.

Heat #3 Arpin, Bobby Sorensen, McEwan, Shryock , Mike Sorensen.

Heat #4 Bruce Angst, Alan Mondus, Ruter, Mike Spaulding, Bob Timm.

Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group