Gallardo, McCarty opening night winners at Winter Meltdown XXII
Print this page
March 11, 2016

Defending USRA Modified National Champion Jake Gallardo won the USRA Modified main event.

LAS CRUCES, N.M.—Its been far too long since race cars made some dust in the desert here at the Southern New Mexico Speedway but Friday night the dust drought ended with the opening night of Winter Meltdown XXII featuring USRA Modifieds and USRA Stock Cars.

In the Sun Valley Hardware USRA Stock Car 20-lap main event, Shawn McCarty took the win over Jaime Torres, Jason Josselyn, Jason Ziehl and Mark Lord.

The 30-lap main event for the USRA Modifieds, Jake Gallardo picked up where he left off last year as he held off 22nd-starting Johnny Scott for the win. Stormy Scott made a late-race pass to steal third ahead of Fito Gallardo and Ricky Thornton Jr.

"It really does feel good to finally be back here and take the win," Jake Gallardo said. "Winning here feels good. Last season was good and hopefully this one will be too."

If you missed the heart-pounding, adrenaline-pumping action of Friday's Winter Meltdown XXII show, the second night happens Saturday with gates opening at 5:30 p.m. and racing at 7:45.

Feature results:

1. (7) J17 Jake Gallardo
2. (22) 1ST Johnny Scott
3. (20) 2S Stormy Scott
4. (12) G17 Fito Gallardo
5. (17) 20RT Ricky Thornton
6. (9) 71 Philip Houston
7. (16) 9 Jimmy Ray
8. (2) 111 Bumper Jones
9. (1) 85 Austin Adams
10. (3) 85F Neal Flowers
11. (10) 28 Cory Davis
12. (8) 202 Robbie Chiles
13. (21) 6T Corky Thomas
14. (24) 131 Royal Jones
15. (18) M16 Rick Gallardo
16. (23) 17D Nick Decarlo
17. (13) 50 Ralph Adams Jr.
18. (5) 105 Billy Johnson
19. (15) 17M Roy Don Mason
20. (14) 65X Carlos Ahumada Jr.
21. (11) 43P Glen Perry
22. (4) J16 Joshua Gallardo
23. (6) 99 Terry Tipton
24. (19) 117 Toby Herring

1. (2) 0 Shawn McCarty
2. (5) 44JT Jaime Torres
3. (7) 74 Jason Josselyn
4. (3) 36 Jason Ziehl
5. (4) 131 Mark Lord
6. (16) 51 Kenny Mccoy
7. (17) 44X George La Rose
8. (13) 10 John Diamond
9. (6) 11 Cliff Evrage
10. (10) 88 Nathan Smith
11. (12) 39A Tommie Armstrong
12. (1) 2 Rick Skillin
13. (11) 777 Peter Vargas
14. (14) 8 George Ross
15. (8) 0 Lloyd Turner
16. (15) 88N Chris Gutierrez
17. (9) 43 Danny Gross

Latest News from the USRA

January 18, 2018
Deadline for USRA banquet tickets is Friday
The United States Racing Association will host its annual awards banquet for drivers competing in this year’s Summit USRA Weekly Racing Series on Saturday, Jan. 27,read more
January 16, 2018
Go-karts fuel Moore's winter need for speed as he gears up for 2018 Lucas Oil Speedway USRA B-Mod season
For one of the Ozarks' rising USRA B-Mod prospects, it's time to start dreaming of spring-time warmth and top-five finishes in the season ahead at Lucas Oil Speedread more
January 15, 2018
I-35 Speedway drivers meeting Jan. 20
In preparation for the start of the 2018 racing season, a driver’s meeting for I-35 Speedway competitors will be held at the Cameron Community Center located at 915read more
January 14, 2018
Strand snares finale, Scott takes title at Wild West Shootout
Dustin Strand emerged atop Sunday's 25-lap USRA Modified feature as the sixth winner in as many events by taking the finale as Las Cruces, N.M.'s Johnny Scott edgread more
January 14, 2018
I-35 Speedway remembers Bud Wilson
Families that race together stay together. We have all heard this saying, even seen it printed on T-shirts, including the Racin for Rian shirts at the I-35 Speedway. read more
Contact Us

Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group