Brill bags first Out-Pace USRA B-Mod win in Iron Man Challenge “Cage Match”
Print this page
April 24, 2016  |  by Jeff Nun,

ATCHISON, Kan.—Cody Brill used a late-race pass of race-long leader Mike Tanner, and paced the final five laps to score his first Out-Pace USRA B-Mod win in Iron Man Challenge competition Sunday night at the Atchison County Raceway.

The win was worth $600 to the Harrisonville, Mo., youngster as he held off Yancy Shepard for top honors.

Jay Purkey finished third, Cole Denner came from ninth to fourth in the 20-lapper and Doug Keller rounded out the top five.

Andy Bryant, finished eighth after winning Saturday’s feature at the Randolph County Raceway in Moberly, Mo., continues atop the Iron Man Challenge Out-Pace USRA B-Mod points with a 23-point cushion (563 to 540) over Shepard. Tanner is third with 505 markers, followed by Denner (493) and Jared Timmerman (491).

The Iron Man Challenge will go into hibernation for one month as drivers get ready for four big events over the Memorial Day Weekend that will feature both the Holley USRA Stock Cars and Out-Pace USRA B-Mods sharing the spotlight with the United States Modified Touring Series.

On Wednesday, May 25, the Crawford County Speedway in Denison, Iowa, hosts the Iron Man Challenge, and then the legendary Mason City Motor Speedway in Mason City, Iowa, will be the venue on Thursday, May 26. After a day off, action picks back up on Saturday, May 28, at the Deer Creek Speedway in Spring Valley, Minn., before wrapping up the swing at the Upper Iowa Speedway in Decorah, Iowa, on Sunday, May 29.

To learn more about the USRA, visit or call 515-832-6000. You can also like us on Facebook at, follow us at on Twitter and check out our YouTube channel at

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

United States Racing Association (USRA)
USRA Weekly Racing Series/Iron Man Challenge
Atchison County Raceway, Atchison, Kan.
Sunday, April 24, 2016


Showing finishing position, starting position in parentheses, car number, driver, hometown, laps completed and money won. All drivers were locked into the “A” Main with the top 8 in passing points accumulated in the heat races re-drawing for starting positions 1-8.

Heat Race #1 (8 laps):
1. (1) 20t Mike Tanner, Kansas City, Mo.
2. (2) 7+ Jared Timmerman, Norwalk, Iowa.
3. (3) 28 Andy Bryant, Fort Scott, Kan.
4. (4) 7 Doug Keller, Easton, Mo.
5. (5) 02 Cole Denner, New Hampton, Iowa.

Heat Race #2 (8 laps):
1. (1) 22y Yancy Shepard, Smithville, Mo.
2. (2) 35 Jay Purkey, Colwich, Kan.
3. (3) 96 Cody Brill, Harrisonville, Mo.
4. (4) 91 Eddie Schwope Jr., St. Joseph, Mo.
5. (5) 33 Nicholas Carpenter, Leavenworth, Kan.

“A” Main (20 laps):
1. (2) 96 Cody Brill, Harrisonville, Mo., 20, $600.
2. (3) 22y Yancy Shepard, Smithville, Mo., 20, $450.
3. (4) 35 Jay Purkey, Colwich, Kan., 20, $320.
4. (9) 02 Cole Denner, New Hampton, Iowa, 20, $300.
5. (7) 7 Doug Keller, Easton, Mo., 20, $220.
6. (6) 7+ Jared Timmerman, Norwalk, Iowa, 20, $225.
7. (8) 91 Eddie Schwope Jr., St. Joseph, Mo., 20, $200.
8. (5) 28 Andy Bryant, Fort Scott, Kan., 20, $180.
9. (1) 20t Mike Tanner, Kansas City, Mo., 19, $150.
10. (10) 33 Nicholas Carpenter, Leavenworth, Kan., 0, $110.

Lap Leaders: Brill 1, Tanner 2-15, Brill 16-20.
Total Laps Led: Tanner 14, Brill 6.
Margin of Victory: 1.231 seconds.
Time of Race: 5 minutes, 29.329 seconds (1 caution).
Provisional Starters: none.
Entries: 10.
Next Race: Wednesday, May 25, Crawford County Speedway, Denison, Iowa.
Points Standings (top 10): Bryant 563, Shepard 540, Tanner 505, Denner 493, Timmerman 491, Schwope 439, Purkey 313, Brian McGowen 311, Brian Bolin 290, Mike Striegel 282.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

OFFICIAL SPONSORS: American Racer Racing Tires, Argo Manufacturing, COMP Cams, CP-Carrillo, Day Motor Sports, Fast Shafts, Intercomp, Kevko Oil Pans & Components, KSE Racing Products, MSD,,, The Joie of Seating.

PARTICIPATING SPONSORS: ASi Racewear, Boubin Tire & Automotive, Brodix Cylinder Heads,, PBM Performance Products,

CONTINGENCY SPONSORS: AERO Race Wheels, AFCO Racing Products, Beyea Custom Headers, BSB Manufacturing, Edelbrock, Eibach Springs, Erson Cams, Forty9 Designs, Fuel Safe, Genesis Racing Shocks, Holley Performance, Hooker Custom Harness, Integra Shocks & Springs, Keyser Manufacturing, Mitchell Machine, Out-Pace Racing Products, QA1 Precision Products, Quarter Master, Real Racing Wheels, Sybesma Graphics, Wehrs Machine & Race Products, World Products, Zero One Shocks & Service.

USRA MEMBER TRACKS: Aztec Speedway, Badlands Motor Speedway, Callaway Raceway, Caney Valley Speedway, Central Missouri Speedway, Chateau Raceway, Crawford County Speedway, Cresco Speedway, Dallas County Speedway, Deer Creek Speedway, Devil’s Bowl Speedway, East Texas Speedway, Fayette County Speedway, Frontier Sports Park, Humboldt Speedway, I-35 Speedway, I-49 Speedway, I-90 Speedway, Lakeside Speedway, Lawton Speedway, Legit Speedway Park, Lucas Oil Speedway, Mason City Motor Speedway, Midway Speedway, Mississippi Thunder Speedway, Monett Speedway, North Central Arkansas Speedway, Randolph County Raceway, Rapid Speedway, Red River Speedway, RPM Speedway, Route 45 Raceway, Southern New Mexico Speedway, Southern Oklahoma Speedway, Springfield Raceway, Tri-State Speedway, Upper Iowa Speedway, Valley Speedway, Western Tech Speedway Park.

Latest News from the USRA

June 17, 2018
Gulbrandson wins before rain cuts Mason City show short
With heat races for four classes and one feature race in the books, the rain that had threatened off and on all day finally made good on it’s threats and washed outread more
June 16, 2018
Saturday a night of many firsts at Southern New Mexico Speedway
We all remember our first time to the dirt track. Some were just children, tagging along with family and some were older, but whenever the first time happened, we rememberead more
June 16, 2018
Casey's Night finds Tillman, Gillmore in Springfield Raceway winners circle
The "Quick Quarter"of the Springfield Raceway presented Casey's General Stores Night on Saturday with current USRA Modified track points leader Jody Tillmanread more
June 16, 2018
Crapser captures first USRA Modified win at Deer Creek
This week the school bus races and mascot night were the featured attraction at Deer Creek Speedway. Seven schools were represented in the bus races and five school mascoread more
June 16, 2018
Nobles County Speedway wins to Lund, Christensen, Luinenburg, Coopman
Saturday night at the Nobles County Speedway, passing was a challenge in the Holley USRA Stock Car feature as the leaders hugged the bottom of the track. Spenser Kalass uread more
Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group