Sanders, Wray, Turner top Tompkins Industries Night at I-35 Speedway
Print this page
May 14, 2016  |  by Rick Staley

Shadren Turner was the Out-Pace USRA B-Mod feature winner on Saturday, May 14, at the I-35 Speedway.

After a touching opening ceremonies honoring fallen Detective Brad Lancaster and deceased driver James Reed great racing action took to the track.

USRA B–Mods would again be one of the best features of the night with side by side racing to the checkers. Heat race winner Steve Starmer #11s would take the early lead and spin in turn one forcing him to the rear of the field early moving Trever Hunt #44H to then point. Hunt would lead the majority of the feature until other heat race winner Shadren Turner #17t would find the high line and make it work running down the #44h. In the closing laps Hunt and Turner would trade the lead back and forth until the last turn of the last lap as Turner would make the cross over move and beat Hunt to the checkers picking up the win. Hunt would place second by a half car length with big mover of the race Nic Hanes #17x racing his way to third. Fourth place would see Blake Pierce #16 with Chris Wright #66x finding the high line and charging to end the night fifth. Other heat race winner and one time leader Danan Knott #18k appeared to be the fastest car on track until slipping over the birm in turn one forcing him to the rear of the field.

Enter USRA Stock Cars on the fast three eighths mile of dirt with Dean Wray #77 picking up his third win in a row standing tall in McCarthy Auto Group Winners Circle. Wray would work traffic to perfection to take the win with Billie Hoover #21H placing a strong second in the feature. Jason Ryun #27 with his first trip of 2016 to I-35 Speedway would place third with Sam Scott #93 finishing a strong fourth place. Alvie Christofferson #22x was the big mover of the race as he would come home fifth. Heat race winners were Jon Boller III #14x and Jason Estes #997.

USRA Modifieds would see another three time winner in 2016 as Zach Sanders #69 would win heat race and feature on this night of racing action. Sanders would pick up the win with a great battle for second ensuing between Issac Dotson #67D and Dennis Elliott #29 as the two would swap positions throughout the feature. Dotson would use the high line and take the second spot moving heat race winner Elliott to third on the night. Fourth place would see #69N of Cory Wray with Ryan Middaugh #21 impressing with a solid fifth on his first visit to the track.

I-35 Speedway would like to thank drivers and fans for another great show and look forward to seeing all next week for more “Dirt Trackin at its Best”!!!!

Race results I-35 Speedway 5/14/2016:

1. 17T Shadren Turner (Heat Race Winner)
2. 44H Trever Hunt
3. 17X Nic Hanes
4. 16 Blake Pierce
5. 66X Chris Wright
6. 52M Dustin Miller
7. 11s Steve Starmer (Heat Race Winner)
8. 57 Randy Ainsworth
9. 20X Bud Wilson
10. 18K Danan Knott (Heat Race Winner)
11. 14 Austin Bouzek
12. 17R Ramon Ortega
13. 83 Coleman Browning
14. 19J P J Conger
15. 92JK Jonathan Knotts
16. 4K Michael King
17. 15 Ed Noll
18. 3X Tony Manley

1. 77 Dean Wray
2. 21H Billie Hoover
3. 27 Jason Ryun
4. 93 Sam Scott
5. 22X Alvie Christofferson
6. 20X Jon Boller Jr
7. 14X Jon Boller III (Heat Race Winner)
8. 83A Aaron Sauter
9. W04 Chuck Warman
10. 997 Jason Estes (Heat Race Winner)
11. 43 James Osborn
12. 34 Mich Ross

1. 69 Zach Sanders (Heat Race Winner)
2. 67D Issac Dotson
3. 29 Dennis Elliott (Heat Race Winner)
4. 69N Cory Wray
5. 21 Ryan Middaugh
6. 97 Houston Johnson
7. 98 Austin Johnson
8. 2H John Hanson
9. 55D Michael Dotson
10. 92 Tyler Grooms
11. 15 Ed Noll

Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group