Bleess bags first, Kath claims third win at Chateau Raceway
Print this page
May 20, 2016  |  by Matthew Grage

LANSING, Minn.—It was back to racing Friday night at the Chateau Raceway after a week off for the weather. Sunshine and temperatures in the 70s made for a perfect night for the third night of racing action at the track just north of Austin, Minn.

A nice field of 78 cars were on hand for the six classes of cars on hand for the evening's action. Leading the way with 21 cars were the Out-Pace USRA B-Mods and for the third straight time to open the season it was Kylie Kath of Owatonna who found himself in victory lane at the end of the night.

Kath came from the fourth row to run down early leader Jerry Young of Blooming Prairie. Seven cautions plagued the race with the first six cautions coming in the first six laps and being able to avoid the accidents helped Kylie get to the front eventually getting the lead off a restart. Brother Kadden Kath made his way up to second ahead of Jeremiah Christiansen who along with his son Cole pulled in from Sioux Falls South Dakota for the night's action.

Heat wins went to Kadden Kath, Taylor Ausrud of Hayfield and Scott Demmer of Ellendale.

The first half of the USRA Modified feature belonged to Jason Cummins of New Richland who shot off the outside of the front row to grab the early lead. Jacob Bleess of Chatfield, who started on the pole, fell in line second for the first 10 laps or so of the 25-lap main event before he started sticking his nose alongside Cummins.

The two ran side by side for a few laps until Bleess took over the top spot and drove off to the win. Steve Wetzstein of West Concord patiently worked through the field from row four catching Cummins and moving by him with eight laps remaining. Cummins ended up third.

Heat wins belonged to Brandon Davis of Medford and Greg Pfeifer Jr. of Brownsdale.

Next week is one of the biggest shows every year at Chateau Raceway as it’s the 19th Annual Mike Guttormson Memorial. The track will be hosting the United States Modified Touring Series for an exciting night. Also on hand for the night will be three of the track's regular classes, including Out-Pace USRA B-Mods, WISSOTA Midwest Modifieds and Pure Stocks. Action is scheduled to get underway at 7 p.m.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

United States Racing Association
USRA Weekly Racing Series
Chateau Raceway, Lansing, Minn.
Friday, May 20, 2016


Feature: 1. Kylie Kath, Owatonna; 2. Kadden Kath, Owatonna; 3. Jeremiah Christiansen, Sioux Falls, S.D.; 4. Scott Demmer, Ellendale; 5. A.J. Zvorak, Blooming Prairie; 6. Mark Wytaske, Austin; 7. Anthony Condit, Austin; 8. Dan Tenold, Northwood IA; 9. Taylor Ausrud, Hayfield; 10. Cole Lonergan, Dexter; 11. Taylor Ovrebo, Wells; 12. Chris Bruns, Owatonna; 13. Cole Christensen, Sioux Falls, S.D.;  14. Jayden Larson, Mankato; 15. Dustin Kruse, Brandon SD; 16. Jerry Young, Blooming Prairie; 17. David Henderson, Mason City, Iowa; 18. Raey Hastings IV, Austin; DNS - Jesse Baer, Minnesota Lake; Joe Warling, Oakdale; Morgan Schrage, Cresco, Iowa.

Heat #1: 1. Ausrud; 2. Kruse; 3. Zvorak; 4. Ovrebo; 5. Bruns; 6. Henderson; 7. Hastings.

Heat #2: 1. Demmer; 2. Kylie Kath; 3. Wytaske; 4. Tenold; 5. Lonergan; 6. Condit.

Heat #3: 1. Kadden Kath; 2. J. Christensen; 3. Larson; 4. Young; 5. C. Christensen; 6. Baer.


Feature: 1. Jacob Bleess, Chatfield; 2. Steve Wetzstein, Dodge Center; 3. Jason Cummins, New Richland; 4. Brandon Davis, Medford; 5. Darwyn Karau, Kasson; 6. Greg Pfeifer Jr., Brownsdale; 7. Joe Horgdahl, Kasson; 8. Doug Hillson, Blooming Prairie; 9. Joe Ludemann, Grand Meadow; 10. Greg Jensen, Albert Lea; 11. Jim King, Hastings; 12. Jacob Stark, Austin.

Heat #1: 1. Davis; 2. Bleess; 3. Cummins; 4. Wetzstein; 5. Hillson; 6. Stark.

Heat #2: 1. Pfeifer; 2. Horgdahl; 3. Ludemann; 4. Jensen; 5. King; 6. Karau.

Latest News from the USRA

January 18, 2018
Deadline for USRA banquet tickets is Friday
The United States Racing Association will host its annual awards banquet for drivers competing in this year’s Summit USRA Weekly Racing Series on Saturday, Jan. 27,read more
January 16, 2018
Go-karts fuel Moore's winter need for speed as he gears up for 2018 Lucas Oil Speedway USRA B-Mod season
For one of the Ozarks' rising USRA B-Mod prospects, it's time to start dreaming of spring-time warmth and top-five finishes in the season ahead at Lucas Oil Speedread more
January 15, 2018
I-35 Speedway drivers meeting Jan. 20
In preparation for the start of the 2018 racing season, a driver’s meeting for I-35 Speedway competitors will be held at the Cameron Community Center located at 915read more
January 14, 2018
Strand snares finale win, Scott takes series title at Wild WEst Shootout
Dustin Strand emerged atop Sunday's 25-lap USRA Modified feature as the sixth winner in as many events by taking the finale as Las Cruces, N.M.'s Johnny Scott edgread more
January 14, 2018
I-35 Speedway remembers Bud Wilson
Families that race together stay together. We have all heard this saying, even seen it printed on T-shirts, including the Racin for Rian shirts at the I-35 Speedway. read more
Contact Us

Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group