Two Wrays, Hunt top Timberline Trading Night at I-35 Speedway
Print this page
May 21, 2016  |  by Rick Staley

WINSTON, Mo.—The always entertaining and exciting Out-Pace USRA B-Mods would see Trever Hunt use heat race win momentum to charge to the front passing all challengers and claim his first feature win of 2016 at the I-35 Speedway.

Hunt, driving the Sam Schuller #44h, would be challenged late by 2015 track champion Tim Eaton who would make the high line work and finish second.

Bud Wilson would be among the front runners all race and place third with the always consistent Randy Ainsworth ending the night fourth. Fifth place would see 2015 Out-Pace USRA B-Mod Rookie of the Year Jonathan Knotts finish in the spot.

The other heat race winner was Steve Starmer who would lead early until a roll off turn 3 would take him from win contention.

Holley USRA Stock Cars would see heat race winner Dean Wray make it four wins in a row as he would use a pole position starting spot to propel him out front and on to victory.

The big mover of the race, finding the extreme high side of the track to his liking, was second-place finisher Jeff Dixon.

Jason Estes would put his Ford Thunderbird in the mix and come up a little short, placing third with Jon Boller Jr. placing fourth.

Ending the night with a solid top-five finish was Billie Hoover with another consistent run.

The oher heat race winner was Mich Ross.

USRA Modifieds would be in fine form on this night racing three- and four-wide form start to finish of their feature event.

Heat race winner Cory Wray would use the high side to take the early lead as Zach Sanders would follow on the low side until Sanders' motor would expire, taking him from competition.

Wray would then see Darren Shaw emerge from the pack and challenge but to no avail as Wray would see the checkers first and claim his second win on the season.

Shaw would finish second as Dennis Elliott would end the night third.

Derrick Hicks would make his presence felt as he would finish fourth with Steven Glenn fifth.

The other heat race winner was Sanders.

The I-35 Speedway would like to thank everyone for coming out and having fun at the track. See everyone next Saturday night, May 28, for more Dirt Trackin' at its Best.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

United States RAcing Association
USRA Weekly Racing Series
I-35 Speedway, Winston, Mo.
Saturday, May 21, 2016


1. 44h Trever Hunt (heat race winner)
2. 211 Tim Eaton
3. 20x Bud Wilson
4. 57 Randy Ainsworth
5. 92jk Jonathan Knotts
6. 17x Nic Hanes
7. 83 Coleman Browning
8. 11s Steve Starmer (heat race winner)
9. 18k Danan Knott
10. 14k Michael King
11. 66x Chris Wright


1. 77 Dean Wray (heat race winner)
2. 88 Jeff Dixon
3. 997 Jason Estes
4. 20x Jon Boller Jr
5. 21h Billie Hoover
6. 83a Aaron Sauter
7. 34 Mich Ross (heat race winner)
8. 22x Alvie Christofferson
9. 36s Holden Schultz
10. 16 Paul Lanfermann II
11. 93 Sam Scott


1. 69n Cory Wray (heat race winner)
2. 11 Darren Shaw
3. 29 Dennis Elliott
4. 78 Derrick Hicks
5. 26s Steven Glenn
6. 67d Issac Dotson
7. 97 Houston Johnson
8. 98 Austin Johnson
9. 15 Ed Noll
10. 55d Michael Dotson
11. 03 Bill Baker
12. 2h John Hanson
13. 92 Tyler Grooms
14. 69 Zach Sanders (heat race winner)
15. 23 Adam Kates
16. 7 Shayne Bailey

Latest News from the USRA

April 25, 2018
Hamilton County Speedway announces May 5 grand opening, kids night
Officials at the Hamilton County Speedway in Webster City, Iowa, have announced that opening night for the 2018 racing season will happen Saturday, May 5, with an open prread more
April 24, 2018
Seeburg Mufflers Night brings in week two of Lakeside Speedway season
Last week, a new season at Lakeside Speedway began with Lance Town (USRA Modifieds), Brett Heeter (Holley USRA Stock Cars) and Brad Smith (Out-Pace USRA B-Mods) forever eread more
April 24, 2018
Five features for $5 on KY3 Night this Saturday at Lucas Oil Speedway
With a weather forecast of sunshine and a high of 70 degrees, all systems are go for a big Saturday of racing at Lucas Oil Speedway as the Big Adventure RV Weekly Racing read more
April 24, 2018
I-35 Speedway to host Asphalt Racers Reunion
I-35 Speedway honors our history in and around the Kansas City racing community. Part of our local racing history involved a decade plus of asphalt racing at I-70 and Lakread more
April 22, 2018
VanderBeek, Josselyn, Gillmore snag Sunday checkers in Rancho Milagro Short Track Shootout
Drivers filled the pits with energy to finish the Rancho Milagro Short Track Shootout at the Southern New Mexico Speedway on Sunday. Jason Josselyn of Tularosa pilotedread more
Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group