Gallardo, Torres take big money at Southern New Mexico Speedway
Print this page
May 28, 2016  |  by Walker Akers

LAS CRUCES, N.M.—It was a wild night at the Southern New Mexico Speedway as the USRA Modifieds raced for $1,000 to win.

The Sun Valley Hardware USRA Stock Cars showed up with 19 cars tonight so they got a full 25 laps in their main event. Ed Engel went to the lead after trouble from some of the starting row and the first three laps were his. But after the checkered dropped, it was last-starting Jaime Torres taking the win ahead of Martin Robinson, Javie Chavez and Turner.

The $1,000-to-win USRA Modified feature saw 24 cars go 30 laps with polesitter Jimmy Ray jumping out to a quick to the lead . When the checkered flag waved, Fito Gallardo cruise across the line with Phillip Houston having a great late run and taking second. Todd Harper was third after running up front all night long.

If you missed the action tonight, then don’t make the same mistake next weekend as we go points racing at the Southern New Mexico Speedway. Gates open at 5:30 and racing starts at 7:45.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

United States RAcing Association
USRA Weekly Racing Series
Southern New Mexico Speedway, Las Cruces, N.M.
Saturday, May 28, 2016

1. 44JT Jaime Torres
2. 21Z Martin Robinson
3. 64 Javie Chavez
4. 0 Lloyd Turner
5. 13 Victor Colorbio
6. 22 Jack Skillin
7. 44X George La Rose
8. 3D Rudy Munoz
9. 11 Cliff Evrage
10. 10 John Diamond
11. 777 Peter Vargas
12. 7 Don Parra
13. 00ET Ed Engel
14. 88 Nathan Smith
15. 11C Anthony Crespin
16. 36 Randy Mims
17. 4T Timberly Swaim
18. 37 Robert Trujillo
19. 42 Brent Dreyer

1. G17 Fito Gallardo
2. 71 Philip Houston
3. 3T Todd Harper
4. 07 Donavon Flores
5. 131 Royal Jones
6. 28 Tom Georges
7. 101 Butch Reid
8. 99 Terry Tipton
9. 49 Duane Murphy
10. 30 Travis Tipton
11. 85 Austin Adams
12. 65 Dustin Smith
13. 39H Nick Herrera
14. 32 Max Sadler
15. 86 Jared Perez
16. 50 Ralph Adams Jr.
17. 111 Bumper Jones
18. 9 Jimmy Ray
19. M16 Rick Gallardo
20. 44 Christy Georges-Barnett
21. 65X Carlos Ahumada Jr.
22. 23J Greg Jelvik
23. J17 Jake Gallardo
24. J16 Joshua Gallardo

Latest News from the USRA

January 15, 2018
I-35 Speedway drivers meeting Jan. 20
In preparation for the start of the 2018 racing season, a driver’s meeting for I-35 Speedway competitors will be held at the Cameron Community Center located at 915read more
January 14, 2018
I-35 Speedway remembers Bud Wilson
Families that race together stay together. We have all heard this saying, even seen it printed on T-shirts, including the Racin for Rian shirts at the I-35 Speedway. read more
January 13, 2018
Stormy wins as Scott brothers finish 1-2 at Wild West Shootout
Stormy Scott posted his first win of the 12th Annual Keyser Manufacturing Wild West Shootout presented O’Reilly Auto Parts Saturday by topping the USRA Modified fieread more
January 12, 2018
Jegtvig posts Friday night victory at Wild Wet Shootout
Blake Jegtvig became the fourth different winner in as many USRA Modified main events Friday night during Round 4 of the 12th Annual Keyser Manufacturing Wild West Shootoread more
January 10, 2018
Schott scores in Wild West Shootout Wednesday night action
Lucas Schott scored the USRA Modified victory Wednesday evening during the third round of the Keyser Manufacturing Wild West Shootout presented O’Reilly Auto Parts read more
Contact Us

Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group