Wray, Estes, Hanes win on Ferrellgas Night at I-35 Speedway
Print this page
May 29, 2016  |  by Rick Staley

WINSTON, Mo.—After a beautiful opening ceremony honoring our fallen heroes on Memorial Weekend we witnessed a great night of racing unfold.

USRA B-Mods would put on the show of the night as the two heat race winners would race wheel to wheel the entire feature. Danan Knott #18k would charge to the front and outpace the field holding off challenges until the very end. Last turn of the last lap Nic Hanes #17x would make a low side move and beat Knott to the checkers and claim win number two in this 2016 racing season. Knott would finish second and congratulate Hanes in victory circle as point leader Steve Starmer #11s would finish the night third. Randy Ainsworth #57 would finish fourth with Blake Pierce #16 rounding out the nights top five.

USRA Stock Cars would again thrill the crowd with side by side racing from start to checkers. Heat race winner Jason Estes #997 would race wheel to wheel and door to door with Dean Wray #77 for the first five circuits until Wray would slip in turn four bringing out the caution. Estes would continue to lead holding off the hard charge of Jon Boller Jr #20x to win his fourth feature of 2016. Boller would work the low side to perfection coming up a little short and finishing second on the night. Third place would belong to Blake Peeler #292 with Billie Hoover #21h claiming the fourth spot. Other heat race winner Dean Wray would fade late to place fifth.

The racing would stay hot and heavy as the high flying, fire breathing, alcohol drinking, USRA Modifieds took to the track. Heat race winner Derrick Hicks #78 would jump to the lead on the high side and appear to be on his way until Dennis Elliott #29 with that familiar low line would take the point. Elliott would swap the lead with other heat race winner Zach Sanders #69 as you could throw a blanket over the top five competitors. As the laps wound down, Cory Wray #69N would emerge from the pack and take the lead with two to go and claim the win. Second would belong to Dennis Elliott with Hicks a very close third. Sanders would end the night fourth with Steven Glenn #26s ending the night’s racing action fifth.

I-35 Speedway would like to thank all the drivers and fans for another successful night of racing and family fun. See everyone next Saturday Night and remember to wear those Hawaii flowery shirts and grass skirts for UAW Night at the Races.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

United States RAcing Association
USRA Weekly Racing Series
I-35 Speedway, Winston, Mo.
Saturday, May 28, 2016

1. 17X Nic Hanes (heat winner)
2. 18K Danan Knott (heat winner)
3. 11S Steve Starmer
4. 57 Randy Ainsworth
5. 16 Blake Pierce
6. 15 Ed Noll
7. 20X Bud Wilson
8. 66X Chris Wright
9. 71 Travis Walker
10. 92JK Jonathan Knotts
11. 6 Cody Morgan
12. 32P Jeremy Pittsenbarger
13. 19J P J Conger
14. 83 Coleman Browning
15. 7 Doug Keller

1. 997 Jason Estes (heat winner)
2. 20X Jon Boller Jr
3. 292 Blake Peeler
4. 21H Billie Hoover
5. 77 Dean Wray (heat winner)
6. 88 Jeff Dixon
7. 5K Steve Herrick
8. W04 Chuck Warman
9. 04 Chad Walker
10. 16 Paul Lanfermann II

1. 69N Cory Wray
2. 29 Dennis Elliott
3. 78 Derrick Hicks (heat winner)
4. 69 Zach Sanders (heat winner)
5. 26S Steven Glenn
6. 97 Houston Johnson
7. 2H John Hanson
8. 92 Tyler Grooms
9. 03B Bill Baker
10. 98 Austin Johnson
11. 15 Ed Noll

Contact Us

© Copyright 2019 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group