Cummins returns to Deer Creek winner's circle
Print this page
June 18, 2016  |  by Todd Narveson

Jason Cummins won the USRA Modified feature.

SPRING VALLEY, Minn.—The annual school bus races and Mascot night took over Deer Creek Speedway on Saturday along with a full race program. The event was presented by Essig Agency, Ag Power Enterprises, Construction Partnership, BK Millright and Adams Graphix. A big crowd, 105 cars and four school buses put on a whale of a show.

Zach Brom and Josh Ihlenfeld led the 24-car field for the start in the Dirt Doctor Trucking USRA B-Mod feature. Brom spun on lap one and triggered a six car pileup in turn two. Kylie Kath would set sail in this one when he took off from the green flag. Jim Chisholm would give chase most of the way. Several yellow flags would slow this race in the early going.

Kath and Chisholm would drive away from the pack but it was Cole Queensland on the hammer. Queensland started in row six, entered the top five on lap four and got past Scott Demmer for third on lap six. Queensland then reeled in Chisholm and challenged for second on lap eight.

Kath ran away from the pack to secure his first win at the track this season and sixth overall. Chisholm, a 13-year old rookie got his second top five in a row with a second place finish. Queensland wound up in third with Matt Jones and Demmer in the top five.

Jason Cummins and Brandon Davis got out front of the NAPA Auto Care Centers USRA Modified feature and put on a great show for the fans. They battled almost the entire 25-lap distance and were spectacular through lapped traffic. While that went on up front, a good race for third ensued with Joe Ludemann, Mick Glenn and Erik Kanz. Keith Foss was also on the move and entered the top five.

Cummins maintained the lead but Davis was right there and challenged on several occasions. Cummins made a couple of daring moves through lapped traffic and that opened up his lead. Cummins led the rest of the way for his first win of the year. Davis ran second with Foss in third and Brad Waits was fourth. Ludemann’s fifth place run was voided after he failed to make it through tech inspection which left Glenn in fifth.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

United States Racing Association
USRA Weekly Racing Series
Deer Creek Speedway, Spring Valley, Minn.
Saturday, June 18, 2016


Feature: Kylie Kath, Jim Chisholm, Cole Queensland, Matt Jones, Scott Demmer, Brandon Hare, Shaun Walski, Alex Williamson, Miah Christiansen, Dustin Kruse, Kenny Boge Jr., Channing Warner, Phillip Dunbar, Nick Wagner, Kyle Brown, Cole Lonergan, Cole Christiansen, Tanner Johnston, Steve Quinnell, AJ Johnston, Josh Ihlenfeld, Kadden Kath, Derek Clement, Zach Brom.

B-Feature #1: Wagner, Lonergan, J. Christiansen, Clement, Jayden Larson, Elizabeth Loberg, Anton Nelson.

B-Feature #2: T. Johnston, Brown, C. Christiansen, S. Quinnell, Russ Quinnell, Chris Bruns, Casey Struckman.

First Heat: Queensland, Hare, Kylie Kath, Walski, J. Christiansen, Wagner, Larson, C. Christiansen.

Second Heat: Williamson, Jones, Chisholm, Dunbar, Brown, Struckman, S. Quinnell, Bruns.

Third Heat: Ihlenfeld, Warner, A. Johnston, Boge Jr., Lonergan, Nelson, Clement.

Fourth Heat: Kruse, Demmer, Brom, Kaffen Kath, T. Johnston, E. Quinnell, Loberg.


Feature: Jason Cummins, Brandon Davis, Keith Foss, Brad Waits, Mick Glenn, Kevin Stoa, Erik Kanz, Jacob Dahle, Josh Angst, Darwyn Karau, Alan Wagner, Joel Alberts, Greg Jensen, Joe Horgdal, Bill Clemens, Nrian Albrecht, Chris Loberg, Alex Hanson, Dean Schroeder, Jake Stark, Mark Motl, Dalton Magers, Jim King, Tammy Soma-Clark, Bare Wasmund, Joe Ludeman.

First Heat: Cummins, Dahle, Glenn, Alberts, Karaum Albrecht, Hanson, Stark, Clemens.

Second Heat: Horgdal, Waits, Ludemann, Stoa, Jensen, Loberg, King, Wasmund, Angst.

Third Heat: Kanz, Wagner, Davis, Foss, Magers, Schroeder, Motl, Soma-Clark.

Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group