Turner, Strong prevail at Lucas Oil Speedway
Print this page
June 25, 2016  |  by Lyndal Scranton

WHEATLAND, Mo.—The first half of the Budweiser Weekly Championship Series 2016 season at Lucas Oil Speedway wound up with a pair of familiar faces in victory lane.

The always-competitive USRA B-Mod division saw Shawn Strong of Billings prevail as 38 drivers checked into the pits. Strong scored his first feature victory of the season as he beat runner-up J.C. Morton, though Morton's finish was enough to secure him the Midseason Championship after his seventh straight finish of fourth or better. Andy Bryant of Fort Scott, Kan., wound up third.

Hermitage's Eric Turner made it two straight USRA Modified victories and three on the season. He again beat reigning track champion Jeff Cutshaw of Bolivar, just as he did the last time the two met on the race track on June 11. But Cutshaw nailed down the Midseason Championship with his finish. 

Next up is a special Casey's General Stores Thursday Night Thunder edition of the Budweiser Weekly Championship Series, Presented by KRBK Fox 5 on June 30. There will be no Saturday racing on July 2.

Visit participating area Casey's locations for $2 discount coupons to the night's activities. As part of the evening's "Salute to America" all Veterans with ID and Scouts in uniform will be admitted free. The area's wildest fireworks show, courtesy of AM Pyrotechnics, will light up the night sky at the conclusion of the racing program as we celebrate our Nation's Independence.

Lucas Oil Speedway is located at Highways 83 and 54 in Wheatland, Missouri. A campground with shower and bathroom facilities is also available. With it's entrance located just outside the pit gate this sprawling scenic camping facility will continue to enhance the racing experience at the Diamond of Dirt Tracks. 
Click www.LucasOilSpeedway.com for more information and detailed directions to the speedway or call the Track Hotline at (417) 282-5984. In addition, fans can get social with Lucas Oil Speedway by following @LucasSpeedway on Twitter, clicking "Like" at www.facebook.com/LucasOilSpeedway and on www.youtube.com/LucasOilSpeedway.

Latest News from the USRA

January 18, 2018
Deadline for USRA banquet tickets is Friday
The United States Racing Association will host its annual awards banquet for drivers competing in this year’s Summit USRA Weekly Racing Series on Saturday, Jan. 27,read more
January 16, 2018
Go-karts fuel Moore's winter need for speed as he gears up for 2018 Lucas Oil Speedway USRA B-Mod season
For one of the Ozarks' rising USRA B-Mod prospects, it's time to start dreaming of spring-time warmth and top-five finishes in the season ahead at Lucas Oil Speedread more
January 15, 2018
I-35 Speedway drivers meeting Jan. 20
In preparation for the start of the 2018 racing season, a driver’s meeting for I-35 Speedway competitors will be held at the Cameron Community Center located at 915read more
January 14, 2018
Strand snares finale win, Scott takes series title at Wild WEst Shootout
Dustin Strand emerged atop Sunday's 25-lap USRA Modified feature as the sixth winner in as many events by taking the finale as Las Cruces, N.M.'s Johnny Scott edgread more
January 14, 2018
I-35 Speedway remembers Bud Wilson
Families that race together stay together. We have all heard this saying, even seen it printed on T-shirts, including the Racin for Rian shirts at the I-35 Speedway. read more
Contact Us

Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group