Elliott, Wray, Starmer snag Brown Construction Night wins at I-35 Speedway
Print this page
June 25, 2016  |  by Rick Staley

WINSTON, Mo.—USRA B-Mods would charge to the track and put on one of the best shows of the night. Randy Ainsworth #57 would take the early lead as he and Bud Wilson #20x would race wheel to wheel and side by side swapping the lead. As the laps wound down, heat race winner Steve Starmer #11s would chase down the leaders using the extreme high line to perfection. Starmer would pass both Ainsworth and Wilson claiming his second win of the 2006 racing at I-35 Speedway. One time leader Wilson would finish second with Ainsworth a very close third. Big mover and shaker of the feature was Ed Noll #15 as he would race through the field of competitors to place fourth with other heat race winner Coleman Browning #83 placing fifth.

USRA Stock Cars would see the familiar face of heat race winner Dean Wray #77 standing tall in McCarthy Auto Group Winners Circle as he would lead every lap of the feature to win. Other heat race winner Jason Estes #997 would challenge Wray every step of the way placing second on the night. Billie Hoover #21h would hold off Craig Reynolds #14xx as the two raced to the checkers third and fourth. Fifth place would belong to Mich Ross #34 as he continues to notch top five finishes.

USRA Modifieds would see Dennis Elliott #29 make it two feature wins in a row as he and Derrick Hick #78 would battle to the checkers. Heat race winner Elliott would use his familiar low line with Hicks high as the two would go back and forth throughout the feature until the last lap as Elliott would slide high taking Hick’s line and take the win. Hicks would finish second as Tanner Mullins #02 would end the night third on his first visit to I-35 Speedway this 2016 racing season. Zach Sanders #69, who had trouble in his heat race, would start in the rear of the field and race to a solid fourth with other heat race winner Ryan Schaffer #R21 fifth on the night.

I-35 Speedway would like to thank all those that participated in the “Wild Hat Challenge” during Intermission with first and second receiving a free admission ticket to I-35 Speedway. We also witnessed the backwards foot race between Carley Q and Midget driver Merril Lamb. It was a dash and photo finish with Merril winning by a backside and claiming the $20 Race Director Carl Flowers put up for the race. Join us next week for our Fireworks Spectacular after the great racing and also the Missions and Motorsports Kids Power Wheels during our ten minute Intermission. See everyone at I-35 Speedway where there is always more “Dirt Trackin at its Best”!

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

United States Racing Association
USRA Weekly Racing Series
I-35 Speedway Winston, Mo.
Saturday, June 25, 2016

1. 11s Steve Starmer (Heat Race Winner)
2. 20x Bud Wilson
3. 57 Randy Ainsworth
4. 15 Ed Noll
5. 83 Coleman Browning (Heat Race Winner)
6. 211 Tim Eaton
7. 66x Chris Wright
8. 17r Ramon Ortega
9. 926 Jason Park
10. 47x Conner Masoner
11. 17x Nic Hanes
12. 9m Derrick Mahoney
13. 17k Jayse Clinton
14. 14k Michael King
15. 19j P J Conger
16. 11d Caleb Dennis

1. 77 Dean Wray (Heat Race Winner)
2. 997 Jason Estes (Heat Race Winner)
3. 21h Billie Hoover
4. 14xx Craig Reynolds
5. 34 Mich Ross
6. 20x Jon Boller Jr
7. 79 Dakota Osborn
8. 83a Aaron Sauter
9. 23i Ronnie Ishmael
10. 93 Sam Scott

1. 29 Dennis Elliott (Heat Race Winner)
2. 78 Derrick Hicks
3. 02 Tanner Mullins
4. 69 Zach Sanders
5. R21 Ryan Schaffer (Heat Race Winner)
6. 11 Darren Shaw
7. 15 Ed Noll
8. 0 Richard Layne
9. 97 Houston Johnson
10. 26s Steven Glenn
11. 2h John Hanson
12. 22 Nick Shenberger
13. 17$ Shane Lawson
14. 31 David Coates
15. 92 Tyler Grooms
16. 26 Richard Biggs
17. 23 Adam Kates
18. 66 Nick Whitehead
19. 98 Austin Johnson (Heat Race Winner)
20. B29 Blonde Bomber Mitchell

Contact Us

© Copyright 2019 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group