Sorensen savors Deer Creek victory
Print this page
April 15, 2006  |  by Bill Nelson

Mike Sorensen of Rochester, Minn., won the USRA Modified feature at Deer Creek Speedway on Saturday, April 15.

SPRING VALLEY, Minn. -- A field of 134 were on hand for Land Resource Management & Realty and K.C. Lawn Care Night at the Deer Creek Speedway. A strong wind out of the East blew but the weather was perfect for a Saturday night in April.

Bob Timm and Steve Arpin paced the field for the start of the USRA Modified feature.

After running side by side for the first lap, Arpin got the spot with Mike Sorensen in third. Timm bobbled in turn 2 allowing Sorensen and Tim Donlinger to move into second and third.

Arpin quickly got caught up to lapped traffic as the rest tried to chase him down as a caution with 16 laps to go bunched the field back up.

Corey Dripps and Steve Wetzstein had the best race going on the restart as they ran side by side for three laps in a battle for sixth.

Another caution with 12 to go set up the winner of the race as Sorensen and Arpin raced out of turn 4. The two cars touched slightly with Sorensen able to take advantage of it and take over the lead.

With three to go, Nate Wasmund was looking strong and worked under Donlinger for third only to slip up a lap later, allowing Donlinger back into third.

Sorensen came home with the win, followed by Arpin and Donlinger.

Racing action resumes next Saturday at 5 p.m. with all five classes racing.


USRA Modifieds

Feature - Mike Sorensen, Steve Arpin, Tim Donlinger, Nate Wasmund, Bob Timm, Corey Dripps, Hank Rollinger Jr., Bobby Sorensen, Steve Wetzstein, Brad Waits.

Heat 1 Donlinger, Waits, Wetzstein, M. Sorensen, Alan Mondus.

Heat 2 Arpin, Wasmund, Doug Hillson, Rollinger, B. Sorensen.

Heat 3 Dripps, Dain Schultz, Timm, Joe Wernecke, Terry Timmerman.

Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group