Martin captures KMMO Radio Night win at Central Missouri Speedway
Print this page
July 9, 2016  |  by Sam Stoecklin

WARRENSBURG, Mo.—Racing resumed at Central Missouri Speedway (CMS) with 74 cars checked in on KMMO 105.7 FM Radio Race Night for another night of weekly championship racing in four divisions.

Twenty-one USRA Modifieds signed in for three heat races to finish up the preliminary action for the night and it was Jim Moody who sailed on to the win in the opening heat over Gunner Martin and Justin Johnson.

After a switch malfunction with the lighting, the program was delayed during the second heat race for a few moments but racing quickly resumed.

Track points leader Kevin Blackburn bested Colson Kirk and James Dean Eaton in heat two while Scotty Martin held off Lewis Jackson and Brian Johnson for the win in heat race three.

Blackburn, along with Urbana’s Colson Kirk, began the night’s 25-lap main event from row one. Blackburn led the opening pair of laps before Tim Karrick’s night came to a sudden end in turn two as his car stalled out on the high side to draw an early caution.

Kirk’s night then came to an early end as he succumbed to mechanical gremlins and was done for the night. The next caution to slow the field waived shortly after when Nathan Vaughn, Justin Johnson and Brian Johnson encountered problems in turn number one.

For the restart, Blackburn held the top spot over Martin and Jim Moody, who was in search of his third-consecutive victory.

On lap 14, Martin found a way to pass Blackburn on the low side to assume command of the event.

Meanwhile, Wellsville, Kan., driver Lewis Jackson had an intense battle with Terry Schultz for the fourth spot just ahead of Moody.

To finish the night, Martin held the top spot with Blackburn racking up yet another podium finish in second position.

Schultz somehow found a way to advance from 18th on the starting grid to third.

When the main event concluded, Martin captured his third win of the season ahead of Blackburn, Schultz, Moody and Robbie Test with his strongest CMS showing of the year in fifth.

Jackson capped a solid night in the sixth position ahead of 20th-starting Danny Scrogham in seventh. Eddie Bray Jr., Allan Broers and Eaton completed the top 10.

Next Saturday, pit gates open at 4:30 p.m. with admission gates opening at 5. Driver pill draw cutoff is 6:15 (no passing points awarded to late-arriving drivers). Pit meeting takes place at 6:30, followed by hot laps at 7, and racing at 7:30. For complete weekend details head over to

CMS is located 3.5-miles north of Warrensburg, MO from the junction of Highways 50 and 13 in Warrensburg just north of the new Hwy 13 by-pass round-a-bout, or from the Higginsville exit off I-70, head south on Highway 13 for twelve and half miles. Primitive camping is available at the track, campers need to check in with the pit office upon arrival, all campers are responsible for cleaning up their area upon leaving.

Keep up with CMS on Twitter @CMSgoing_green. Like us on Facebook at Join our email group by emailing Keep up with CMS news and information by pointing your browser to Don’t forget about the all-new CMS Going Green YouTube video page.

CMS wishes to thank its 2016 primary sponsors for their support this season! Cliff Harris Warrensburg Ford, Budweiser, KMZU 100.7 FM, Sunoco Race Fuels, KMMO FM 102.9, Midwest Coatings, Better Country KIX 105.7, KSDL, and KSIS FM, Comfort Inn Warrensburg Station, KRLI FM 103.9 & KAOL 101.3 FM The Grenade, Pepsi, 610 Sports Radio Kansas City, Heartland Waste, and 'Today's New Hit Country' 95.3 FM KDKD.

This list of 2016 outstanding business partners includes: Victory Trophies & Plaques, Joslins Jewelry, Batliner Recycling, DQ Grill & Chill of Warrensburg, Economy Lumber, Kleinschmidt's Western Store, OK Tire Stores, Eickleberry Concrete & Construction, LJS Graphics, Finish Line Performance, Wolf Tire Service, JA Performance and Outdoor Services,, and Seeburg Mufflers.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

United States Racing Association
USRA Weekly Racing Series
Central Missouri Speedway, Warrensburg, Mo.
Saturday, July 9, 2016

1. (5) 75 Gunner Martin, Independence
2. (1) 26K Kevin Blackburn, Fulton
3. (17) 90 Terry Schultz, Sedalia
4. (3) 00M Jim Moody, Odessa
5. (16) 27T Robbie Test Jr., Jefferson City
6. (7) 3J Lewis Jackson, Wellsville, Kan.
7. (19) 92 Danny Scrogham, Peculiar
8. (13) 19K Eddie Bray Jr., Archie
9. (12) B Allan Broers, Edgerton, Kan.
10. (6) 24JR James Dean Eaton, Bates City
11. (9) 97K Brian Johnson, Independence
12. (18) 2D Dean Bachner, Olathe, Kan.
13. (15) X25 Travis Ruff, Belton
14. (4) 75RPM Scotty Martin, Independence
15. (20) 9D Dwight Niehoff, Neosho
16. (14) 12V Nathan Vaughn, Sedalia
17. (8) 7J Justin Johnson,  Olathe, Kan.
18. (2) 5K Colson Kirk, Urbana
19. (10) 1K Tim Karrick, Basehor, Kan.
20. (11) 30 Dalton Kirk, Edgerton, Kan.
DNS - 00 Justin Plumb, Peculiar
DNS - 5S William Swarnes, Rich Hill

Contact Us

© Copyright 2019 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group