Sacquitne ends drought, Hovden and Spilde visit victory lane again in Decorah
Print this page
July 9, 2016  |  by Tyler Rinken

Danny Sacquitne won the Holley USRA Stock Car feature.

DECORAH, Iowa—It was five years in the making for Danny Sacquitne to score his first Holley USRA Stock Car feature win. Sacquitne finally found victory lane at the Upper Iowa Speedway on Saturday night. Pete Solum led nearly half the race and fended off multi-time USRA national champion Mitch Hovden. Sacquitne ran both Hovden and Solum down on the high side and crossed the finish line first, multiple car lengths ahead of Solum, Hovden, Dillon Anderson and the rest of the field.

Dan Hovden continued his winning ways on the weekend. After notching the Iron Man Series Out-Pace USRA B-Mod win on Friday night at the Mason City Motor Speedway, Hovden swept the weekend by picking up his second win of the weekend Saturday. Hovden drove away from the field, but a few late-race cautions brought the field in, but they still had no challenge for Hovden. Kyle Anderson finished second after scoring the feature win at the Fayette County Speedway on Friday night. Troy Hovey, who started deep in the field, finished third and Justin Kupka added a strong fourth-place finish to his résumé.

Dan Hovden won the Out-Pace USRA B-Mod feature.

Scott Spilde grilled up another feature win Saturday night in the USRA Hobby Stock class. Rattling off his third win of the season in the valley, Spilde led for a majority of the race. The feature event was halted for a few minutes as a soft roll-over took place exiting corner number four. The driver was okay, but the field was unable to take advantage on the restart as Spilde cruised to the win, fending off a hard-charing Steve Larson.

Scott Spilde won the USRA Hobby Stock feature.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

United States Racing Association
USRA Weekly Racing Series
Upper Iowa Speedway, Decorah, Iowa
Saturday, July 9, 2016

1. (4) 18 Scott Spilde, Cresco
2. (7) 07 Chris Hovden, Cresco
3. (6) 22 Steve Larson, Decorah
4. (3) 19 Paul Seabrooke, Elgin
5. (11) 7 Steve Dwyer, Lacrosse, Wis.
6. (8) 70 Steve Holthaus, Cresco
7. (5) 442 Neil Franzen, Sumner
8. (10) 81 Joshua Ludeking, Decorah
9. (12) 6 Dustin Gulbrandson, Sioux Falls, S.D.
10. (14) 54 Jeremy Oakes, Spring Grove, Minn.
11. (13) 50 Zachary Ruckelaskel, West Union
12. (1) 29 Brady Link, Waukon
13. (9) 85 Jesse Holzer, Decorah
14. (2) 19M Jay Mensink, Harmony, Minn.

1. (1) 16D Dan Hovden, Decorah
2. (4) 98 Kyle Anderson, Decorah
3. (9) 476X Troy Hovey, Decorah
4. (6) 8K Justin Kupka, Decorah
5. (2) 66 Keagen Einck, Decorah
6. (5) 1K Parker Kessel, Waukon
7. (3) 32 Taylor Skauge, Caledonia, Minn.
8. (11) 88X Jimmy Brosziet, Postville
9. (7) 17B Matt Buddenberg, Decorah
10. (12) 45 Cole Lonergan, Dexter, Minn.
11. (8) 82 Rick Byrnes, Decorah
12. (10) 81 Nolan Gunderson, Viroqua, Wis.
13. (13) 47 Brayton Boyer, St. Lucas
DNS - 17H Ryan Halverson, Decorah

1. (6) 6 Danny Sacquitne, Decorah
2. (3) 15 Mitch Hovden, Decorah
3. (1) 37 Pete Solum, Spring Groove, Minn.
4. (8) 44 Dillon Anderson,
5. (2) 14M Brian Mahlstedt,
6. (5) 55 Derek Dettmann, Monona
7. (7) 33 Kevin Donlan, Decorah
8. (12) 69 Jake Ludeking, Decorah
9. (9) 7K Andy Stinson, Cresco
10. (11) 55H Troy Hansmeier, Waukon
11. (13) 26 Steven Mcallen,
12. (10) 27 Shawn Peter, Mabel, Minn.
13. (4) 00 Danny Cole Jr., Lansing
14. (14) 23 Brayden Gjere, Mabel, Minn.

Latest News from the USRA

March 22, 2018
Former Out-Pace USRA B-Mod National Champion Morton returns to Lucas Oil Speedway weekly series in 2018
Even though it didn't work out at planned, J.C. Morton is glad he ventured out and tried a new racing opportunity last season. "If I hadn't, I'd have read more
March 20, 2018
Opening night at I-35 Speedway set for March 24
Opening night. The smell of spent race fuel, the sounds of racing engines, the hustle and bustle of the crowd in the pits and the grandstands, the roar of the motors as tread more
March 17, 2018
Smith captures TOMS season opener
The 2018 Touring Outlaw Modified Series season opener kicked off at the Southern Oklahoma Speedway under heavy clouds and the threat of rain. With a field of 29 entrieread more
March 17, 2018
Morton masters final feature at King of America VIII Iron Man Challenge
Things just kept getting better and better for J.C. Morton this weekend at the Humboldt Speedway for the King of America VIII Modified Nationals presented by Summit Racinread more
March 16, 2018
I-35 Speedway season opener moved to March 24
Officials at the I-35 Speedway are moving the season opener to Saturday, March 24. Originally scheduled for March 17, Mother Nature has produced cold temperatures and read more
Contact Us

Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group