Crapser, Olson, Langowski make first visits to Victory Lane with feature wins
Print this page
July 8, 2016  |  by Dan Bailey

Cory Crapser won the USRA Modified feature.

FOUNTAIN CITY, Wis.—Just a week after a record-setting crowd jammed the grandstands for the 8th Annual Rivercity Rumble, fans and competitors returned to Mississippi Thunder Speedway for more fast and furious, family-friendly Friday night fun on Severson Oil Night.

Cory Crapser fended off a starting line up of A-list competitors to grab the evening's feature win in the Rivercity Manufacturing USRA Modified division.

"Always fun to come to Mississippi Thunder Speedway," Crapser smiled in victory lane after the win. "The competition is tough and we always know that Bob (Timm) is going to give us a great track to race on."

Former track champions Josh Angst and John Doelle backed up their heat race wins from earlier in the evening by finishing second and fourth, respectively, with defending track champion Brad Waits racing to the checkered flag right between them in third.

Troy Langowski wowed the spectators with an incredible battle at the front of the pack which eventually lead to his first Centerville Welding & Repair USRA Late Model feature win. The final half of the 20-lap feature was a three-car battle at the front that eventually had the fans cheering a three-wide battle for the win.

Shaun Mann lead the first 18 laps but over the final 10 Justin Sass and Langowski closed in and produced an incredibly fun three-wide shoot-out. Sass, using the groove at the extreme top of the Mississippi Thunder Speedway banking, worked to the outside of Mann while Langowski kept his blue and white #88 nailed to the extreme bottom groove to work underneath Mann.

Sass and Langowski squeaked by at the white flag and crossed beneath the waving checkered flag side by side with a separation of just 0.018 second between the two.

Troy Langowski won the USRA Late Model feature.

"Three wide like that, what a way to race for a win," drawled Langowski in victory lane after grabbing the win. "I've won my fare share of races, and driven a lot of different race cars but I don't think I've ever had as much fun as I am right now."

Flyin' Ryan Olson was flyin' Friday night as he battled another huge field of Black Horse Bar & Grill USRA B-Mod competitors to the checkered flag.

After winning the second heat race, Olson battled fellow heat race winner Troy Hovey, current points leader Ben Moudry and new grandfather Jon Van Minsel to claim his first feature win at Mississippi Thunder Speedway this season.

While Olson lead every lap of the 18-lap feature, the win was far from an easy collection.

"I could tell that I wasn't alone up there, for sure," commented Olson after the win, "Jon (Van Minsel) was hooked up. I'm glad there weren't any more cautions, he was hooked up and fast. Racing with guys as fast as Ben Moudry, Troy Hovey, guys like that is fun and makes the win feel even better."

Van Minsel settled for a strong second, ahead of Moudry, Hovey and Tyler Creeley.

Ryan Olson won the Out-Pace USRA B-Mod feature.

Sooner or later, the tech shed gets busy, and Friday night it did after the Jailhouse Saloon USRA Hobby Stock feature.

Once the information was gathered and tallied, Jeremy Oakes inherited the feature win (his second in a row).

Heat race winners Derek Sutton and Scott Spilde completed the final top three.

Racing resumes next Friday night, July 15, with Winona Diesel Night. Action on the big 1/3-mile resumes immediately following the 6:40 p.m. opening xeremonies with green flag action provided by the Rivercity Manufacturing USRA Modifieds, Centerville Welding & Repair USRA Late Models presented by Big Toy Storage, Black Horse Bar & Grill USRA B-Mods, Coordinated Business Systems WISSOTA Super Stocks, Liquid Nitro 600 Mod Touring Series and Harmston Trucking MTS Hornets.

Pit gate opens at 4 p.m. and grandstands open at 5. Family-friendly general admission prices continue with alll students 23 years old and younger with current valid student ID and children 17 and under admitted absolutely free.

Mississippi Thunder Speedway is located 3.0 miles north of Fountain City on Wisconsin Highway 35. For more information, call 608-687-3282 or visit on the World Wide Web.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

United States Racing Association
USRA Weekly Racing Series
Mississippi Thunder Speedway, Fountain City, Wis.
Friday, July 8, 2016

1. (3) 54 Jeremy Oakes, Spring Grove, Minn.
2. (4) 33 Derek Sutton, Fountain City, Wis.
3. (6) 18X Scott Spilde, Cresco, Iowa
4. (7) 11 Levi Sand, Caledonia, Minn.
5. (8) 97 Bobby Fort Jr., Fountain City, Wis.
6. (9) 43 Lee Hager, Kellogg, Minn.
7. (10) 3 Taylor Dobbs, Galesville, Wis.
8. (11) 18 Cody Rollinger, Minnesota City, Minn.
9. (1) 93 Brian Scholl, West Salem, Wis.
10. (5) 86 Phil Wernert, Galesville, Wis.
11. (2) 4J Jordan Becker, Caledonia, Minn.

1. (1) 21 Ryan Olson, Strum, Wis.
2. (8) 1 Jon Van Minsel, Spring Grove, Minn.
3. (2) 85 Ben Moudry, Hastings, Minn.
4. (3) 476X Troy Hovey, Decorah, Iowa
5. (6) 90 Tyler Creeley, Winona, Minn.
6. (14) 8J Darran Jonsgaard, Fountain City, Wis.
7. (10) 12K Casey Knutson, Spring Grove, Minn.
8. (4) 51W J.T. Wasmund, Pine Island, Minn.
9. (20) 20J Jackson Hale, Grand Meadow, Minn.
10. (16) 55P David Pitz, Ionia, Iowa
11. (5) 00R Chad Rosendahl, Houston, Minn.
12. (26) 95X Shaun Walski, Winona, Minn.
13. (13) 54 John Feirn, Chippewa Falls, Wis.
14. (18) 19 Nick Wagner, Winona, Minn.
15. (15) 43 Zach Brom, Winona, Minn.
16. (17) 20K Kyle Brown, Minnesota City, Minn.
17. (25) 79 Nate Becker, Black River, Wis.
18. (7) 28P Jimmy Patzner, Winona, Minn.
19. (23) 48K Scott Kunda, Winona, Minn.
20. (21) 35X Phillip Dunbar, Rushford, Minn.
21. (12) 32 Taylor Skauge, Caledonia, Minn.
22. (11) 15W Alex Williamson, Rushford, Minn.
23. (22) 2 Nathan Butterfield, Galesville, Wis.
24. (9) 18Y Jerry Young, Blooming Prairie, Minn.
25. (24) 4K Brian Kunda, Winona, Minn.
26. (19) 11 Seth Scholl, Holmen, Wis.

1. (4) 88 Troy Langowski, Winona, Minn.
2. (3) 24 Justin Sass, Alma, Wis.
3. (2) 01 Shaun Mann, Buffalo City, Wis.
4. (5) 11 Lance Hofer, Cochrane, Wis.
5. (1) 77 Tom Brink, Winona, Minn.
6. (7) 97 Bob Fort, Fountain City, Wis.
7. (9) 11X Greg Hofer, Cochrane, Wis.
8. (6) 13 Ryan Konkel, Winona, Minn.
9. (10) 17 Josh Michel, Chippewa Falls, Wis.
10. (11) 86 Phil Wernert, Galesville, Wis.
11. (8) 17M Matt Laduke, Cochrane, Wis.

1. (2) 07 Cory Crapser, Chippewa Falls, Wis.
2. (5) 99 Josh Angst, Winona, Minn.
3. (4) 24 Brad Waits, Rochester, Minn.
4. (6) 94JR John Doelle, Arcadia, Wis.
5. (3) 21 Jacob Bleess, Chatfield, Minn.
6. (7) 95 Keith Foss, Winona, Minn.
7. (9) 89 Jesse Glenz, Cadott, Wis.
8. (10) 0 Les Duellman, Winona, Minn.
9. (8) 49JR Jake Timm, Winona, Minn.
10. (1) 52W Nate Wasmund, Rochester, Minn.
11. (13) 23K Erik Kanz, Winona, Minn.
12. (11) 19 Dustin Sorensen, Rochester, Minn.
13. (14) 15B Steve Bangart, Auburndale, Wis.
14. (12) 44X Leroy Scharkey, Rochester, Minn.
15. (15) 6T7 Brian Albrecht, Winona, Minn.

Contact Us

© Copyright 2019 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group