Lonneman tops USRA Hobby Stock special at Rapid Speedway
Print this page
July 22, 2016  |  by Levi Vander Weide

Chad Lonneman won the USRA Hobby Stock feature.

ROCK RAPIDS, Iowa—Another hot night at Rapid Speedway drew 72 race cars. The night featured the Old Timers Series and the USRA Hobby Stock special.

The Out-Pace USRA B-Mods had 18 cars take the green flag and Thor Anderson took the lead on lap one from the pole position.

A couple mid-race cautions would bring the field together and Mitch Van Engen charged around the top-side of the track to catch Anderson on the final lap, but it wasn’t enough, giving Thor Anderson his second victory of the season at Rapid Speedway.

Thor Anderson won the Out-Pace USRA B-Mod feature.

The Holley USRA Stock Cars took to the track next, and Roger Verdoorn and Matt Lange battled for the lead for many laps.

Lange would get the outright lead, but the 40 car of Scott Overgaard was coming from his 7th starting position.

Overgaard drove Verdoorn and Lange to pick up his 2nd victory of the year.

Scott Overgaard won the Holley USRA Stock Car feature.

The USRA Hobby Stocks capped off the right with a lot of drama.

Blake Arends grabbed the early lead, but Chad Lonneman was on a mission from his 10th starting spot.

Lonneman grabbed the lead before halfway, but the race would be halted with a red flag when Tim Waltner spun and got upside down on the backstretch.

The race went back green but was short lived when there was a four car pile-up in turn one, bringing out another lengthy red flag.

The race would eventually stay green and Chad Lonneman had to battle constant pressure from point leader Dylan Fitzpatrick and Blake Arends.

Chad Lonneman held off the pack to pick up his 3rd victory of the year at Rapid Speedway.

Next Friday, July 29, will feature the Holley USRA Stock Cars, Out-PAce USRA B-Mods and USRA Hobby Stocks again at Rapid Speedway!

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

United States Racing Association
USRA Weekly Racing Series
Rapid Speedway, Rock Rapids, Iowa
Friday, July 22, 2016


Heat #1 (6 laps): 1. 6-Dustin Gulbrandson[2]; 2. 4D-Cory Kelderman[1]; 3. 79-Tim Waltner[4]; 4. 117L-Chad Lonneman[5]; 5. 3J-James Adams[3]; 6. 86-Tracy Halouska[6]; 7. 36-Jackson Kracht[7].

Heat #2 (6 laps): 1. 22-Blake Arends[3]; 2. 35K-Brady Klaassen[2]; 3. 13X-Alex Wiertzma[5]; 4. 15-Thomas Kracht[4]; 5. 81VT-Dylan Vandentop[1]; 6. 17-Matt Goth[6].

Heat #3 (6 laps): 1. 38S-Dylan Fitzpatrick[2]; 2. 46-Colton Arends[1]; 3. 61N-Nick Brady[6]; 4. 84L-Al Lange[5]; 5. 31-Silas Top[4]; 6. 11T-Todd Uhl[3].

Feature (15 laps): 1. 117L-Chad Lonneman[10]; 2. 22-Blake Arends[2]; 3. 38S-Dylan Fitzpatrick[3]; 4. 61N-Nick Brady[4]; 5. 46-Colton Arends[8]; 6. 81VT-Dylan Vandentop[15]; 7. 15-Thomas Kracht[12]; 8. 13X-Alex Wiertzma[5]; 9. 84L-Al Lange[11]; 10. 6-Dustin Gulbrandson[1]; 11. 86-Tracy Halouska[16]; 12. 3J-James Adams[14]; 13. 17-Matt Goth[17]; 14. (DNF) 35K-Brady Klaassen[6]; 15. (DNF) 4D-Cory Kelderman[7]; 16. (DNF) 11T-Todd Uhl[18]; 17. (DNF) 36-Jackson Kracht[19]; 18. (DNF) 31-Silas Top[13]; 19. (DNF) 79-Tim Waltner[9].


Heat #1 (6 laps): 1. 21T-Trevor Tesch[4]; 2. 9-Mitch Van Engen[6]; 3. 11L-Lyndon Johnson[7]; 4. 40-Tim Dann[3]; 5. 43K-Josh Kelderman[5]; 6. 18D-Chris Goetz[8]; 7. 14-Austin Powell[2]; 8. (DNF) 35-Rodney Cook[1].

Heat #2 (6 laps): 1. 70-Nick Vanbelle[4]; 2. 91-Tyler Johnson[8]; 3. 27-Kevin Joachim[3]; 4. 06W-Ryan Walker[6]; 5. 8M-Kaleb Modder[1]; 6. (DNF) 14A-Andrew Ahlers[5]; 7. (DNF) 5-Colter Deutsch[7]; 8. (DNF) 20-Derek Vanveldhuzien[2].

Heat #3 (6 laps): 1. 41-Thor Anderson[2]; 2. 00-Dave Kennedy[4]; 3. 22T-Tyler Tesch[6]; 4. 15A-Curt Ahlers[3]; 5. 7-Cullen De Ruyter[7]; 6. 81-Travis Vandentop[1]; 7. 98-Nate Barger[5].
B Feature (8 laps): 1. 18D-Chris Goetz[1]; 2. 14A-Andrew Ahlers[5]; 3. 14-Austin Powell[3]; 4. 98-Nate Barger[4]; 5. 81-Travis Vandentop[2]; 6. 35-Rodney Cook[7]; 7. (DNF) 20-Derek Vanveldhuzien[6]; (DNS) 5-Colter Deutsch.

A Feature (15 laps): 1. 41-Thor Anderson[1]; 2. 9-Mitch Van Engen[8]; 3. 7-Cullen De Ruyter[15]; 4. 27-Kevin Joachim[3]; 5. 22T-Tyler Tesch[10]; 6. 91-Tyler Johnson[12]; 7. 11L-Lyndon Johnson[11]; 8. 43K-Josh Kelderman[13]; 9. 14A-Andrew Ahlers[17]; 10. 40-Tim Dann[2]; 11. 15A-Curt Ahlers[4]; 12. 21T-Trevor Tesch[5]; 13. 00-Dave Kennedy[7]; 14. 06W-Ryan Walker[9]; 15. 18D-Chris Goetz[16]; 16. 14-Austin Powell[18]; 17. 8M-Kaleb Modder[14]; 18. 70-Nick Vanbelle[6].


Heat #1 (6 laps): 1. 32X-Rich Gregoire[5]; 2. 04-Roger Verdoorn[1]; 3. 22E-Eric Gaul[4]; 4. 54K-Darwin Klaassen[6]; 5. 16J-Jon DeBoer[3]; 6. (DNF) 19-Marlin Kracht[2].

Heat #2 (6 laps): 1. 40-Scott Overgaard[5]; 2. 32-Justin Regnerus[4]; 3. 84-Matt Lange[1]; 4. 36-Glenn Wynia[2]; 5. 84L-Al Lange[6]; 6. 34K-Colby Klaassen[3].

Feature (18 laps): 1. 40-Scott Overgaard[7]; 2. 04-Roger Verdoorn[1]; 3. 84-Matt Lange[2]; 4. 32-Justin Regnerus[6]; 5. 36-Glenn Wynia[3]; 6. 22E-Eric Gaul[5]; 7. 34K-Colby Klaassen[10]; 8. 16J-Jon DeBoer[4]; 9. 84L-Al Lange[9]; 10. (DNF) 54K-Darwin Klaassen[8]; (DNS) 32X-Rich Gregoire; (DNS) 19-Marlin Kracht.

Latest News from the USRA

February 16, 2018
Midway Speedway announces $777-to-win Out-Pace USRA B-Mod event
Jack Jones and the staff at the Lebanon Midway Speedway have announced a $777-to-win Out-Pace USRA B-Mod event to be held Friday night, June 15. This will be a regularread more
February 15, 2018
Springfield Raceway set for March 10 opener
The Springfield Raceway will kick off the dirt track season in Southwest Missouri on Saturday, March 10, with the annual March Madness event. USRA Modifieds and Out-Paread more
February 8, 2018
Opening weekend at I-35 Speedway fast approaching
This weekend is World of Wheels in Kansas City’s Bartle Hall and tthe Central Auto Racing Boosters will be distributing the I-35 Speedway schedules for your refrigeread more
February 8, 2018
Lucas Oil Speedway Weekly Racing Series mid-season points leaders to receive bonus
Drivers in Lucas Oil Speedway's Big Adventure RV Weekly Racing Series again will be chasing extra money at the season's midpoint. For the second straight year,read more
February 8, 2018
Keyser Manufacturing, Integra Shocks & Springs backing USRA racers again in 2018
Keyser Manufacturing—the leader in innovative and cutting edge products for the racing industry—is back on board as a contingency sponsor of the United Statesread more
Contact Us

Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group