Siebert claims Night of Stars victory at Missouri State Fair Speedway
Print this page
July 28, 2016  |  by Sam Stoecklin

Austin Siebert won the USRA Modified feature.

SEDALIA, Mo.—Race engines brought an extra sense excitement Thursday evening at the Missouri State Fairgrounds as the USRA Modifieds filled the night with high-energy and horsepower.

Fourteen USRA Modifieds turned out for the night’s half-mile action and competed in two preliminary heat races to sort out their lineup for the 15-lap main event.

Three-time Missouri State Championship winner Jim Moody took the victory in the night’s opening heat race by holding off fifth-starting Austin Siebert for the win, Jason Bodenhamer finished third.

Jason Russell and Fenton’s Ken Schrader battled for the win in heat two with Schrader ultimately prevailing over Russell and Scotty Robert for the win.

Siebert and Moody earned the front row starting positions after the heat races with Schrader and Robert starting in row two.

Siebert, in his new 2016 MBcustoms #16 Modified, and Moody took the initial green flag and battled closely for the top spot during the opening laps.

Roberts’ night came to a heart-breaking early end as his car belted smoke just as he took over the third position.

Behind Siebert and Moody, some of the best racing of the night took place among Schrader, Russell, Shad Badder and USMTS regular ‘Big Daddy’ Joe Duvall, who stopped in for competition on his way to a pair of Minnesota USTMS events.

Just past the mid-point of the race as Siebert and Moody began to approach lapped traffic, Moody was right behind the leader in a bid for the lead when his car spun in between turns three and four, forcing Moody to start tail-back on the ensuing restart.

With Moody left to battle his way back towards the front, Siebert had clear sailing for the next few laps after the restart but Russell began methodically reeling in the race-long leader in the race’s closing laps.

Russell showed Siebert his nose on a couple occasions but in the end was unable to make the pass for the win as Siebert went on to add another win to his growing resume.

In victory lane Siebert thanked his Dad and his crew and said he could not have won the event without their support and dedication.

It was Siebert’s first win of the year after competing in his late model for the better part of the season.

Russell’s solid night of competition saw him come away second in the event with Duvall racing his way from sixth on the starting grid to round out the podium in third position.

Schrader’s consistent night produced a strong run to the fourth spot while Badder held strong by advancing from eighth to complete the top five.

Finishing sixth through tenth were Jim Moody who clawed his way back towards the front, followed by Jason Bodenhamer, Curt Potter, Christopher Moon, and Slater veteran driver Rick Kimberling.

The evening’s program was sponsored by Central Bank and Subway of Sedalia while heat races were presented by ‘Better Country’ KIX 105.7 FM, BOB FM 92.3 and KSIS 1050 AM radio. Dairy Queen and Steak ‘N Shake of Sedalia presented the night’s restarts.

Find and like Missouri State Fair Speedway online at The next event at the ‘Historic Half Mile’ is Sunday, August 21st when the ASCS National Tour drivers compete for $15,000 to win! The speedway will be the place to be as the Missouri State Fair comes to an end with the roar of motors filling the night for the expected large-capacity crowd. Admission prices for the event are: $23 Adult, $21 Military/Senior (Age 65+), $10 Students (Age 13-17), $5 Youth (Age 6-12), Free Kids (5 & Under). For more information about Missouri State Fair events and ticketing, visit

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

United States Racing Association
USRA Weekly Racing Series
Missouri State Fair Speedway, Sedalia, Mo.
Thursday, July 28, 2016


1. 16 Austin Seibert
2. 2j Jason Russell
3. 91 Joe Duvall
4. 9 Ken Schrader
5. 73b Shad Badder
6. 00 Jim Moody
7. 03 Jason Bodenhamer
8. 11p Curt Potter
9. 12m Christopher Moon
10. 002 Rick Kimberling
11. 77d Kyle Covert
12. 17k Kyle Westerhold
13. 86 Buddy Benedict
14. 25 Scotty Roberts

Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group