Rapid Speedway checkers wave for Gregoire, Deutsch, Lonneman
Print this page
July 29, 2016  |  by Levi Vander Weide

ROCK RAPIDS, Iowa—Eighty-seven race cars rolled into Rapid Speedway Friday evening.

The USRA Hobby Stock feature had many contenders for the win, but Chad Lonneman has been hard to beat every time he has shown up to the track this season.

Todd Uhl grabbed the early lead from the third starting spot, but Lonneman and Dustin Gulbrandson were coming through the field in a hurry.

Lonneman took the lead from Uhl and would go on to survive two late-race cautions to pick-up his fourth victory of the season at Rapid Speedway.

Chad Lonneman won the USRA Hobby Stock feature.

The field of 27 Out-Pace USRA B-Mods were narrowed down to 20 for the A-feature.

Dave Kennedy was looking to pick-up his first victory of the season at Rapid Speedway, snatching the early lead from Chris Goetz.

Kennedy led much of the race, but Thor Anderson was charging slowly, but surely, around the top-side of the track, getting around Kennedy for the lead.

After a late caution, Anderson was looking for the checkered flag, but saw a yellow flag instead.

Anderson would have another two laps to hold on to the lead, but Colter Deutsch was hungry for his second win of the year.

On the restart, Anderson went to the bottom, opening the top for Deutsch to get a run, and clear Anderson going into turn 3.

Deutsch was followed by Anderson and Van Engen across the finish line.

Colter Deutsch won the Out-Pace USRA B-Mod feature.

The Holley USRA Stock Cars put on another classic for fans Friday evening, with first and second finishing less than a car-length apart, and four-wide racing throughout the field.

Rich Gregoire was looking for his second win of the year, taking the lead after a side-by-side battle with Roger Verdoorn.

Gregoire led lap after lap, but last week’s victor, Scott Overgaard, was charging around the bottom-side of the track.

Overgaard cut down under Gregoire coming out of turn four for the final time, but Gregoire was too strong off the corner, taking the win and closing the point deficit.

Rich Gregoire won the Holley USRA Stock Car feature.

Next Friday, Aug. 5, at Rapid Speedway will feature our regular USRA Weekly Racing Series program.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

United States Racing Association
USRA Weekly Racing Series
Rapid Speedway, Rock Rapids, Iowa
Friday, July 29, 2016


Heat #1 (6 laps): 1. 61N-Nick Brady[2]; 2. 117L-Chad Lonneman[5]; 3. 13X-Alex Wiertzma[4]; 4. 22-Blake Arends[6]; 5. 84L-Al Lange[3]; 6. 96E-Brandon Erickson[7]; 7. 36-Jackson Kracht[8].

Heat #2 (6 laps): 1. 4D-Cory Kelderman[1]; 2. 11T-Todd Uhl[2]; 3. 15-Thomas Kracht[4]; 4. 38S-Dylan Fitzpatrick[5]; 5. 17-Matt Goth[3]; 6. 29-Derrick Scott[7]; 7. 40-Donna Bumann[6].

Heat #3 (6 laps): 1. 79-Tim Waltner[2]; 2. 46-Colton Arends[3]; 3. 6-Dustin Gulbrandson[5]; 4. 35K-Brady Klaassen[6]; 5. 31-Silas Top[1]; 6. 10-Charlie Koepp[7]; 7. (DNF) 86-Tracy Halouska[4].

B Feature (6 laps): 1. 29-Derrick Scott[2]; 2. 86-Tracy Halouska[6]; 3. 96E-Brandon Erickson[1]; 4. 36-Jackson Kracht[5]; 5. (DNF) 10-Charlie Koepp[3]; 6. (DNF) 40-Donna Bumann[4]; (DNS) 3J-James Adams.

A Feature (15 laps): 1. 117L-Chad Lonneman[8]; 2. 6-Dustin Gulbrandson[10]; 3. 46-Colton Arends[5]; 4. 15-Thomas Kracht[7]; 5. 11T-Todd Uhl[3]; 6. 61N-Nick Brady[2]; 7. 22-Blake Arends[11]; 8. 38S-Dylan Fitzpatrick[9]; 9. 84L-Al Lange[13]; 10. 29-Derrick Scott[16]; 11. 35K-Brady Klaassen[12]; 12. 13X-Alex Wiertzma[6]; 13. 86-Tracy Halouska[17]; 14. 79-Tim Waltner[4]; 15. 17-Matt Goth[14]; 16. 4D-Cory Kelderman[1]; 17. 31-Silas Top[15]; 18. 96E-Brandon Erickson[18].


Heat #1 (6 laps): 1. 41-Thor Anderson[4]; 2. 15A-Curt Ahlers[3]; 3. 43K-Josh Kelderman[5]; 4. 35-Rodney Cook[1]; 5. 15M-Cole McLaughlin[6]; 6. 4P-Zac Pruner[7]; (DQ) 14-Austin Powell[2].

Heat #2 (6 laps): 1. 27-Kevin Joachim[4]; 2. 81-Travis Vandentop[1]; 3. 18D-Chris Goetz[2]; 4. 21T-Trevor Tesch[3]; 5. 22T-Tyler Tesch[5]; 6. 6-Dustin Kruse[7]; 7. 83-Deven Vanveldhuizen[6].

Heat #3 (6 laps): 1. 00-Dave Kennedy[3]; 2. 9-Mitch Van Engen[5]; 3. 06W-Ryan Walker[4]; 4. 4S-Adam Sage[7]; 5. 20-Derek Vanveldhuzien[1]; 6. 98-Nate Barger[2]; 7. (DNF) 12X-Gary Beuckens[6].

Heat #4 (6 laps): 1. 5-Colter Deutsch[3]; 2. 14N-Nick Barger[6]; 3. 7-Cullen De Ruyter[5]; 4. 14A-Andrew Ahlers[4]; 5. 8M-Kaleb Modder[1]; 6. 70-Nick Vanbelle[2].

B Feature (8 laps): 1. 70-Nick Vanbelle[6]; 2. 4P-Zac Pruner[5]; 3. 98-Nate Barger[8]; 4. 8M-Kaleb Modder[4]; 5. 14-Austin Powell[7]; 6. 22T-Tyler Tesch[2]; 7. 20-Derek Vanveldhuzien[3]; 8. 12X-Gary Beuckens[11]; 9. 83-Deven Vanveldhuizen[10]; 10. 15M-Cole McLaughlin[1]; 11. 6-Dustin Kruse[9].

A Feature (15 laps): 1. 5-Colter Deutsch[5]; 2. 41-Thor Anderson[6]; 3. 9-Mitch Van Engen[10]; 4. 70-Nick Vanbelle[17]; 5. 06W-Ryan Walker[8]; 6. 00-Dave Kennedy[4]; 7. 14N-Nick Barger[12]; 8. 18D-Chris Goetz[2]; 9. 15A-Curt Ahlers[3]; 10. 98-Nate Barger[19]; 11. 43K-Josh Kelderman[9]; 12. 4P-Zac Pruner[18]; 13. 14A-Andrew Ahlers[16]; 14. 8M-Kaleb Modder[20]; 15. 81-Travis Vandentop[1]; 16. (DNF) 7-Cullen De Ruyter[11]; 17. (DNF) 4S-Adam Sage[15]; 18. (DNF) 35-Rodney Cook[13]; 19. (DNF) 27-Kevin Joachim[7]; 20. (DNF) 21T-Trevor Tesch[14].


Heat #1 (6 laps): 1. 40-Scott Overgaard[5]; 2. 04-Roger Verdoorn[1]; 3. 32-Justin Regnerus[4]; 4. 16J-Jon DeBoer[2]; 5. 19-Marlin Kracht[8]; 6. 36-Glenn Wynia[3]; 7. (DNF) 42-Chad Overgaard[7]; 8. (DNF) 54K-Darwin Klaassen[6].

Heat #2 (6 laps): 1. 34K-Colby Klaassen[2]; 2. 32X-Rich Gregoire[1]; 3. 22E-Eric Gaul[4]; 4. 96-Troy Woelber[6]; 5. 84-Matt Lange[3]; 6. 45K-Brad Klaassen[5]; 7. 33G-Tyler McFarland[7]; 8. 84L-Al Lange[8].

Feature (18 laps): 1. 32X-Rich Gregoire[2]; 2. 40-Scott Overgaard[9]; 3. 32-Justin Regnerus[7]; 4. 16J-Jon DeBoer[3]; 5. 04-Roger Verdoorn[1]; 6. 42-Chad Overgaard[15]; 7. 22E-Eric Gaul[8]; 8. 84-Matt Lange[6]; 9. 34K-Colby Klaassen[4]; 10. 96-Troy Woelber[11]; 11. 19-Marlin Kracht[12]; 12. 54K-Darwin Klaassen[16]; 13. 45K-Brad Klaassen[10]; 14. 33G-Tyler McFarland[13]; 15. 84L-Al Lange[14]; 16. 36-Glenn Wynia[5].

Contact Us

© Copyright 2019 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group