Davis reestablishes command over USRA Modifieds at Lakeside Speedway
Print this page
August 5, 2016  |  by Larry Lowery Jr.

Kerry Davis won the USRA Modified feature.

KANSAS CITY, Kan.—A perfectly manicured race track and great night greeted the fans and racers of Lakeside Speedway on Kids Night with a whopping 27 USRA Modifieds showing up to battle it out on a Friday night.

Kerry Davis came into the night with the points lead, but Mark Schafman had been on a roll lately.

The two drivers started the feature fourth and fifth, respectively.

Aaron Marrant got the drop on the field and took the top spot, but Davis was on his way to the front of the field.

Davis and Marrant battled all the way around the speedway side by side, but Davis wrestled the lead away before a yellow flag bunched up the field.

As the green flag waved again, Davis took off back out in the lead.

The race would continue on and Davis would get faster as it did. Davis could put his car on the low, middle or high line and it worked to perfection. His only worry to the checkered flag was navigating the lapped traffic he encountered on the way to the finish.

Marrant finished second, it was a strong run for third place Justin Johnson, fourh went go to Nic Bidinger and Schafman put together a top-five finish.

There was another great shootout in the Holley USRA Stock Car main event.

Nate Barnes jumped out to the early lead, but Scotty Moore was with him the entire way.

By lap 8, Moore had pulled dead even with Barnes at the stripe using the bottom of the race track.

Barnes, on the other hand, was using the high side.

Just behind those two drivers were a couple of heavy hitters in Brett Heeter, the points leader, and Trevor Hunt, a multiple feature winner in 2016.

Heeter appeared to split the top two cars and take the lead, but a yellow flag halted his advance and put him back to third on the restart.

On the restart, the battle ended.

Hunt, using the extreme high line, took the lead from Moore on the restart and was untouched the rest of the way.

It allowed him to close the gap on Heeter in the points and it put him in victory lane again.

An impressive run considering that Hunt started 10th in the main event.

Heeter, who started 14th, finished in the runner-up spot, third went to Barnes, fourth was Justin Seifert and Lucas Conley rounded out the top five.

Trevor Hunt won the Holley USRA Stock Car feature.

There was a big surprise in the Out-Pace USRA B-Mod feature event.

Matt Pugh and Jeff Elder brought the field to the green flag.

At the front of the field there was a lot of close racing. Elder took the lead but Tim Powell and Shad Turner were right there to apply pressure to the leader.

Elder answered the pressure and put together a little lead on the field.

A yellow flag bunched the competition and add a few more players to the front pack: Chad Clancy and Brad Smith. Both of those racers have multiple feature wins on the season.

As the race resumed it was Elder again holding on to the top spot.

Smith and Clancy got by Turner and tried to run down Elder but it didn't get done.

Elder capped off his perfect race with his first feature win at Lakeside Speedway in 2016.

Smith finished second, third went to points leader Clancy, fourth was Turner and racing his way to fifth was Trevor Hunt.

Jeff Elder won the Out-Pace USRA B-Mod feature.

Action at Lakeside Speedway will resume next Friday night, Aug. 12, for Crystal Trenching/AMSOIL Night.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

United States Racing Association
USRA Weekly Racing Series
Lakeside Speedway, Kansas City, Kan.
Friday, Aug. 5, 2016


1. (2) 97J Jeff Elder, Smithville, Mo.
2. (6) 99 Brad Smith, Belton, Mo.
3. (8) 21C Chad Clancy, Polo, Mo.
4. (7) 17T Shadren Turner, St. Joseph, Mo.
5. (9) 44H Trevor Hunt, Kearney, Mo.
6. (10) 181 Luke Nieman, Nortonville
7. (1) 38 Matt Pugh, Overland Park
8. (5) 57 Tim Powell, Lansing
9. (12) 12C Steve Clancy, Odessa, Mo.
10. (16) 42 Gene Claxton, Kansas City, Mo.
11. (18) 0 Chase Galvan, Bonner Springs
12. (15) 17 Dean Galvan, Bonner Springs
13. (13) 75 Robert Isabell III, Bonner Springs
14. (22) 27 David Moline, Kansas City, Mo.
15. (21) 3K Scott Henney, Kansas City
16. (3) 49 Patrick Royalty, Kansas City
17. (14) 9 Don Marrs, Shawnee
18. (4) 222 Colten Stevens, Basehor
19. (11) 92 Dennis Melvin Sr., Basehor
20. (20) 17J Jake Richards, Edwardsville
21. (19) 27M Matt Oxford, Washburn, Mo.
22. (17) 17C Cullen Thompson, Hermann, Mo.
DNS - 5 Terry Bivins, Lebo


1. (10) 33H Trevor Hunt, Kearney, Mo.
2. (12) 05 Brett Heeter, Kansas City
3. (3) 29 Nate Barnes, Kearney, Mo.
4. (7) 37 Justin Seifert, Kansas City
5. (8) 17C Lucas Conley, Spring Hill
6. (5) 04 Chad Walker, Kansas City
7. (4) 5K Steve Herrick, Topeka
8. (6) 12 Scotty Moore, Kansas City
9. (9) 417 Kevin Anderson, Kansas City, Mo.
10. (11) 26 Russ Moyer, Wellsville
11. (13) 17 Kevin McGinnis, Kansas City
12. (1) 27 Jason Ryun, Kansas City, Mo.
13. (2) 46T Tim Pruett, Atchison
DNS - 26M Gary Myers
DNS - W04 Chuck Warman, Atchison


1. (4) 68 Kerry Davis, Parkville, Mo.
2. (3) 70 Aaron Marrant, Orrick, Mo.
3. (2) 7J Justin Johnson, Gardner
4. (11) 3B Nic Bidinger, Perry
5. (5) 34 Mark Schafman, Edwardsville
6. (15) 1K Tim Karrick, Basehor
7. (8) 73 Mickey Burrell, Fair Grove, Mo.
8. (14) 69N Cory Wray, Jamesport, Mo.
9. (7) 39 Luke Driskell, Stilwell
10. (19) 17 Lucas Conley, Spring Hill
11 6) 66T Tyler Schmidt, Easton
12. (20) 3 Bubba Harvey Jr.
13. (18) 87 Darron Fuqua, Mayetta
14. (1) 59 Jared Stiens, Maryville, Mo.
15. (9) 13H Eric Hanna, Maryville, Mo.
16. (21) 11JR Randal Schiffelbein Jr., Tecumseh
17. (22) 99 Dylan Hoover, Vandalia, Mo.
18. (25) 5 Kevin McGinnis, Edwardsville
19. (24) 8X Chad Thomsen, Louisburg
20. (13) 66M Max Grogan, Basehor
21. (12) 89 Daniel Wosoba, El Dorado, Mo.
22. (17) 28 Jerry Liston Jr., Kansas City
23. (16) 33 Chad Lyle, Oak Grove, Mo.
24. (23) 14C Bill Carter, Kansas City
25. (10) 51 Joe Walker, Harrisonville, Mo.
DNS - 3J Lewis Jackson, Wellsville
DNS - 29S Jeff Smith, Kansas City, Mo.

Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group