Schott, Queensland double down at Deer Creek
Print this page
August 6, 2016  |  by Todd Narveson

Lucas Schott won the USRA Modified feature.

SPRING VALLEY, Minn.—A season high 134 cars turned out for the Double Down Challenge at Deer Creek Speedway on Saturday. Drivers in attendance could race for double the normal purse just by paying an extra $50 entry fee. This week’s program also featured a driver recognition program that honored the racers from past decades that brought the sport to where it is today. Fifty-seven former drivers were on hand from the 1950s through the early '90s. They were all introduced to a very appreciative crowd before the racing began.

A massive 29-race program presented by National Fleet Graphics of Dodge Center and Olympic Fire Protection of Owatonna ensued.

A massive 41-car Dirt Doctor Trucking USRA B-Mod field took five heats and two b-mains to get down to a 26-car starting grid for their 18-lap, $700-to-win feature. Matt Jones led the early laps with Kenny Boge Jr. and Cole Queensland on the chase. Queensland zoomed to second on lap three and Brandon Hare charged past Boge for third on lap six.

Queensland challenged Jones for the lead and took the lead in turn two on the eighth circuit. Hare then moved in on Jones for second and made the pass on lap 12. Dustin Kruse was on the charge from row seven and entered the top five on lap 13.

Queensland rolled to his fifth win of the season and also a clean sweep on the night. Hare finished second with Jones in third. Kruse’s superb run ended up with a fourth place finish and Jim Chisholm was in fifth at the checkered flag.

Cole Queensland won ther Out-Pace USRA B-Mod feature.

Alan Wagner led the NAPA Auto Care Centers USRA Modified feature but caused a caution that sent him to the back. Jacob Bleess took over with Erik Kanz and Brandon Davis in tow. Lucas Schott was on the move and got to fourth on lap two. Schott then challenged Davis and they both got by Kanz.

Bleess continued to lead but a yellow on lap eight would slow things down. Schott got to second on the restart while Josh Angst passed Kanz for fourth. Bleess took off but Schott reeled in the leader on lap 20 and made the pass for the lead. Bleess bounced off of and on top of the wall and kept going. Schott was out front but a yellow on lap 24 set up a green-white-checkered dash to the finish.

Schott held on for his second win of the season at Deer Creek and ninth win overall. Angst had a late-race charge to snag second with Davis in third. Bleess ended his run in fourth and Kanz scored a top-five finish.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

United States Racing Association
USRA Weekly Racing Series
Deer Creek speedway, Spring Valley, Minn.
Saturday, Aug. 6, 2016


A-Main: Cole Queensland, Brandon Hare, Matt Jones, Dustin Kruse, Jim Chisholm, Alex Williamson, Kylie Kath, AJ Zvorak, Miah Christiansen, Cole Denner, Derek Clement, Blake Arndt, Jerry Young, Channing Warner, Kadden Kath, Trevor Fecht, AJ Johnston, Tyler Creeley, Kenny Wytaske, Thor Anderson, Nate Whitehurst, Cole Lonergan, Kenny Boge Jr., J.T. Wasmund, Nick Wagner, Kyle Anderson

B-Main #1: Clement, Anderson, Wytaske, Bill Stettner, Todd Schaufenbuel, Tanner Johnston, Brayton Boyer, Cole Christiansen, Russ Quinnell, Zach Brom. Shaun Walski.

B-Main #2: Young, Wasmund, Kadden Kath, Josh Appel, Christian warner, Steve Quinnell, Anton Nelson, Andrew Bleess, Tyler Tesch, Jayden Larson.

Heat #1: Whitehurst, Boge, Fecht, Anderson, Clement, Stettner, Nelson, S. Quinnell.

Heat #2: Queensland, Williamson, Zvorak, Appel, Tesch, Christian Warner, Boyer.

Heat #3: Hare, Kylie Kath, A. Johnston, J. Christiansen, Wytaske, Schaufenbuel, Walski, Bleess.

Heat #4: Jones, Chisholm, Kruse, Arndt, Young, Wasmund, C. Christiansen, R. Quinnell.

Heat #5: Channing Warner, Lonergan, Denner, Creeley, Brom, Larson, Kadden Kath, T. Johnston.


A-Main: Lucas Schott, Josh Angst, Brandon Davis, Jacob Bleess, Erik Kanz, Jason Cummins, Nate Wasmund, Brian Albrecht, Brad Dierks, Bob Timm, Levi Nielsen, John Doelle, Jake Timm, Joe Horgdal, Jacob Dahle, Kevin Stoa, Alan Wagner, Jim King, Bill Clemens, Dustin Sorensen, Cory Crapser, Brett Bumgardner, Keith Foss, Darwyn Karau, Joe Ludemann, Mark Motl.

B-Main #1: Doelle, Foss, Stoa, Ludemann, King, Tammy Soma-Clark, Dwaine Hanson.

B-Main #2: Nielsen, Dahle, Clemens, Motl, Bumgardner, Greg Jensen, Jake Stark.

Heat #1: Dierks, Bleess, Albrecht, B. Timm, Foss, Stoa, Ludemann, Hanson.

Heat #2: Kanz, Wagner, Angst, Wasmund, Jensen, Clemens, Stark, Bumgardner.

Heat #3: Davis, J. Timm, Cummins, Sorensen, Doelle, King, Soma-Clark.

Heat #4: Schott, Karau, Crapser, Horgdal, Nielsen, Dahle, Motl.

Contact Us

© Copyright 2019 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group