Dunn downs Taylor in Devil's Bowl TOMS go
Print this page
August 13, 2016

MESQUITE, Texas—A strong field of USRA Modifieds invaded the Devil's Bowl Speedway Saturday with the Texas Outlaw Modified Series taking center stage at the historic half-mile oval.

Troy Taylor jumped out to a big lead in the main event, while several drivers made a charge toward the front of the field.

A couple of late-race cautions kept the field within striking distance of Taylor, including Clyde Dunn Jr. who came from the 16th starting spot into the top three with a handful of laps remaining.

With two laps to go, Dunn pulled alongside Taylor and the pair battled to the finish line with Dunn slipping underneath in the final turn to win by a nose.

But a spun car in turn two forced officials to turn on the yellow light and a green-white-checkered sprint to the finish ensued.

While it seemed that Taylor caught a huge break and Dunn would be denied a great last-lap pass, the same scenario played out the second time around with Dunn once again passing Taylor in the final corner to take the $1,300 win.

TOMS points leader Triston Dycus, who also started deep in the field, came up to finish third behind Taylor while Charlie Smith and Johnny Philpot roundd out the top five.

Special thanks to our sponsors: Day Motor Sports CAM Chassis Fritzphoto Wyatt Sheet Metal Five1Seven Designs All-Star Graphics K&R Promotions and Superior Wheels. Special thanks to Lanny Ross Edwards and all of the Devil’s Bowl Speedway staff from the TOMS to be part of this event.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

United States Racing Association
USRA Weekly Racing Series - Texas Outlaw Modified Series
Devil's Bowl Speedway, Mesquite, texas
Saturday, Aug. 13, 2016


Heat #1: (3c) Charlie Smith, (47) Jack Sartain, (18) Billy Melton, (7x) Rory Jordan, (6x) Donny Powers, (88xxx) Clyde Dunn Jr, (52) Joseph Casper, (82x) Greg Teske.

Heat #2: (56) Troy Taylor, (74) Jasen Hammonds, (51x) Danny Florence, (28b) Wendall Bolden, (14x) Josh Landers, (88) Shawn Gammage, (57) Clint Jones, (3) Sam Cox.

Heat #3: (12j) Johnny Philpot, (11x) Wesley Veal, (8) Skip Oneal, (14t) Triston Dycus, (7jr) Chad Ewell, (711) Michael Daniels, (29)Scott Haseman (40f) Max Eddie Thomas.

Day Motor Sports A-Main: (88xxx) Clyde Dunn Jr, (56) Troy Taylor, (14t) Triston Dycus, (3c) Charlie Smith, (12j) Johnny Philpot, (8) Skip Oneal, (28b) Wendall Bolden, (52) Joseph Casper, (40f) Max Eddie Thomas, (7x) Rory Jordan, (18) Billy Melton, (3) Sam Cox, (29)Scott Haseman (51x) Danny Florence, (82x) Greg Teske, (88) Shawn Gammage, (74) Jasen Hammonds, (7jr) Chad Ewell, (6x) Donny Powers, (57) Clint Jones, (14x) Josh Landers, (711) Michael Daniels, (47) Jack Sartain, (11x) Wesley Veal.

Lap Leaders: Taylor 1-18, Dunn 19-20.
Smiley’s/Superior Hard Chargers: Dunn, Thomas (+15)
Day Motor Sports Tire Winner: Smith.
Frtizphoto Pole: Taylor.

Latest News from the USRA

April 18, 2018
Things to know as 2018 racing season gets started at Lucas Oil Speedway
This summer will mark 12 years since Lucas Oil Speedway opened to rave reviews as Forrest Lucas' vision for a dirt-track racing showcase was realized. Since that fread more
April 18, 2018
Lebanon Midway ready to open 2018 season
Lebanon Midway Speedway drivers and fans are hoping that the third time is the charm as the track will be ready to host an exciting 2018 season beginning this Friday, Aprread more
April 18, 2018
Springfield Raceway back in action this Saturday
The quick quarter-mile Springfield Raceway is back in action this Saturday, April 21, with round three 3 of the championship chase featuring USRA Modifieds and Out-Pace Uread more
April 17, 2018
Lakeside Speedway season opener presented by Tompkins Industries fires up Friday
A lack of dirt racing events throughout the region has left drivers and fans chomping at the bit to hit the track for a night of competition. However, this will change onread more
April 17, 2018
Purse revealed for 2nd Annual Gary Davis Super 66 Stock Car Special
Team Vicki Davis Racing 66 and the I-35 Speedway are pleased to announce the purse for the 2nd Annual Gary Davis Super 66 Stock Car Special on June 16 at the famed 3/8-miread more
Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group