Holtz, Hovden, Dobel claim Mason City checkers
Print this page
August 14, 2016

Phil Holtz won the Holley USRA Stock Car feature.

MASON CITY, Iowa—While the USMTS invaded the Mason City Motor Speedway Sunday night, three other USRA drivers also notched victories at the historic North Iowa Fairgrounds oval.

In Holley USRA Stock Car action, Phil Holtz was impressive as he also garnered his first win in Mason City by holding off current USRA national points leader Mitch Hovden. Jesse Brown was third, Joe Willier finished fourth and veteran Steve Jackson took the fifth spot.

The other half of the Decorah racing brothers, Dan Hovden, visited Casey's Gneeral Stores Victory Lane in the Out-Pace USRA B-Mod main event. Jared Boumeester grabbed the runner-up spot, Taylor Ausrud tok third, Alex Zwanziger was fourth and fifth went to Dan Christopher.

Dan Hovden won the Out-Pace USRA B-Mod feature.

Scott Dobel held off a late-race charge by Weston Koop to win his first USRA Hobby Stock feature of the year at the Mason City Motor Speedway. Andrew Borchardt, Austin Jahnz and Zac Smith rounded out the top five.

Scott Dobel won the USRA Hobby Stock feature.

Racing continues next Sunday, Aug. 21, with the final points night of the USRA Weekly Racing Series in Mason City featuring USRA Modifieds, Holley USRA Stock Cars, Out-Pace USRA B-Mods, USRA Hobby Stocks and Rookies Rockin’ Tuners.

The pit gate opens at 4 p.m., spectator gates open at 5 and racing starts at 6 p.m.  General admission is just $10 while juniors (13-16) and seniors (65+) get in for $8. Kids 12 and under are free, and pit passes are just $25.

The Mason City Motor Speedway is a semi-banked 1/2-mile clay oval located 5.1 miles east of I-35 at exit 194 on SR 122 (at the North Iowa Fairgrounds). For more information, check out www.masoncitymotorspeedway.com online.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

United States Racing Association
USRA Weekly Racing Series
Mason City Motor Speedway, Mason City, Iowa
Sunday, Aug. 14, 2016

HOLLEY USRA STOCK CARS — 1. Phil Holtz, 2. Mitch Hovden, 3. Jesse Brown, 4. Joe Willier, 5. Steve Jackson, 6. Blake Cole, 7. Calvin Lange, 8. Pat Graham, 9. Shawn Wilson, 10. Scotty Anderson, 11. Kevin Donlan, 12. Wyatt Medlin, 13. Brandon Hare, 14. Kevin Opheim, 15. Cody Frerichs, 16. Andy Stinson, 17. Dan Feltus, 18. Josh Zieman

OUT-PACE USRA B-MODS — 1. Dan Hovden, 2. Jared Boumeester, 3. Taylor Ausrud, 4. Alex Zwanziger, 5. Dan Christopher, 6. Nate Chodur, 7. Kyle Germundson, 8. Levi Chipp, 9. Anderw Bleess, 10. Matthew Looft, 11. Dustin Kruse, 12. Josh Appel, 13. Nick Wagner, 14. Brandon Hare, 15. Coby Bangasser, 16. Travis Greenfield, 17. Greg Barnett, 18. Levi Carlberg, 19. Autum Anderson.

USRA HOBBY STOCKS — 1. Scott Dobel, 2. Weston Koop, 3. Andrew Borchardt, 4. Austin Jahnz, 5. Zac Smith, 6. Cory Gansen, 7. Spencer Cole, 8. Tanner Green, 9. Blaine Hanson, 10. Derek Willert, 11. Jim Lokenvitz, 12. Chris Hovden, 13. Tyler Pospisil, 14. Jonathon Trunkhill, 15. Jay Servantez, 16. Chanse Hollatz.

Latest News from the USRA

April 22, 2018
VanderBeek, Josselyn, Gillmore snag Sunday checkers in Rancho Milagro Short Track Shootout
Drivers filled the pits with energy to finish the Rancho Milagro Short Track Shootout at the Southern New Mexico Speedway on Sunday. Jason Josselyn of Tularosa pilotedread more
April 21, 2018
O'Neil, Sheen, Ray round two winners at Rancho Milagro Short Track Shootout
The great race fans of the southwest joined the Southern New Mexico Speedway for round two of the Rancho Milagro Short Track Shootout and making it a vigorous night preseread more
April 21, 2018
Sanders, Donaldson, Noll winners on Walker Dozing Night at I-35 Speedway
The Holley USRA Stock Cars provided another side-by-side battle for the lead Saturday at the I-35 Speedway in Winston, Mo. Jeff Dixon jumped out to the early lead, butread more
April 21, 2018
Ratterree tops Legit Speedway Park lid-lifter
Chris Ratterree of Nampa, Idaho, claimed the Out-Pace USRA B-Mod victory Saturday night as the Legit Speedway Park in West Plains, Mo.,, kicked off the 2018 racing seasonread more
April 21, 2018
Heydenreich prevails as Lucas Oil Speedway opens 2018 season
Opening night at Lucas Oil Speedway saw Robert Heydenreich lesd all the way in capturing the featured Out-Pace USRA B-Mod main event Saturday night. A total of 133 carread more
Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group