Season Champs crowned at Lucas Oil Speedway
Print this page
August 27, 2016  |  by Lyndal Scranton

J.C. Morton won the feature and celebrated the Out-Pace USRA B-Mod track championship. (Chris Bork photo)

WHEATLAND, Mo.—On Public Safety Appreciation Night at the Lucas Oil Speedway Saturday, 125 cars checked into the pits with Springfield's J.C. Morton winning the Out-Pace USRA B-Mod feature and Eric Turner of Hermitage topping the USRA Modifieds.

Morton also sealed the track championship while Jeff Cutshaw did the same in the USRA Modifieds.

Morton clinched the Out-Pace USRA B-Mod season championship in style, making a last-lap pass of defending USRA national champion Andy Bryant to claim his third feature victory of the season.

Bryant, of Fort Scott, Kan., was unable to hang on after the race's fifth caution led to a restart with two laps to go. Morton used the high line to sail past Bryant in turn two on the final lap.

"I kind of set up on a mission tonight to be the only car out here," Morton said. "There at the end there were two grooves, real racy, and I figured Andy would move up to block. He let me race and I was able to get by."

Shawn Strong of Billings, who was seeking his third straight victory, finished third. That was Strong's fifth straight top-three finish to close the season.

Turner led the final 11 laps, surviving several restarts after caution flags over the final half of the USRA Modified feature.

Sedalia's Terry Schultz finished second, harassing Turner over the final few laps, but was unable to get past as Turner hugged the bottom line around the track.

Johnny Fennewald was third and Aaron Marrant fourth.

"Schultz was rolling up there, on the high line) and I wanted to move up there, but I figured I'd better stay down low," Turner said.

Bolivar's Cutshaw was running in the top five when he was involved in an accident with five laps remaining. He wound up 22nd, but had plenty of margin for error atop the standings to repeat his track championship.

The Lucas Oil MLRA returns to the dirt track on Saturday night for the Larry Phillips Memorial presented by G2 Gemini Apparel. The USRA Modifieds will join the program, starting at 7:30. Fans purchasing boat-race tickets that day, or a three-day boat race admission) will receive free admission to the stock car races.

Lucas Oil Speedway is located at Highways 83 and 54 in Wheatland, Missouri. A campground with shower and bathroom facilities is also available. With it's entrance located just outside the pit gate this sprawling scenic camping facility will continue to enhance the racing experience at the Diamond of Dirt Tracks.

Click for more information and detailed directions to the speedway or call the Track Hotline at, 417) 282-5984. In addition, fans can get social with Lucas Oil Speedway by following @LucasSpeedway on Twitter, clicking "Like" at and on

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

United States Racing Association
USRA Weekly Racing Series
Lucas Oil Speedway, Wheatland, Mo.
Saturday, Aug. 27, 2016


Heat #1: 1. Brian Bolin, Fort Scott, Kan.; 2. Andy Bryant, Fort Scott, Kan.; 3. Jeremy Bennett, Ottawa, Kan.; 4. Kaeden Cornell, Willard; 5. Sam Petty, Marshfield; 6. Tyler Brown, Conway; 7. Michael Stake, Phillipsburg; 8. Jim Cihy, Warsaw; 9. Jamey Petty, Niangua; 10. Blake Pierce, Kansas City; 11. Dustin Brown, Conway.

Heat #2: 1. Robert Heydenreich, Bolivar; 2. Galen Hassler, Columbia; 3. Andrew Page, Columbia; 4. Andy Chrisenberry, Chilhowee; 5. Kurt Sledd, Warsaw; 6. Bill Schaar, St. Robert; 7. Casey Thomas, Camdenton; 8. Kenton Allen, Chanute, Kan.; 9. Quentin Taylor, Flemington; 10. Nate Thomas.

Heat #3: 1. Shawn Strong, Billings; 2. Steve Muilenburg, Sparta; 3. Brian Myers, Lebanon; 4. Tyler Brown, Richland; 5. Mike Mansker, Republic; 6. Jared Klick, Auxvasse; 7. Rusty Rickard, Shell Knob; 8. David Harris, Chilhowee; 9. Robert Heydenreich Sr., Jacksonville, Fla.; 10. Alan Ferguson, Adrian.

Heat #4: 1. Ryan Edde, Urbana; 2. J.C. Morton, Springfield; 3. Kenny Shaw, Fort Scott, Kan.; 4. Robb Ewing, Stockton; 5. Donald Jackson, Lebanon; 6. Matthew Hendren, Nevada; 7. Terry Phillips, Nixa; 8. Jared Adams, Butler; 9. Jacob Faibian, Nevada; 10. Dustin Isaacs, Ava.

"B" Feature #1: 1. Kaeden Cornell, Willard; 2. Michael Stake, Phillipsburg; 3. Sam Petty, Marshfield; 4. Tyler Brown, Conway; 5. Rusty Rickard, Shell Knob; 6. Blake Pierce, Kansas City; 7. Jim Cihy, Warsaw; 8. David Harris, Chilhowee; 9. Bill Schaar, St. Robert; 10. Jamey Petty, Niangua; 11. Robert Heydenreich Sr., Jacksonville, Fla.; 12. Alan Ferguson, Adrian; 13. Dustin Brown, Conway.

"B" Feature #2: 1. Jared Klick, Auxvasse; 2. Kurt Sledd, Warsaw; 3. Mike Mansker, Republic; 4. Kenton Allen, Chanute, Kan.; 5. Jacob Faibian, Nevada; 6. Dustin Isaacs, Ava; 7. Nate Thomas, 8. Casey Thomas, Camdenton; 9. Matthew Hendren, Nevada; 10. Terry Phillips, Nixa; 11. Quentin Taylor, Flemington; 12. Jared Adams, Butler.

"A" Feature: 1. J.C. Morton, Springfield; 2. Andy Bryant, Fort Scott, Kan.; 3. Shawn Strong, Billings; 4. Brian Bolin, Fort Scott, Kan.; 5. Galen Hassler, Columbia; 6. Kaeden Cornell, Willard; 7. Ryan Edde, Urbana; 8. Andrew Page, Columbia; 9. Donald Jackson, Lebanon; 10. Michael Stake, Phillipsburg; 11. Sam Petty, Marshfield; 12. Jeremy Bennett, Ottawa, Kan.; 13. Robb Ewing, Stockton; 14. Mike Mansker, Republic; 15. Robert Heydenreich, Bolivar; 16. Andy Chrisenberry, Chilhowee; 17. Kurt Sledd, Warsaw; 18. Kenton Allen, Chanute, Kan.; 19. Jared Klick, Auxvasse; 20. Tyler Brown, Conway; 21. Brian Myers, Lebanon; 22. Steve Muilenburg, Sparta; 23. Kenny Shaw, Fort Scott, Kan.; 24. Tyler Brown, Richland.


Heat #1: 1. Aaron Marrant, Richmond; 2. Jason Pursley, Hermitage; 3. Lucas Dobbs, El Dorado Springs; 4. Mike Striegel, Wheatland; 5. Ronnie Woods, Mexico; 6. Dylan Hoover, Vandalia; 7. Tracy Wolf, Buffalo; 8. David Ralph, Raymore; 9. Bill Baker, Hannibal.

Heat #2: 1. Jon Sheets, Nevada; 2. Eric Turner, Hermitage; 3. Steve Muilenburg, Sparta; 4. Chase Domer, Nevada; 5. Gary Clark, Walker; 6. Justin Moon, Sedalia; 7. Dalton Kirk, Edgerton, Kan.; 8. Evan Hubert, Pittsburg, o), 9. Donnie Fellers, Wheatland.

Heat #3: 1. Johnny Fennewald, Appleton City; 2. Jeff Cutshaw, Bolivar; 3. Terry Schultz, Sedalia; 4. Christopher Moon, Sedalia; 5. Lucas Gibbs, Udall, Kan.; 6. Zane DeVilbiss, Farmington, N.M.; 7. Edde Ingram, Bashor, Kan.; 8. Eddie Whitney, Sturgeon.

"B" Feature: 1. Zane DeVilbiss, Farmington, N.M.; 2. Evan Hubert, Pittsburg; 3. Justin Moon, Sedalia; 4. Edde Ingram, Bashor, Kan.; 5. Tracy Wolf, Buffalo; 6. David Ralph, Raymore; 7. Donnie Fellers, Wheatland; 8. Bill Baker, Hannibal; 9. Dalton Kirk, Edgerton, Kan.; 10. Eddie Whitney, Sturgeon.

"A" Feature: 1. Eric Turner, Hermitage; 2. Terry Schultz, Sedalia; 3. Aaron Marrant, Richmond; 4. Johnny Fennewald, Appleton City; 5. Jon Sheets, Nevada; 6. Mike Striegel, Wheatland; 7. Steve Muilenburg, Sparta; 8. Jason Pursley, Hermitage; 9. Gary Clark, Walker; 10. Zane DeVilbiss, Farmington, N.M.; 11. Chase Domer, Nevada; 12. Lucas Dobbs, El Dorado Springs; 13. Evan Hubert, Pittsburg; 14. Christopher Moon, Sedalia; 15. Bill Baker, Hannibal; 16. Tracy Wolf, Buffalo; 17. David Ralph, Raymore; 18. Ronnie Woods, Mexico; 19. Edde Ingram, Bashor, Kan.; 20. Dylan Hoover, Vandalia; 21. Justin Moon, Sedalia; 22. Jeff Cutshaw, Bolivar; 23. Donnie Fellers, Wheatland; 24. Lucas Gibbs, Udall, Kan.

Contact Us

© Copyright 2019 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group