Regnerus, Van Engen, Fitzpatrick earn Rapid Speedway track championships
Print this page
September 1, 2016  |  by Levi Vander Weide

ROCK RAPIDS, Iowa—With the final event of the season taking place last Friday, Aug. 26, three season champions for 2016 emerged in the USRA Weekly Racing Series at the Rapid Speedway.

USRA Hobby Stocks: Throughout the year, 42 different USRA Hobby Stock drivers took to Rapid Speedway looking for victory. There were six different winners during the 14 weekly shows for the class. The points battle was the closest we had of all our classes, with only three points separating the top two when the dust settled. During the final feature, Dustin Gulbrandson was trailing Dylan Fitzpatrick by only five points going into the race. An early spin sent Gulbrandson to the rear, but after a few late cautions Gulbrandson passed Fitzpatrick and put a couple cars in between the two when the checkered flag waved, but it was not enough. Fitzpatrick picked up the track championship this season with two feature wins along the way.

Dylan Fitzpatrick captured the 2016 USRA Hobby Stock track championship at the Rapid Speedway.

Congratulations to the other winners this year in the USRA Hobby Stocks: Chad Lonneman (5), Blake Arends (3),, Alex Wiertzma (2), Todd Uhl and Gulbrandson.

Out-Pace USRA B-Mods: The Out-Pace USRA B-Mods saw 56 drivers make the trek to Rapid Speedway in 2016, with seven different feature winners along the way. Every week it was a challenge for each driver to just make the A-feature, with only six drivers making the main event every week. Mitch Van Engen made all 14 features, and pulled off 11 top-tens, eight top-fives and two victories. That stat line was good enough to crown him the 2016 Out-Pace USRA B-Mod track champion at Rapid Speedway.

Mitch Van Engen is the 2016 Out-Pace USRA B-Mod track champion at the Rapid Speedway.

Congratulations to the other feature winners this season at Rapid Speedway: points runner-up Cullen De Ruyter (4), Colter Deutsch (3), Thor Anderson (2), Tyler Tesch, Lyndon Johnson and Tyler Johnson.

Holley USRA Stock Cars: A total of 37 Holley USRA Stock Car drivers took to Rapid Speedway in 2016, and there was one driver you couldn’t take your eyes off when he showed up: Elijah Zevenbergen. Zevenbergen started 12 features this season and was victorious in seven. But to win a track championship, you have to show up every week, especially with the level of talent in the Stock Car field. Justin Regnerus had an outstanding year in the class, starting all 14 main events and racking up 11 top-five finishes, along with one victory. Regnerus is your 2016 Holley USRA Stock Car track champion at Rapid speedway. During the final six weeks, the class saw five different drivers make their way to victory lane.

Justin Regnerus claimed the Holley USRA Stock Car track championship for 2016 at the Rapid Speedway.

Congratulations to all the winners this year: Zevenbergen (7), Rich Gregoire (2), Scott Overgaard (2), Roger Verdoorn and Derek Green.

Latest News from the USRA

January 18, 2018
Deadline for USRA banquet tickets is Friday
The United States Racing Association will host its annual awards banquet for drivers competing in this year’s Summit USRA Weekly Racing Series on Saturday, Jan. 27,read more
January 16, 2018
Go-karts fuel Moore's winter need for speed as he gears up for 2018 Lucas Oil Speedway USRA B-Mod season
For one of the Ozarks' rising USRA B-Mod prospects, it's time to start dreaming of spring-time warmth and top-five finishes in the season ahead at Lucas Oil Speedread more
January 15, 2018
I-35 Speedway drivers meeting Jan. 20
In preparation for the start of the 2018 racing season, a driver’s meeting for I-35 Speedway competitors will be held at the Cameron Community Center located at 915read more
January 14, 2018
Strand snares finale win, Scott takes series title at Wild WEst Shootout
Dustin Strand emerged atop Sunday's 25-lap USRA Modified feature as the sixth winner in as many events by taking the finale as Las Cruces, N.M.'s Johnny Scott edgread more
January 14, 2018
I-35 Speedway remembers Bud Wilson
Families that race together stay together. We have all heard this saying, even seen it printed on T-shirts, including the Racin for Rian shirts at the I-35 Speedway. read more
Contact Us

Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group