Hovey collects checkers, Kath claims Out-Pace USRA B-Mod track championship at Chateau Raceway
Print this page
September 2, 2016  |  by Matthew Grage

LANSING, Minn.—The 60th anniversary season of racing came to an end Friday night at the Chateau Raceway in Lansing, Minn., with the crowning of the final three track champions and more than 100 cars filling the pits.

Kylie Kath of Owatonna racked up his fourth track title at Lansing in the Out-Pace USRA B-Mod class.

Kath, who won a Pure Stock championship here in 2009 and claimed the Out-Pace USRA B-Mod title last year as well as in 2012, started last in the field of the 19 cars which took the green for the start of the feature but still managed to come home in fifth.

The night belonged to a driver making his first visit to the track this year: Troy Hovey of Decorah, Iowa.

Hovey drew a front row starting spot for the feature and led flag to flag for the win in a race that was slowed by numerous cautions.

Cole Lonergan of Dexter, who had a pass for the lead wiped out by a caution, came home in second ahead of defending Out-Pace USRA B-Mod national champion Andy Bryant of Fort Scott, Kan., who made his first visit to the track.

Heat winners for the class were Dustin Kruse of Brandon, S.D.; Brian Mahlstedt of Ionia, Iowa; and Andrew Bleess of Chatfield.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

United States Racing Association
USRA Weekly Racing Series
Chateau Raceway, Lansing, Minn.
Friday, Sept. 2, 2016


Feature: 1. Troy Hovey, Decorah, Iowa; 2. Cole Lonergan, Dexter; 3. Andy Bryant, Fort Scott, Kan.; 4. Kyle Anderson, Burr Oak, Iowa; 5. Kylie Kath, Owatonna; 6. Andrew Bleess, Chatfield; 7. Zac Pruner, Sioux Falls, S.D.; 8.  Matt Brooks, Austin; 9. Bill Engler, Hixton, Wis.; 10. Blake Arndt, Brownsdale; 11. Morgan Schrage, Cresco, Iowa; 12. Derek Clement, Spring Valley; 13. Taylor Ausrud, Hayfield; 14. Kadden Kath, Owatonna; 15. Darren Jonsgaard, Fountain City, Wis.; 16. Dustin Kruse, Brandon, S.D.; 17. Raey Hastings IV, Austin; 18. Brian Mahlstedt, Ionia, Iowa; 19. Charles Eckl Jr., New Prague; DNS - Jayden Larson, Mankato; Jett Sorensen, Rochester.

Heat #1: 1. Kruse, 2. Hovey, 3. Larson, 4. Brooks, 5. Ausrud, 6. Pruner, 7. Engler.

Heat #2: 1. Mahlstedt, 2. Anderson, 3. Jonsgaard, 4. Lonergan, 5. Hastings, 6. Eckl, 7. KylieKath.

Heat #3: 1. Bleess, 2. Clement, 3. Kadden Kath, 4. Bryant, 5. Arndt, 6. Sorensen, 7. Schrage.

Latest News from the USRA

January 16, 2018
Go-karts fuel Moore's winter need for speed as he gears up for 2018 Lucas Oil Speedway USRA B-Mod season
For one of the Ozarks' rising USRA B-Mod prospects, it's time to start dreaming of spring-time warmth and top-five finishes in the season ahead at Lucas Oil Speedread more
January 15, 2018
I-35 Speedway drivers meeting Jan. 20
In preparation for the start of the 2018 racing season, a driver’s meeting for I-35 Speedway competitors will be held at the Cameron Community Center located at 915read more
January 14, 2018
Strand snares finale win, Scott takes series title at Wild WEst Shootout
Dustin Strand emerged atop Sunday's 25-lap USRA Modified feature as the sixth winner in as many events by taking the finale as Las Cruces, N.M.'s Johnny Scott edgread more
January 14, 2018
I-35 Speedway remembers Bud Wilson
Families that race together stay together. We have all heard this saying, even seen it printed on T-shirts, including the Racin for Rian shirts at the I-35 Speedway. read more
January 13, 2018
Stormy wins as Scott brothers finish 1-2 at Wild West Shootout
Stormy Scott posted his first win of the 12th Annual Keyser Manufacturing Wild West Shootout presented O’Reilly Auto Parts Saturday by topping the USRA Modified fieread more
Contact Us

Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group