Dycus defeats Dillard in David Pope Memorial
Print this page
September 4, 2016  |  by Don Cook

CRANDALL, Texas—The annual David Pope Memorial was held at the RPM Speedway in Crandall, Texas, Sunday night. A large crowd was on hand and over 150 race cars competed in four different classes.

The featured class was the Texas Outlaw Modified Series (TOMS). A good field of 42 USRA Modifieds were in the pits.

In the 30-lap, $2,250-to-win feature, 24 cars started. Points leader Triston Dycus worked his way to the front and held off the field to take the feature win. Mike Dillard had a good run for second, Hard charger Chase Allen was third, Phillip Houston ended up fourth and Colby Smith was fifth.

Wesley Veal, Trevor Egbert, Max Eddie Thomas, Sean Jones and Clyde Dunn Jr., rounded out the top 10.

Special thanks to our sponsors: Day Motor Sports CAM Chassis Fritzphoto Wyatt Sheet Metal Five1Seven Designs All-Star Graphics K&R Promotions Superior Wheels Tailor Made Counter Tops Norris Box and Southern Oklahoma Speedway.

Special thanks to Joy Pope and the Pope family on working with you for this show in memory of a special man. Look forward to bigger and better things. Special thanks to the Edwards family and all of the RPM Speedway staff from the TOMS to be part of this event.

The next Texas Outlaw Modified Series (TOMS) race is at the 85 Speedway in Ennis, Texas, Sept. 10. For more information, go to www.texasmods.com.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

United States Racing Association
USRA Weekly Racing Series/Texas Outlaw Modified Series
RPM Speedway, Crandall, Texas
Sunday, Sept. 4, 2016


Heat Race #1: (178) Trevor Egbert, (56) Troy Taylor, (711) Michael Daniels, (24) Sean Jones, (47) Jack Sartain, (34n) C.A. Nix, (74) Jason Sartain, (29x) Lance Plant, (7x) Rory Jordan.

Heat Race #2: (7jr) Chad Ewell, (27) Robbie Daniels, (71) Philip Houston, (3) Sam Cox, (29)Scott Haseman, (123) Logan Roberts, (23g) Robbie Gates, (51x) Danny Florence.

Heat Race #3: (12j) Johnny Philpot, (66x) Mike Dillard, (57t) Max Eddie Thomas, (88) Shawn Gammage, (85) Scotty Brown, (78) Billy Jack Brutchen, (8) Skip O’Neal, (9r) Kevin Rutherford.

Heat Race #4: (01) Colby Smith, (14t) Triston Dycus, (49) Chad Howell, (2) Billy Brierton, (61)Michael Ables, (3c) Charlie Smith, (14x) Josh Landers, (49h)Shelby Holderfield.

Heat Race #5: (88xxx) Clyde Dunn Jr, (11x) Wesley Veal, (149) Chase Allen, (28b) Wendall Bolden, (010) Jeremy Willis, (121) Bobby Ruffin, (174) Jason Hammond, (81c) Marcus Baxter. Milton Clark Performance Warehouse.

B-Main #1: (149) Chase Allen, (24) Sean Jones, (57t) Max Eddie Thomas, (174) Jason Hammond, (47) Jack Sartain, (85) Scotty Brown, (88) Shawn Gammage, (78) Billy Jack Brutchen, (14x) Josh Landers, (29)Scott Haseman, (51x) Danny Florence, (7x) Rory Jordan, (49h)Shelby Holderfield, (74) Jason Sartain.

B-Main #2: (49) Chad Howell, (28b) Wendall Bolden, (61)Michael Ables, (2) Billy Brierton, (3) Sam Cox, (3c) Charlie Smith, (121) Bobby Ruffin, (8) Skip O’Neal, (34n) C.A. Nix, (9r) Kevin Rutherford, (29x) Lance Plant, (81c) Marcus Baxter, (23g) Robbie Gates, (010) Jeremy Willis.

Utility Trailer Dash For Cash: (7jr) Chad Ewell, (178) Trevor Egbert, (01) Colby Smith, (88xxx) Clyde Dunn Jr, (56) Troy Taylor, (27) Robbie Daniels, (14t) Triston Dycus, (12j) Johnny Philpot, (711) Michael Daniels.

Day Motorsports A-Main: (14t) Triston Dycus, (66x) Mike Dillard, (149) Chase Allen, (71) Philip Houston, (01) Colby Smith, (11x) Wesley Veal, (178) Trevor Egbert, (57t) Max Eddie Thomas, (24) Sean Jones, (88xxx) Clyde Dunn Jr, (8) Skip O’Neal, (49) Chad Howell, (27) Robbie Daniels, (7jr) Chad Ewell, (3) Sam Cox, (174) Jason Hammond, (61)Michael Ables, (56) Troy Taylor, (12j) Johnny Philpot, (123) Logan Roberts, (711) Michael Daniels, (28b) Wendall Bolden, (49h)Shelby Holderfield, (2) Billy Brierton.

Lap Leaders: Ewell 1-2, Colby Smith 3, Ewell 4-13, Dycus 14-30.
Smiley’s/Superior Hard Charger: Allen.
Milton Clark Performance Warehouse: Cox.
Day Motor Sports Tire Winner: Ables.
Frtizphoto Pole: Ewell.
Troy Taylor Bonus Money: Roberts.

Latest News from the USRA

April 25, 2018
Hamilton County Speedway announces May 5 grand opening, kids night
Officials at the Hamilton County Speedway in Webster City, Iowa, have announced that opening night for the 2018 racing season will happen Saturday, May 5, with an open prread more
April 24, 2018
Seeburg Mufflers Night brings in week two of Lakeside Speedway season
Last week, a new season at Lakeside Speedway began with Lance Town (USRA Modifieds), Brett Heeter (Holley USRA Stock Cars) and Brad Smith (Out-Pace USRA B-Mods) forever eread more
April 24, 2018
Five features for $5 on KY3 Night this Saturday at Lucas Oil Speedway
With a weather forecast of sunshine and a high of 70 degrees, all systems are go for a big Saturday of racing at Lucas Oil Speedway as the Big Adventure RV Weekly Racing read more
April 24, 2018
I-35 Speedway to host Asphalt Racers Reunion
I-35 Speedway honors our history in and around the Kansas City racing community. Part of our local racing history involved a decade plus of asphalt racing at I-70 and Lakread more
April 22, 2018
VanderBeek, Josselyn, Gillmore snag Sunday checkers in Rancho Milagro Short Track Shootout
Drivers filled the pits with energy to finish the Rancho Milagro Short Track Shootout at the Southern New Mexico Speedway on Sunday. Jason Josselyn of Tularosa pilotedread more
Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group