Moody caps 2016 Central Missouri Speedway season with $3,000 victory
Print this page
September 4, 2016  |  by Sam Stoecklin

Jim Moody won the USRA Modified feature.

WARRENSBURG, Mo.—The 2016 race season at Central Missouri Speedway officially came to a close Sunday evening for night two of the annual Labor Day special event weekend. Seventy-five drivers signed in for competition among USRA Modifieds, ULMA Late Models, Out-Pace USRA B-Mods and the Allstar Midget Series.

The evening was highlighted by a $3,000-to-win special event for USRA Modifieds, which saw Jim Moody of Odessa claim the victory while Russ Niehoff claimed the Out-Pace USRA B-Mod main event by mere inches.

Out-Pace USRA B-Mod heat race winners included Rex Harris ahead of Niehoff and Doug Wetzel and former track champion Brad Smith over Chad Staus and Kris Jackson. The main event was a classic right to the very finish as Niehoff and Dakota Foster fought hard for the win over the last few laps. The main event was one of the best of the night with no less than five cars gunning for the win. Through several series of caution flags Niehoff repelled all challengers until the final moments when 16th-starting Foster drove to the low side of Niehoff on the competitive track surface as Niehoff held strong up high. As the pair came to the finish, it was unclear who had won but Niehoff prevailed in the end for his second triumph of the season. Foster ran a strong second with Luke Nieman in third, Staus fourth, Jackson fifth and Smith in sixth.

Russ Niehoff won the Out-Pace USRA B-Mod feature.

The final event of the night was the USRA Modified special 35-lap main event, paying $3,000 to the winner. Ryan Middaugh, Darron Fuqua and Dalton Kirk finished 1-2-3 in the opening heat race. Terry Schultz returned to CMS with a win in heat two over previous night main event winner Chad Lyle and Mickey Burrell, also returning to CMS after a long absence. Moody crossed the finish line first in heat three over Dean Wille and Johnny Fennewald.

Moody flexed his muscle at the start edging Schultz to lead lap one with Fuqua and Middaugh in hot pursuit. Johnny Fennewald, who started in eighth began moving forward in the mid portion of the race as he broke into the top five. Lyle, Middaugh, Kirk and Jon Sheets also fought for top ten runs until Sheets spun from contention. With just two quick slowdowns for a pair of cautions, the race’s final green-flag run featured a torrid battle as Wille, Schultz and Fennewald searched for a way to close in on Moody in heavy lapped traffic.

Moody never flinched and even threaded the needle going three-wide with lapped cars to maintain his lead. In the end, Moody’s decision to race full steam ahead paid off as he eventually scored his fifth CMS victory of the season and third in the last four USRA Modified a-mains at CMS. The win was worth $3,000 giving him two consecutive years of special-event wins as he claimed the $5,000-to-win main event last year. Schultz looked strong in second in front of an impressive run by Warrensburg driver Dean Wille in third. Fennewald advanced from eighth to fourth with Lyle, Fuqua, Kevin Blackburn, Dalton Kirk, Middaugh and Shad Badder rounded out the top ten.

The 2017 race season preview is now available on the track’s website at On the main page, look for the tab titled “Tentative 2017 CMS Race Schedule!” Tickets are now on sale for the 2016 championship banquet, which once again will be held in partnership and conjunction with Lakeside Speedway. The event takes place at the Blue Springs Elks Lodge on Saturday, November 5th. For ticketing and event information, call Susan Walls at 816-229-1338. No calls after 8 p.m. please.

Find CMS on Twitter @CMSgoing_green, keep up with CMS news and information by pointing your browser to, or join our email group at Find us on YouTube at CMS Going Green. Like us on Facebook at

CMS wishes to thank its 2016 primary sponsors for their support this season! Cliff Harris Warrensburg Ford, Budweiser, KMZU 100.7 FM, Sunoco Race Fuels, KMMO FM 102.9, Midwest Coatings, Better Country KIX 105.7, KSDL, and KSIS FM, Comfort Inn Warrensburg Station, KRLI FM 103.9 & KAOL 101.3 FM The Grenade, Pepsi, 610 Sports Radio Kansas City, Heartland Waste, and 'Today's New Hit Country' 95.3 FM KDKD. This list of 2016 outstanding business partners includes: Victory Trophies & Plaques, Joslins Jewelry, Batliner Recycling, DQ Grill & Chill of Warrensburg, Economy Lumber, Kleinschmidt's Western Store, OK Tire Stores, Eickleberry Concrete & Construction, LJS Graphics, Finish Line Performance, Wolf Tire Service, JA Performance and Outdoor Services,, and Seeburg Mufflers.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

United States Racing Association
USRA Weekly Racing Series
Central Missouri Speedway, Warrensburg, Mo.
Sunday, Sept. 4, 2016

1. (2) 10R Russell Niehoff, Lockwood
2. (16) 5X Dakota Foster, Gardner, Kan.
3. (8) 181 Lucas Nieman, Nortonville, Kan.
4. (4) C3 Chad Staus, Otterville
5. (5) 65 Kris Jackson, Lebanon
6. (3) 99 Brad Smith, Belton
7. (6) B4 Doug Wetzel, Leeton
8. (10) 7M Heath Murry, Tongananoxie, Kan.
9. (11) 13K Chris Kitch, Belton
10. (12) 72 Bradley Moore, Urich
11. (14) 44D Dean Truelove, Blue Springs
12. (1) 30 Rex Harris, Urbana
13. (15) 50JR Leroy Morrison, Raymore
14. (7) 03 Chris Brockway, Warrensburg
15. (9) 17J Jake Richards, Kansas City, Kan.
16. (13) 53 Monty Mitchell, Windsor
17. (17) 53XX Rusty George, Blairstown

1. (2) 00M Jim Moody, Odessa
2. (1) 90 Terry Schultz, Sedalia
3. (6) 68 Dean Wille, Warrensburg
4. (8) 21F Johnny Fennewald, Appleton City
5. (5) 33 Chad Lyle, Oak Grove
6. (4) 87 Darron Fuqua, Mayetta, Kan.
7. (11) 26K Kevin Blackburn, Fulton
8. (9) 30 Dalton Kirk, Edgerton, Kan.
9. (3) 21 Ryan Middaugh, Fulton
10. (17) 73B Shad Badder, Bates City
11. (18) 227 Chase Domer, Neveda
12. (14) 7D7 Kyle Covert, Topeka, Kan.
13. (19) 92 Danny Scrogham, Peculiar
14. (10) 89 Jon Sheets, Nevada
15. (21) 5K Colson Kirk, Urbana
16. (16) 1K Tim Karrick, Basehor, Kan.
17. (23) 8X Chad Thomsen, Louisburg, Kan.
18. (22) 9D Dwight Niehoff, Neosho
19. (7) 73 Mickey Burrell, Fairgrove
20. (13) 12V Nathan Vaughn, Sedalia
21. (24) 66T Tyler Schmidt, Easton, Kan.
22. (12) 97K Brian Johnson, Independence
23. (15) 27T Robbie Test Jr., Jefferson City
24. (20) 24JR James Dean Eaton, Bates City

Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group