Hassler victorious at Missouri State Fair Speedway
Print this page
September 17, 2016  |  by Sam Stoecklin

SEDALIA, Mo.—The sixth of seven planned events at Missouri State Fair for the 2016 race took place over the weekend with a first-time winner adding his name to the storied list of winners at the ‘Historic Half Mile’ on Champion Oil Night.

Out-Pace USRA B-Mods took part in the 2016 Missouri State Fair Speedway season for the first time with 12 drivers competing in two heat races and a 12-lap main event.

Young Jace Gay of Farber held off a crowd-pleasing charge by Galen Hassler of Columbia, who advanced from sixth to second at the finish in the first heat race.

Buddy Thompson of Oak Grove reported that he had not raced at the track since 2012, but it didn’t look like he missed a beat as he drove to the win from fourth on the grid in heat two.

Thompson and Gay headlined row one when Out-Pace USRA B-Mods returned for the main event to close out the night.

At the start, both Gay and third-starting Hassler passed Thompson but at the end of lap one, Hassler emerged as the man to beat as he pulled away from his closest pursuers.

By lap four, Muilenburg sat in the runner-up position with Gay and Thompson also racing insider the top five. Andrew Page fought his way into the top five but mechanical gremlins struck on lap eight as he was forced to retire from the race.

On this night, Hassler had the field covered and dominated the event for his first-ever appearance in Missouri State Fair Speedway victory lane.

Muilenburg came away with a solid runner-up finish with Thompson finishing out the top three.

Gay finished fourth with Adam hall, Chris Brockway, Jacob Groteweil, Blake Davidson, Cody Brill and Page completed the top 10.

Find and like Missouri State Fair Speedway on Facebook at www.facebook.com/missouristatefairspeedway.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

United States Racing Association
USRA Weekly Racing Series
Missouri State Fair Speedway, Sedalia, Mo.
Saturday, Sept. 17, 2016

1. (3) 25 Galen Hassler, Columbia
2. (4) 39 Stephen Muilenburg, Sparta
3. (1) 5 Buddy Thompson, Oak Grove
4. (2) 29 Jace Gay, Farber
5. (6) 74 Adam Hall, Columbia
6. (7) 03b Chris Bockway, Warrensburg
7. (9) 96 Jacob Groteweil, Cliffton Hills
8. (8) B Blake Davidson, Mokane
9. (10) 96b Cody Brill, Higginsville
10. (12) 24a Andrew Page, Columbia
11. (5) B4 Doug Wetzel, Leeton
12. (11) 33 Tyler Imhoff, Boonville

Latest News from the USRA

April 24, 2018
Seeburg Mufflers Night brings in week two of Lakeside Speedway season
Last week, a new season at Lakeside Speedway began with Lance Town (USRA Modifieds), Brett Heeter (Holley USRA Stock Cars) and Brad Smith (Out-Pace USRA B-Mods) forever eread more
April 24, 2018
Five features for $5 on KY3 Night this Saturday at Lucas Oil Speedway
With a weather forecast of sunshine and a high of 70 degrees, all systems are go for a big Saturday of racing at Lucas Oil Speedway as the Big Adventure RV Weekly Racing read more
April 24, 2018
I-35 Speedway to host Asphalt Racers Reunion
I-35 Speedway honors our history in and around the Kansas City racing community. Part of our local racing history involved a decade plus of asphalt racing at I-70 and Lakread more
April 22, 2018
VanderBeek, Josselyn, Gillmore snag Sunday checkers in Rancho Milagro Short Track Shootout
Drivers filled the pits with energy to finish the Rancho Milagro Short Track Shootout at the Southern New Mexico Speedway on Sunday. Jason Josselyn of Tularosa pilotedread more
April 21, 2018
O'Neil, Sheen, Ray round two winners at Rancho Milagro Short Track Shootout
The great race fans of the southwest joined the Southern New Mexico Speedway for round two of the Rancho Milagro Short Track Shootout and making it a vigorous night preseread more
Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group