Hicks, Marrant, Estes, Noll nab Tompkins Industries Night wins at I-35 Speedway
Print this page
October 1, 2016  |  by Rick Staley

WINSTON, Mo.—Kicking off the great night of racing action at the I-35 Speedway Saturday was the USRA Modified make-up feature from Sept. 24 as we started with five laps in the books. As the green flag would be waved to the field heat race winner Zach Sanders would take the lead until a slip on track would take him from the front allowing Derrick Hicks to take over the top spot. Hicks would be challenged every step of the way by other heat raced winner Dennis Elliott as the two would go side by side for the lead. As the laps wound down Hicks would pull away and claim the victory on this night of racing action. Elliott would place a close second with Aaron Marrant racing through the field to place third. Jessy Willard would impress with a solid fourth on the night with Austin Johnson fifth as the checkers fell.

Derrick Hicks won the USRA Modified make-up feature.

Out-Pace USRA B-Mods would see great racing action from start to finish throughout the field of competitors. Heat race winners Doug Keller and Steve Starmer would set the pace early racing side by side until the yellow would fall. As the racing resumed Keller would start out front with Randy Ainsworth challenging for the top spot. As the race progressed Ed Noll would find the high side to his liking and pass both Ainsworth and Keller moving on to victory lane. Noll would claim his second feature win of the 2016 racing season at I-35 Speedway. Second place would go to Doug Keller with Ainsworth a solid third on the night. Fourth and fifth would see a battle of the Boller Motorsports cars as Bud Wilson would edge Chris Wright to place fourth with Wright fifth.

Ed Noll won the Out-Pace USRA B-Mod feature.

Holley USRA Stock Cars would again see Jason Estes win both heat race and feature parking in McCarthy Auto Group Winners Circle. Estes would be challenged late by second place finisher Alvie Christofferson and Jon Boller who would place third on the night. Fourth place would go to Mich Ross with Billie Hoover rounding out the nights top five.

Jason Estes won the Holley USRA Stock Car feature.

USRA Modifieds would enter the track with a loaded field of competitors to do battle. Heat race winner Marrant would take the lead and never look back claiming his third feature win at I-35 Speedway this 2016 racing season. Marrant would be challenged by Jason Cummins who would impress with a second place finish in his first appearance of the year at I-35 Speedway. Other heat race winner Josh Angst would out pace heat race winner Willard as they would finish third and fourth respectively. Fifth place would go to Hicks as he would again notch a solid top five.

Aaron Marrant won the USRA Modified feature.

I-35 Speedway would like to thank all our drivers and fans for a great night of racing and family fun. See everyone next Saturday night for the Show Me Spectacular!!!!

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

United States Racing Association
USRA Weekly Racing Series
I-35 Speedway, Winston, Mo.
Saturday, Oct. 1, 2016


Make-Up Feature (from Sept. 24):
1. 78 Derrick Hicks
2. 29 Dennis Elliott (heat winner)
3. 70 Aaron Marrant
4. 40J Jessy Willard
5. 98 Austin Johnson
6. 0 Richard Layne
7. 175 Jason park
8. 2H John Hanson
9. 97 Houston Johnson
10. 15 Ed Noll
11. 69 Zach Sanders (heat winner)
12. 11 Darren Shaw
13. 96P Marty Powell

1. 70 Aaron Marrant (heat winner)
2. 71 Jason Cummins
3. 99A Josh Angst (heat winner)
4. 40 Jessy Willard (heat winner)
5. 78 Derrick Hicks
6. 29 Dennis Elliott
7. 69 Zach Sanders
8. 98 Austin Johnson
9. 97 Houston Johnson
10. 45 Levi Neilson
11. 175 Jason Park
12. 0 Richard Layne
13. 22 Nick Shenberger
14. 65 Jon Binning
15. 71T Tony Layne
16. 55D Michael Dotson
17. 1W Spencer Wilson
18. 2H John Hanson
19. 96P Billie Hoover
20. 15 Ed Noll
21. 17$ Shane Lawson


1. 15 Ed Noll
2. 7 Doug Keller (heat winner)
3. 57 Randy Ainsworth
4. 20X Bud Wilson
5. 66X Chris Wright
6. 11S Steve Starmer (heat winner)
7. 10 Johnny McGinnis
8. 07 Daniel Harris
9. 22B Mitch Booher
10. 9M Derrick Mahoney
11. 47X Conner Masoner
12. 27A Andrew Sheetz
13. 47 Jim Masoner Jr.
14. 32P Jeremy Pittsenbarger
15. 2 Matt Marrant


1. 997 Jason Estes (heat winner)
2. 22X Alvie Christofferson
3. 20X John Boller Jr.
4. 14X Mich Ross
5. 21H Billie Hoover
6. 88 Jeff Dixon

Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group