Yeager tops BST Modified Series at Rock Springs
Print this page
July 1, 2006  |  by Chris Martinez

ROCK SPRINGS, Wyo. -- The BST Modified Series made its 2006 return to Sweetwater Speedway in Rock Springs Wyoming on July, 1st 2006. Aside from Great Racing the series also brought with them 900 copies of Speedway Illustrated to give out to the very supportive fans in Rock Springs. It was great to see the traveling Colorado driver’s battle wheel to wheel with some of the best Wyoming has to offer, including drivers that call Atomic Speedway in Blackfoot Idaho their home track.

The Sweetwater Speedway staff and crew prepared a nice heavy track that made for great 3 and 4 wide action all night long.

Boulder Colorado’s Don Shepherd was the winner of heat race #1 with Larry Jackson and Danny Concelman rounding out the top 3. Heat race #2 was won by George Ashby in his new #185. Eddie Edwards and Phil Canaday rounded out the top 3. Heat race #3 was won by the man from Green River, Justen Yeager. Rounding out the top 3 were Roy Speilman and Jeff Hunter.

The top 2 cars from each heat race were then lined up to battle in a pole dash with Eddie Edwards starting on the back row and winning the coveted feature event pole position.

After some great racing from the local Sweetwater Speedway divisions the BST Modified Series took to the track with their must see “Salute to America” 4 wide parade laps.

On the drop of the green you could tell this was going to be a battle like no other but was quickly stopped by the red flag as the #83 of Kevin Wright rolled in turn 1 with Mike Keiter, Don Shepherd and Richard Mueller all in the incident.

On the 2 wide restart it looked like Eddie Edwards was on his way to back to back Wyoming wins but Justen Yeager quickly showed why he is quickly becoming one of the winningest drivers in Sweetwater Speedway recent history.

Also in the mix at the start were George Ashby and Roy Speilman but the two began to fade as Cliff Lawson and Danny Concelman began to turn up the heat on the leaders.

Trailer Source/RPM Motorsports Young Gun Matt Brack started to make a charge to the front with Series points leader Jeff Hunter, Phil Canaday, Don Shepherd, Casey Delp and Randy Dolberg all on his rear deck but the race came to another halt as Phil Canaday made contact with the backstretch wall and barrel rolled down the rear chute coming to a rest on the roof.

What was a very scary moment turned into a round of cheers as Phil quickly emerged from his car to send a wave to the crowd before examining his destroyed Jack’s Body and Paint #97c.

With the track back in shape, the wall inspected and the cars lined up it was time to settle this 25 lap BST feature.

The last five laps had the crowd on its feet as Cliff Lawson began to use the top of the track to pass for the lead but Justen Yeager would have none of it taking the win leaving Lawson and Edwards to come across the line in a photo finish to take the last two spots in the winners circle.

Yeagers Auto Body of Green River Wyoming was the sponsor of the 1st, 2nd and 3rd place trophies.

Danny Concelman was a very close 4th and Roy Speilman rounded out the top 5.

Night #2 of the Buckeye Welding Supply Border Wars was a great success and it was an honor to have the opportunity to highlight Speedway Illustrated with the fans and drivers of Rock Springs Wyoming.


Heat #1:

96 (1) Don Shepherd

61 (2) Larry Jackson

40 (5) Danny Concelman

8 (4) Randy Dolberg

37 (5) Richard Mueller

46 (6) Joe Mullins

54 (9) Tommy Manning

9 (7) Cliff Lawson

15w (8) Will Brack

Heat #2:

185 (2) George Ashby

98 (7) Eddie Edwards

97c (6) Phil Canaday

02 (9) Jeff Cooper

83 (8) Kevin Wright

2w (4) Casey Delp

16mb (1) Matt Brack

71 (5) Paul Peterson

18 (3) Ryan Moser

Heat #3:

33 (3) Justen Yeager

183 (8) Roy Speilman

21h (7) Jeff Hunter

25 (5) Mike Keiter

2 (1) Brian Welch

44 (2) Maedgen Bacum

49 (6) Tim Christansen

15 (4) Shawn Persinger

Buckeye Welding Supply Main Event:

#33 Justen Yeager Green River WY. (3)

#98 Eddie Edwards Wheatridge CO. (1)

#9 Cliff Lawson Arvada CO. (22)

#40 Danny Concelman Ft. Lupton CO. (7)

#183 Roy Speilman Mills WY. (2)

#185 George Ashby Rawlins WY. (4)

#16mb Matt Brack Mead CO. (20)

#96 Don Shepherd Boulder CO. (5)

#21h Jeff Hunter Northglenn CO. (6)

#2w Casey Delp Rock Springs WY. (17)

#8 Randy Dolberg Mills WY. (15)

#61 Larry Jackson Northglenn CO. (10)

#71 Paul Peterson Rock Springs WY. (23)

#49 Tim Christansen Rock Springs WY. (21)

#15 Shawn Persinger Rock Springs WY. (24)

#2 Brian Welch Casper WY. (15)

#18 Ryan Moser Englewood CO. (26)

#97c Phil Canaday Rawlins WY (8) DNF

#15w Will Brack Mead CO. (25) DNF

#46 Joe Mullins Erie CO. (16) DNF

#02 Jeff Cooper Riverton WY. (9) DNF

#37 Richard Mueller Jackson’s Hole WY. (14) DNF

#54 Tommy Manning Gillette WY. (19) DNF

#44 Maedgen Bacum Rock Springs WY. (18) DNF

#25 Mike Keiter Golden CO. (11) DNF

#83 Kevin Wright Casper WY. (12) DNF

For more information about the BST Modified Series please visit

Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group