Jones owns USRA Modified field at Southern New Mexico Speedway
Print this page
May 6, 2017  |  by Ruben Mireles

Bumper Jones won the USRA Modified feature.

What seemed like almost a rain-out in night two of the 2017 Summit Racing USRA Weekly Racing Series, fans and race cars piled into the Southern New Mexico Speedway on Saturday.

The Holley USRA Stock Cars kept the energy rolling with 12 entries checked in, calling for a 15-lap main event.

Jed Smith led lap one with Nathan Smith and Bobby Canduso clashing in turn one.

On the restart, Jaime Torres stole the show. Jed Smith faded as Zach McCoy and Pete Vargas battled hard for second.

A caution era took place between laps six and ten, but Torres didn't get phased by it as he ran away to win.

Jaime Torres won the Holley USRA Stock Car feature.

The USRA Modified feature race was owned by Bumper Jones. Twenty-eight cars battled in the main event, but with only four cautions Jones never looked back.

Jake Gallardo blew an engine on lap five and Royal Jones worked his way to second until the last caution flew on lap 11 when Tom Georges worked his way to second after starting outside row four.

On lap 17, Carlos Ahumada Jr. showed his face in the top five from the 20th starting position, but at the end Bumper Jones climbed out of his race car with a huge smile as he picked up the main event win.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

United States Racing Association
Summit Racing USRA Weekly Racing Series
Southern New Mexico Speedway, Las Cruces, N.M.
Saturday, May 6, 2017


1. 44JT Jaime Torres, Las Cruces, N.M.
2. 777 Pete Vargas, Las Cruces, N.M.
3. 46 Zach McCoy, Las Cruces, N.M.
4. 74 Jason Josselyn, Alamogordo, N.M.
5. 11 Cliff Evrage, Las Cruces, N.M.
6. 88 Nathan Smith, Anthony, N.M.
7. 52 Bobby Candusso, Las Cruces, N.M.
8. 71 Jed Smith, Anthony, N.M.
9. 02 Rick Skillin, Las Cruces, N.M.
10. 81 Tommy Brumley, Las Cruces, N.M.
11. 3 Josh Reynolds, Alamogordo, N.M.
DNS - 22 Jack Skillin, Las Cruces, N.M.


1. 111 Bumper Jones, Mesilla Park, N.M.
2. 28 Tom Georges, El Paso, Texas
3. 101 Butch Reid Jr., Carlsbad, N.M.
4. 65X Carlos Ahumada Jr., Las Cruces, N.M.
5. 131 Royal Jones, Las Cruces, N.M.
6. 44 Christy Barnett, El Paso, Texas
7. M16 Rick Gallardo, Las Cruces, N.M.
8. 9 Jimmy Ray, Las Cruces, N.M.
9. 3T Todd Harper, Las Cruces, N.M.
10. 49 Duane Murphy, El Paso, Texas
11. 32 Max Sader, Springerville, Ariz.
12. 07 Donavon Flores, Las Cruces, N.M.
13. 96 Dusty Riggs, Hatch, N.M.
14. 85 Austin Adams, El Paso, Texas
15. 65 Dustin Smith, Las Cruces, N.M.
16. 23 Kevin Clark, El Paso, Texas
17. 10 Roger Owens, El Paso, Texas
18. 82 Sherman Barnett, El Paso, Texas
19. 18JR Ricardo Olague Jr., El Paso, Texas
20. 19 Donavon Ooley, El Paso, Texas
21. 121 Tim Tharp, Las Cruces, N.M.
22. 77 Jerry Slawson, El Paso, Texas
23. G3 Jake Gallardo, Las Cruces, N.M.
24. G17 Fito Gallardo, Las Cruces, N.M.
25. 6 Joe Lackey, Las Cruces, N.M.
26. 18 Henry Valdez, Las Cruces, N.M.
27. 99 Terry Tipton, Duncan, Ariz.
28. 37 Fred Gibson

Latest News from the USRA

May 28, 2017
Culp wins USRA Modified feature at Lucas Oil Speedway
In a highly competitive four-car battle for the win, Timmy Culp of Batesville, Ark., held on to capture the $1,200-to-win Pitts Homes USRA Modified feature Sunday at the read more
May 28, 2017
Hovden brothers share Iron Man Challenge spotlight in Decorah
Brothers Mitch and Dan Hovden protected their home turf in Decorah, Iowa, on Sunday as they topped the Iron Man Challenge main events at the Upper Iowa Speedway during thread more
May 27, 2017
Late-race heroics vault Brands, DeRuyter, Strandberg to Nobles county Speedway wins
Cullen DeRuyter used the final corners of the Out-Pace USRA B-Mod feature to sneak an opening night victory at Nobles County Speedway on Saturday. DeRuyter sped to the boread more
May 27, 2017
Nix measures up at Southern Oklahoma
Thirty-nine USRA Modifieds came out with weather threatening to qualify for the Day Motor Sports main event Saturday at the Southern Oklahoma Speedway. Shane Hartline read more
May 27, 2017
Jones, Kanz collect Iron Man Challenge checkers at Deer Creek Speedway
It worked for Michael Jordan, and having the number 23 on their door worked for Matt Jones and Erik Kanz as they claimed the Iron Man Challenge feature wins Saturday nighread more
Contact Us

Copyright 2017 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group