Central Missouri Speedway Mother’s Day Weekend victories go to Blackburn, Ebert
Print this page
May 13, 2017  |  by Sam Stoecklin

Last year's track champion, Kevin Blackburn of Fulton, made it two feature wins in a row Saturday in USRA Modified competition at the Central Missouri Speedway.

Mother’s Day weekend racing could not have been better at Central Missouri Speedway on Saturday with 79 drivers on hand for an 18-race program among USRA Modifieds, Out-Pace USRA B-Mods, Street Stocks, Midwest Mod-Lites and Pure Stocks, which took just over two hours and 35 minutes to complete.

Twenty-one Out-Pace USRA B-Mods took to the track for three highly competitive heat races as Jacob Ebert didn’t take long to establish himself as a front-runner for the night with a win in the opening race. Long-distance traveler Russ Niehoff claimed heat number two while Warrensburg driver Dean Wille saw the checkers in heat three.

Michael Bixby and Cody Frazon tallied the most passing points for the night and started the 20-lap main event on row one over Niehoff and Ebert. After a brief series of early race cautions, Frazon showed the way early over Bixby and Ebert. The top five runners were locked into a furious battle after lap three yellow as two-time feature winner Jake Richards made his way to the top five.

Ebert, who pressured for the lead the entire race distance, found a way in front of Frazon just before a lap-eight restart made the field even tighter. When the green flag flew again Ebert led Frazon, Niehoff, Richards and Wille and pulled away leaving the rest of the drivers to battle for second.

One final caution flew on lap 14 and with Ebert out front it was now Richards who came to life gaining third over Niehoff. In the end, Ebert claimed his second main event of the season over a strong run by Frazon in second. Richards settled for third with Niehoff and Wille rounding out the top five.

Jacob Ebert won his second Out-Pace USRA B-Mod feature of the year.

Seventeen USRA Modifieds took to the track for three heat races prior to the night’s main event with Tim Karrick, Kevin Blackburn and Dean Wille claiming the victories. Blackburn started on the pole alongside Terry Schultz who advanced forward in his heat race to earn the outside pole position. The two former track champions brought the field to the initial green flag with Blackburn quickly setting the pace over Schultz, Karrick and Wille in tow.

A quick spin by Wille inside the top five led to an early race caution as the field miraculously maneuvered their way around Wille with no one receiving damage and all cars able to continuing for the restart. Blackburn again resumed his furious pace at the helm ahead of Schultz, Karrick, Kerry Davis and a forward-moving Jim Moody. Inside the top five, Davis advanced forward to take second leaving Schultz, Karrick, and Moody to battle for third position.

A long green-flag race period set in as Blackburn still had no challengers with Davis also secure in the second spot. Meanwhile, Jim Moody looked to be on his way to a second-consecutive fourth place finish but in the closing laps he moved to the high side and came to life, first finding a way around Karrick and then Schultz to move into third.

In the closing laps, Moody continued his charge from his fourth-row starting spot and found his way to second but he ran out of time as Blackburn sailed on to his second win in as many weeks at CMS to claim the win. Blackburn also won on Friday night at Callaway Raceway in Fulton. Moody again turned in another strong performance in second. Davis recorded his best CMS finish in several years in the Christina Smith-owned number 16s as he finished third. Schultz and Gunner Martin finished out the top five with Karrick, Dalton Kirk, Chad Lyle, Dwight Niehoff and Tyler Shaw completing the top ten.

REMINDER: Drivers and fans need to be alert and take alternate routes to CMS as bridge construction on Hwy. 13 is closed just north of Warrensburg at the bridge. Alternate routes to CMS from the west include Hwy. 50 past Warrensburg to the Hwy. 13 north bypass or I-70 from the Higginsville exit then 12 miles south to the track. From the south on Hwy. 13 simply stay on the bypass around Warrensburg, the track is just north of the final roundabout. From the east, simply exit on the Hwy. 13 bypass north to the track. From the Hwy. 50 bypass, the track is five miles north.

Weekly racing continues next Saturday evening at CMS with Pit Gates opening at 4:30, grandstands at 5, driver pill draw closes at 6:15, late drivers will not be awarded passing points. The pit meeting takes place at 6:30, hot laps at 7:00 and racing begins at 7:30. General admission adults $12, Military w/I.D. and Seniors 65 to 74 $10, kids ages six to twelve $5, five years and under are free, seniors 75 and older are also free. Seniors 80 and older may receive free pit admission courtesy of promoter Earl Walls, who recently celebrated his own 80th birthday! All pit passes $30.

Keep up with CMS on Twitter @CMSgoing_green. Like us on Facebook at www.facebook.com/pages/Central-Missouri-Speedway. Join our email group by emailing info@centralmissourispeedway.net. Find CMS on YouTube at CMS Going Green! Keep up with CMS news and information by pointing your browser to www.centralmissourispeedway.net. The Website includes standings, results, schedule, news, and much more!

CMS wishes to thank its 2017 primary sponsors for their support including Cliff Harris Warrensburg Ford, Budweiser, KMZU 100.7 FM, Sunoco Race Fuels, Midwest Coatings, Better Country KIX 105.7, KSDL, and KSIS FM, Comfort Inn Warrensburg Station, KRLI FM 103.9 & KAOL 101.3 FM The Grenade, Pepsi, 610 Sports Radio Kansas City, College Town Apartments of Warrensburg, and Heartland Waste.

The list of 2017 business partners includes: Batliner Recycling, Kleinschmidt’s Western Store, OK Wheel Alignment, OK Tire Stores, Blue Springs Truck Line Inc., Brooks Auto LLC, Rick Darling Racing Engines/Head Porting, KMMO Radio, Sabre Solar LLC, KDKD Radio, LJS Graphics, Wilderness Ridge Tent & Canvas, DQ Grill & Chill of Warrensburg, Zaxby’s, Miller Lite, Victory Trophies & Plaques, Joslins Jewelry, Eickleberry Concrete & Construction, RockAuto.com, R & B Septic Services, O’Reilly Auto Parts, Wilderness Ridge Tent and Canvas, and Seeburg Mufflers. To join the CMS business partner team, call Susan Walls at (816) 229-1338. No calls after 8 p.m. please.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

United States Racing Association
Summit Racing USRA Weekly Racing Series
Central Missouri Speedway, Warrensburg, Mo.
Saturday, May 13, 2017


1. 94 Jacob Ebert, Oak Grove
2. 73 Cody Frazon, LaMonte
3. 17j Jake Richards, Lansing, Kan.
4. 10r Russell Niehoff, Lockwood
5. 68m Dean Wille, Warrensburg
6. 30 Rex Harris, Urbana
7. 20 Michael Bixby, Harrisonville
8. 7b Bobby Russell, Smithville
9. 17k Jeremy Lile. Higginsville
10. 10x Doug Wetzel, Leeton
11. 21b Bob Nakoneczny, Warrensburg
12. 03 Chris Brockway, Warrensburg
13. 72 Brad Moore, Urich
14. 11s Chris Stout, Oak Grove
15. 15s Kody Bray, Archie
16. 5r Jason Reeves, Lawson
17. 13m Matt Michaels, Lee's Summit
18. 15x Daniel Swartwood, Bates City
19. 21p Darren Phillips, Clinton
20. 27 Jacob Callahan, Warrensburg
DNS - 10 Johnny McGinnis, Hardin


1. 26k Kevin Blackburn, Fulton
2. 00m Jim Moody, Odessa
3. 16s Kerry Davis, Parkville
4. 90 Terry Schultz. Sedalia
5. 75 Gunner Martin, Blue Springs
6. 1k Tim Karrick, Basehor, Kan.
7. 30 Dalton Kirk, Edgerton Kan.
8. 33 Chad Lyle, Oak Grove
9. 9d Dwight Niehoff, Lockwood
10. 85s Tyler Shaw, Mexico
11. 12v Nathan Vaughn, Sedalia
12. 68 Dean Wille, Warrensburg
13. 24jr Jimmy Eaton, Bates City
14. 96 Danny Barker, Kansas City
15. 82 David Wood, Richmond
16. 97k Brian Johnson, Independence
17. 19b Kaleb Bray, Archie

Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group