Jones back-to-back in Southern New Mexico Speedway nail-biter
Print this page
May 20, 2017  |  by Ruben Mireles

The Summit USRA Weekly Racing Series continued Saturday at the Southern New Mexico Speedway with 31 USRA Modifieds and 16 Holley USRA Stock Cars checking in on this beautiful May 20, 2017.

Donavon Flores visited victory lane again in the Holley USRA Stock Car division in tonight's 20-lap feature. Jed Smith kicked the show off as he lead the first two laps with Zach McCoy snatching the lead on lap three, followed by a caution when Jaime Torres and Nathan Smith clashed in turns one and two.

On the restart, McCoy led the following lap with Victor Colobrio making it a side-by-side battle for the lead. Colobrio took the lead and hung on to it for two laps until Flores came and took it from him. Flores would lead three laps followed by a caution for debris on the back straight-away.

At the restart, Flores took off.  McCoy gave it his all and would run away with second as Torres battled Colobrio for third. At the end it was smiles for Flores as he picked up the main event win followed by McCoy, Torres, Colorbio and Pete Vargas.

Donavon Flores won the Holley USRA Stock Car feature.

Thirty-one USRA Modifieds checked in, calling for a B-Main. The drivers brought the energy tonight as the 25-lap main event was a stellar one.

Bumper Jones started on the pole with Austin Adams to his outside. At the green, Jones launched like a rocket and pulled away quickly from the field. On lap three, a caution flew for Carlos Ahumada Jr. on top of turns one and two. Jones had outstanding restarts tonight as he hit his mark in every single start out of corner number four.

Jones led a lap until another caution flew for Roger Owens in turn one. At the restart Jones absolutely took off leaving Adams and Todd Harper battling for runner-up. Five laps after the restart, Jones worked his way to a whole straight-away lead. One lap later the gap went away as Ricardo Olague Jr. drew the yellow for stopping on the bottom of turn four. It was a caution-free race after that and, yet again, Jones took off with another perfect restart.

"I kept looking at the scoreboard and saw the G17 (Fito Gallardo) getting closer, and I knew he was behind me," said Jones.

Sure enough, two laps after the restart on lap 11, Gallardo worked his way into third after starting 13th. On lap 14 Gallardo was one-tenth of a second faster than Jones, and on lap 17 Gallardo was now three-tenths of a second faster than Jones as lapped traffic became a factor. Jones was married to the top of the Southern New Mexico Speedway as Gallardo worked the bottom and then the middle.

"Bumper shot me there in turn two," said Gallardo.

Jones played good defense on the closing laps as he forced Gallardo to go low and lose speed in turn two. Jones would jump back to the top as Dusty Riggs was about to go a lap down with the leaders coming fast! Jones didn't waste any time as two lapped cars blocked Gallardo on the bottom. At the end, Gallardo dolphin-dived it coming out of turn four coming to the checkered flag with Jones on the outside.

It was a photo-finish and transponders, plus an actual photo-finish picture from Classik Motorart proved that Jones won by a hair in an outstanding finish! Jones will go back-to-back in the Rancho Milagro USRA Modified division.

Bumper Jones won the USRA Modified feature.

Action returns to the Southern New Mexico Speedway next Friday and Saturday, May 26-27, for the 305 Sprint May-hem presented by Lubbock Wrecker and Wilson Wrecker Service. The event will feature the Lucas Oil POWRi 305 sprint Cars racing for $2,000 to win each night. Also on the card will be Out-Pace USRA B-Mods, Holley USRA Stock Cars, Mini-Sprints and Claimers.

Gates open at 5 p.m. with racing at 7:45 both nights. General admission is $15 each night and kids ages 10 and under are free. A Family Pack is just $35. Pit passes are also $35.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

United States Racing Association
Summit Racing USRA Weekly Racing Series
Southern New Mexico Speedway, Las Cruces, N.M.
Saturday, May 20, 2017


1. (1) 111 Bumper Jones, Mesilla Park, N.M.
2. (13) G17 Fito Gallardo, Las Cruces, N.M.
3. (2) 85 Austin Adams, El Paso, Texas
4. (8) 44 Christy Barnett, El Paso, Texas
5. (3) 3T Todd Harper, Las Cruces, N.M.
6. (14) 101 Butch Reid Jr., Carlsbad, N.M.
7. (10) 07 Donavon Flores, Las Cruces, N.M.
8. (4) 28 Tom Georges, El Paso, Texas
9. (21) 65X Carlos Ahumada Jr, Las Cruces, N.M.
10. (6) 30 Travis Tipton, Duncan, Ariz.
11. (17) 9 Jimmy Ray, Las Cruces, N.M.
12. (18) J16 Josh Gallardo, Las Cruces, N.M.
13. (7) 131 Royal Jones, Las Cruces, N.M.
14. (16) M16 Rick Gallardo, Las Cruces, N.M.
15. (19) 86 Jared Perez, Las Cruces, N.M.
16. (12) 32 Max Sader, Springerville, Ariz.
17. (5) 65 Dustin Smith, Las Cruces, N.M.
18. (23) UNO Brian Kleine, Las Cruces, N.M.
19. (24) 82 Sherman Barnett, El Paso, Texas
20. (20) 18 Henry Valdez, Las Cruces, N.M.
21. (11) 96 Dusty Riggs, Hatch, N.M.
22. (22) 23 Kevin Clark, El Paso, Texas
23. (9) 10 Roger Owens, El Paso, Texas
24. (15) 18JR Ricardo Olague Jr., El Paso, Texas


1. (8) 07 Donavon Flores, Las Cruces, N.M.
2. (5) 46 Zach McCoy, Las Cruces, N.M.
3. (12) 44JT Jaime Torres, Las Cruces, N.M.
4. (7) 13 Victor Colorbio, Las Cruces, N.M.
5. (6) 777 Pete Vargas, Las Cruces, N.M.
6. (1) 71 Jed Smith, Anthony, N.M.
7. (10) 10B Bryan Bennett, Tularosa, N.M.
8. (11) 88 Nathan Smith, Anthony, N.M.
9. (9) 11 Cliff Evrage, Las Cruces, N.M.
10. (3) 34 Jonathan Faulkner, Las Cruces, N.M.
11. (4) 52 Bobby Candusso, Las Cruces, N.M.
12. (2) 4T Timberly Swaim, Las Cruces, N.M.
13. (13) 81 Tommy Brumley, Las Cruces, N.M.
14. (15) 74 Jason Josselyn, Alamogordo, N.M.
15. (14) 02 Rick Skillin, Las Cruces, N.M.
DNS - 63 Landan Milo

Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group