Dotson earns USRA Modified win at Lucas Oil Speedway
Print this page
May 26, 2017  |  by Lyndal Scranton

Matt Dotson, after finishing second a night earlier, found his way into Pitts Homes USRA Modified victory lane Friday night at the Lucas Oil Speedway.

Dotson, of Sturgeon, Mo., passed Timmy Culp on lap eight of the 20-lap feature and didn't look back. The two started on the front row.

Jason Pursley of Hermitage finished third with Scott Drake in fourth and Eric Turner fifth.

Through points accumulated the first two nights, Dotson and Turner will start on the front row of Saturday's USRA Modified feature. Jeff Cutshaw and Purlsey will start on row two.

The rest of the top 16 are Culp, Chad Wheeler, Chase Domer, Johnny Fennewald, Dean Wille, Terry Schultz, Jackie Dalton, Mickey Lassiter, Mike Striegel, Jared Russell, Lance Town and J.C. Morton.

Due to the threat of severe weather, the final day of the 25th annual Show-Me 100 Presented by at Lucas Oil Speedway has been postponed until Sunday.

"After closely monitoring the forecast and the high probability of severe storms, we think it's the best decision for our fans, drivers and crews," Lucas Oil Speedway General Manager Dan Robinson said.  "There's a high risk of damaging winds and hail and we want to make the safety of everyone our first priority."

Robinson said nearby Wheatland High School will be open as a storm shelter for fans on the speedway property.

"We hate to have to push it back a day, but we look forward to a great finish on Sunday when the forecast is absolutely perfect," Robinson added.

The schedule will be pushed up by one hour with gates opening at 3 p.m. Sunday, hot laps at 6, opening ceremonies at 6:30 and racing at 6:35 p.m.

Sunday schedule:
3 p.m. - Grandstands open
4:15 - Dirt Racing Outreach Service in Dining Room
4-4:45 - Autograph session on the spectator midway
5:30 - Drivers meeting
6 - Hot laps
6:30 - Opening ceremonies
7:35 p.m. - Racing begins

Ticket prices:
Adults (16 and up) $30
Seniors (62 and up)/Military $27
Youth (age 6 to 15) $10
Kids (age 5 and under) FREE
Pit Pass $40
Family Pass $60

Lucas Oil Speedway is located at Highways 83 and 54 in Wheatland, Missouri. A campground with shower and bathroom facilities is also available. With it's entrance located just outside the pit gate this sprawling scenic camping facility will continue to enhance the racing experience at the Diamond of Dirt Tracks.

Click for more information and detailed directions to the speedway or call the Track Hotline at (417) 282-5984. In addition, fans can get social with Lucas Oil Speedway by following @LucasSpeedway on Twitter, clicking "Like" at and on

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

United States Racing Association
Summit Racing USRA Weekly Racing Series
Lucas Oil Speedway, Wheatland, Mo.
Friday, May 27, 2017


Heat #1: 1, Jason Pursley, Hermitage, Mo. 2, Scott Drake, Diamond, Mo. 3, Johnny Fennewald, Appleton City, Mo. 4, Jared Russell, Muskogee, Okla. 5, Chad Wheeler, Muskogee, Okla. 6, Allen Owen, Pocola, Okla. 7, Mickey Burrell, Fair Grove, Mo. 8, Jeremy Greenwalt, Potosi, Mo. 9, Lance Town, Wellsville, Kan

Heat #2: 1, Matt Dotson, Sturgeon, Mo. 2, Joey Walsh, Fenton, Mo. 3, Daniel Franklin, Berryville, Ark. 4, Mike Striegel, Wheatland, Mo. 5, Johnny Cammon, Wichita, Kan. 6, Logan Rogers, Freeport, Ill. 7, Jeremy Ross, Locust Grove, Okla. 8, Robert Heydenreich, Bolivar, Mo. 9, Chad Tilley, Dexter, Mo.

Heat #3: 1, Timmy Culp. 2, Lee Heiligenthal, Claremore, Okla. 3, Gene Nicholas. 4, Brandon Givens, Chaney, Kan. 5, Lucas Gibbs, Udall, Kan. 6, Jeff Waterman, Quincy, Ill. 7, Alex Cammons, Wis.chita, Kan. 8, Mickey Lassiter, Piedmont, Okla.

Heat #4: 1, Jesse Willard, Prescott, Kan. 2, Chad Domer, Nevada, Mo. 3, Terry Schultz, Sedalia, Mo. 4, Kyle Thompson, Joplin, Mo. 5, Donnie Fellers, Wheatland, Mo. 6, Jeff Cutshaw, Bolivar, Mo. 7, Jon Sheets, Liberal, Mo. 8 JC Morton, Springdale Ark.

Heat #5: 1, Eric Turner, Hermitage, Mo. 2, Daniel Wosoba, El Dorado Springs, Mo. 3 Nathan Gold, Springfield, Mo. 4, Steven Picou, High Ridge, Mo. 5, Jackie Dalton, Carthage, Mo. 6, Jordan Turner, Batesville, Ark. 7, Dean Wille, Warresnburg, Mo. 8, David Elson, Springfield, Mo. 9, Chad Thomsen, Louisburg, Kan.

"B" Main #1: Dalton. 2, Givins. 3, Wheeler. 4, Waterman. 5, Cutshaw. 6, Wille. 7, Cammon. 8, Greenwalt. 9, Thomsen. 10, Heydenreich.

"B" Main #2: 1, Gibbs. 2, Sheets. 3, Rogers. 4, Burrell. 5, Fellers. 6, Town. 7, Fellers. 8, Ross. 9, Turner. 10, Owen.

"A" Feature: 1, Matt Dotson, Sturgeon, Mo. 2, Timmy Culp. 3, Jason Pursley, Hermitage. 4, Scott Drake, Diamond, Mo. 5, Eric Turner, Hermitage, Mo. 6, Terry Schultz, Sedalia. 7, Chase Domer, Nevada, Mo. 8, Jesse Willard, Prescott, Kan. 9, Jackie Dalton, Carthage, Mo. 10, Jeff Cutshaw, Bolivar, Mo. 11, Jon Sheets, Liberal, Mo. 12, Johnny Fennewald, Appleton City, Mo. 13, Chad Wheeler, Muskogee, Okla. 14, Dean Wille, Warrensburg, Mo. 15, Jared Russell, Muskogee, Okla. 16, Nathan Gold, Springfield, Mo. 17, Daniel Franklin, Berryville, Ark. 18, Logan Rogers, Freeport, Ill. 19, Mickey Burrell, Fair Grove, Mo. 20, Joey Walsh, Fenton, Mo. 21, Mike Striegel, Hermitage, Mo. 22, Lucas Gibbs, Udall, Kan. 23, Daniel Wosoba, El Dorado Springs, Mo. 24, Lee Heiligenthal, Claremore, Okla. 25, Gene Nicholas, Lowell, Ark. 26, Steven Picou, High Ridge, Mo.

Contact Us

© Copyright 2019 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group