Nix measures up at Southern Oklahoma
Print this page
May 27, 2017  |  by Keith Pirtle

Thirty-nine USRA Modifieds came out with weather threatening to qualify for the Day Motor Sports main event Saturday at the Southern Oklahoma Speedway.

Shane Hartline lead the 24-car field to the green flag with C.A. Nix squeezing by to take the lead on the high side to complete the first lap.

Tryston Dycus worked the low side to tuck behind Nix for the first half of the race. With Nix on the high side staying flawless and Dycus looking for lapped traffic help to find a way to cause Nix to bobble. Lap after lap, high and low but Dycus could make a run off the bottom stick against the high side speed of Nix.

A late caution opened the track up for Nix who brought home his first TOMS win this 2017 season. Nix is familiar to the winners circle at Southern Oklahoma Speedway as he was able to score a TOMS win in 2016 season at the 3/8-mile track.

The Touring Outlaw Modified Series will next race on June 2 back at the Southern Oklahoma Speedway.

Thanks to our sponsors: S&S Fishing & Rental, Day Motor Sports, Fritzphoto, Pulse Racing Innovation, Sunoco Racing Products, Five1Seven Design, All-Star Signs by Wesley, KR Promotions, Superior Wheels, Frozen Ropes Training Center, Milt Clark Performance Warehouse, MLH Racing Products, Love Graphics, Wichita Tank, Wicked Race Cars, Precision Fabrication Race Car Bodies, Awards N More, OK Freightways, 41 Shocks, Southern Oklahoma Speedway, Bailey’s Country Store and BBQ, Josh Landers and Family, Deatherage Certified Opticians.

Also, special thanks to John and Nicki Webb and all of the Southern Oklahoma Speedway staff for your help and support of the TOMS.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

United States Racing Association
Summit Racing USRA Weekly Racing Series
Touring Outlaw Modified Series (TOMS)
Southern Oklahoma Speedway, Ardmore, Okla.
Saturday, May 27, 2017


Heat #1: (15w) Kale Westover, (01) Colby Smith, (4) Billy Carroll, (11x) Wesley Veal, (2) Billy Brierton, (25d) Donnie Ship, (74) Jason Hammond,   (12k) Kyle Whitworth.

Heat #2: (A1) Phil Dixon, (34n) C.A. Nix, (14x) Josh Landers, (15c) Cam Case, (90.5) Tommy Fane, (110) John Hunt, (07)Jasen Hallard, (7x) Rory Jordan.

Heat #3: (5x) Danny Veal, (31) Shane Hartline, (7) Sean Gaddis, (3) Sam Cox, (56) Troy Taylor,  (35) Chris Cole, (88) Shawn Gammage, (75)Kenneth Densman.

Heat #4: (66x) Mike Dillard, (49) Chad Howell, (90)Travis Johnson, (9) Kevin Rutherford, (55h) Buddy Honacker, (22n) Kevin Newell, (d25) David Tanner.

Heat #5: (14t) Triston Dycus, (71) Phillip Houston, (23) Logan Robertson, (2g) Kenny Gaddis, (02) Kyle Robinson, (51x) Danny Florence, (99) Jeff Needham, (44x) Bryan Gunwall.

"B" Main #1: (11x) Wesley Veal, (14x) Josh Landers, (2) Billy Brierton, (90.5) Tommy Fane, (55h) Buddy Honacker, (9) Kevin Rutherford, (3) Sam Cox, (99) Jeff Needham, (35) Chris Cole, (7x) Rory Jordan, (88) Shawn Gammage, (07)Jasen Hallard, (44x) Bryan Gunwall, (22n) Kevin Newell.

"B" Main #2: (2g) Kenny Gaddis, (90)Travis Johnson, (02) Kyle Robinson, (56) Troy Taylor, (25d) Donnie Ship, (15c) Cam Case,  (4) Billy Carroll, (74) Jason Hammond, (d25) David Tanner,  (110) John Hunt, (75)Kenneth Densman,   (12k) Kyle Whitworth, (51x) Danny Florence.

Day Motor Sports "A" Main: (34n) C.A. Nix, (14t) Triston Dycus, (01) Colby Smith, (66x) Mike Dillard, (90)Travis Johnson,  (71) Phillip Houston, (2g) Kenny Gaddis, (31) Shane Hartline, (11x) Wesley Veal, (49) Chad Howell, (7) Sean Gaddis, (23) Logan Robertson, (15w) Kale Westover, (02) Kyle Robinson, (55h) Buddy Honacker, (56) Troy Taylor, (2) Billy Brierton, (14x) Josh Landers, (5x) Danny Veal, (35) Chris Cole, (75)Kenneth Densman, (110) John Hunt, (90.5) Tommy Fane, (A1) Phil Dixon.

Lap Leader: Nix 1-25.

Contingency Awards:
Day Motor Sports: Gammage.
Smiley’s Racing Products: Johnson.
Superior Wheels: Johnson.
Milton Clark Performance Warehouse: Robertson.
Deatherage Opticians: Gaddis.
MLH Racing Products: Dillard.
Precision Fabrication: Dycus.

Latest News from the USRA

January 16, 2018
Go-karts fuel Moore's winter need for speed as he gears up for 2018 Lucas Oil Speedway USRA B-Mod season
For one of the Ozarks' rising USRA B-Mod prospects, it's time to start dreaming of spring-time warmth and top-five finishes in the season ahead at Lucas Oil Speedread more
January 15, 2018
I-35 Speedway drivers meeting Jan. 20
In preparation for the start of the 2018 racing season, a driver’s meeting for I-35 Speedway competitors will be held at the Cameron Community Center located at 915read more
January 14, 2018
Strand snares finale win, Scott takes series title at Wild WEst Shootout
Dustin Strand emerged atop Sunday's 25-lap USRA Modified feature as the sixth winner in as many events by taking the finale as Las Cruces, N.M.'s Johnny Scott edgread more
January 14, 2018
I-35 Speedway remembers Bud Wilson
Families that race together stay together. We have all heard this saying, even seen it printed on T-shirts, including the Racin for Rian shirts at the I-35 Speedway. read more
January 13, 2018
Stormy wins as Scott brothers finish 1-2 at Wild West Shootout
Stormy Scott posted his first win of the 12th Annual Keyser Manufacturing Wild West Shootout presented O’Reilly Auto Parts Saturday by topping the USRA Modified fieread more
Contact Us

Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group