Late-race heroics vault Brands, DeRuyter, Strandberg to Nobles county Speedway wins
Print this page
May 27, 2017  |  by Steve Zwemke

Cullen DeRuyter used the final corners of the Out-Pace USRA B-Mod feature to sneak an opening night victory at Nobles County Speedway on Saturday. DeRuyter sped to the bottom of turn three to pull alongside Devon Schlumbohm. He then took away Schlumbohm’s line in turn four which forced Schlumbohm up the race track enough to lose any momentum he could carry to the finish. Andrew Ahlers was also able to steal a second place finish away from Schlumbohm, taking advantage of DeRuyter’s bold move. Pole sitter Jayden Larson had a comfortable lead over Schlumbohm before all of that excitement played out. Larson was forced from the field due to mechanical issues.

Cullen DeRuyter won the Out-Pace USRA B-Mod feature.

Stock car ace Randy Brands captured the Holley USRA Stock Car main event. Brands and Colby Klaassen checked out on the rest of the field. Klaassen made Brands work for every inch of race track but was unable to get by the pole sitter. Stock Car newcomer Dustin Gulbrandson edged Rich Gregoire for third. The two enjoyed some close racing with Roger Verdoorn late in the race.

Randy Brands won the Holley USRA Stock Car feature.

Chad Lonneman, who had won the previous night at Rapid Speedway, was trying to capitalize on Big Orv’s Bonus. The Adrian bar is offering bonus money to drivers that win on back-to-back nights at Rapid Speedway and Nobles County Speedway this season. However, Dan Strandberg prevented the bonus by making his way from the fifth starting position to the checkered flag in the Schwalbach Plumbing & Heating USRA Hobby Stock "A" main. Strandberg was showing his muscle in passing John Ross for second. The hometown driver stayed on the rails to take Lonneman down for the win. Nick Schilling was the race’s hard charger. He was able to bolt from 12th to third.

Dan Strandberg won the USRA Hobby Stock feature.

A huge night of racing is scheduled for this Saturday night. The Iron Man Challenge featuring Holley USRA Stock Cars and Out-Pace USRA B-Mods will bring drivers from all over the region. Plus, Micro-Sprints return to Nobles County Speedway to add to an already outstanding event. Hot laps begin at 7:00 p.m. Heat races follow hot laps. For more information see Nobles County Speedway’s Facebook page for updates and log onto

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

United States Racing Association
Summit Racing USRA Weekly Racing Series
Nobles County Speedway, Worthington, Minn.
Saturday, May 27, 2017


Feature: 1. Randy Brands (Boyden, IA), 2. Colby Klaassen (Little Rock, IA), 3. Dustin Gulbrandson (Sioux Falls, SD), 4. Rich Gregoire (Russell, MN), 5. Roger Verdoorn (Sibley, IA), 6. Kevin Debaere (Tracy, MN), 7. Jon DeBoer (Little Rock, IA), DNF: Luke Sathoff (Jackson, MN), Gary Mattison (Lamberton, MN), Chad Overgaard (Luverne, MN).

Heat winners: Colby Klaassen, Randy Brands.


Feature: 1. Cullen DeRuyter (Ruthton, MN), 2. Andrew Ahlers (Baltic, SD), 3. Devon Schlumbohm (Sioux Falls, SD), 4. Curt Ahlers (Flandreau, SD), 5. Kaleb Modder (George, IA), 6. Aaron De Thury (Sioux Falls, SD), 7. Derrick Barglof (Sioux Rapids, IA), DNF: Jayden Larson (Mankato, MN), DNS: Darin Noyes (Sioux Falls, SD).

Heat winners: Jayden Larson, Cullen DeRuyter.


Feature: 1. Dan Strandberg (Worthington, MN), 2. Chad Lonneman (Adrian, MN), 3. Nick Schilling (Sanborn, IA), 4. John Ross (Worthington, MN), 5. Dustin Gulbrandson (Sioux Falls, SD), 6. Ernie Dailey (Worthington, MN), 7. Malik Sampson (Worthington, MN), 8. Brady Klaassen (Adrian, MN), 9. Brian Hoing (Hartford, SD), 10. Corey Gronewald (Worthington, MN), 11. Jason Bradley (Sioux Falls, SD), 12. Joel Norris (Sioux Falls, SD), 13. Jackson Kracht (Luverne, MN), 14. Nick Janssen (Tea, SD), DNF: Josh Bradley (Harrisburg, SD), Keeran Sampson (Worthington, MN), DNS: Jim Ed Gunderson (Brandon, SD), Tyler Pospisil (Fulda, MN), Travis Christensen.

Heat winners: John Ross, Dustin Gulbrandson, Corey Gronewald.

Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group