Bailey, Keller, Whitney top Timberline Trading Night at I-35 Speedway
Print this page
May 28, 2017  |  by Rick Staley

At I-35 Speedway we honored our heroes that made the ultimate sacrifice so we have the freedom to race and be free. To our fallen veterans we salute you on this Memorial Day Weekend with the rolling cross

Out-Pace USRA B-Mods would put on a show of epic proportions for the entire crowd in attendance as they took to the track. As the green would fall on the field of competitors, Heat race winner Jeremy Pittsenbarger would take the lead holding off the hard challenges of Eddie Schwope Jr. and Doug Keller in the early stages. Midway through the feature Keller would make his mo0ve to the front and never look back picking up his second win at I-35 Speedway of the 2017 racing season. Schwope, who was in the mix the entire feature, would end the race a very close second with other heat race winner Shadren Turner a very impressive third. Fourth would go to Randy Ainsworth with a hard charging Bud Wilson fifth.

Doug Keller won the Out-Pace USRA B-Mod feature.

Holley USRA Stock Cars would be next to take the track with a loaded field of competitors doing battle. Brad Whitney would take the lead and never relinquish on his way to his first win of 2017 at I-35 Speedway. The field of competitors would strut their stuff proving the quality of drivers as they would not see the caution going green to white to checkers. Second and third was a battle of heat race winners at Alvie Christofferson would finish second with Mich Ross a very close third place. Fourth would see Dean Hensler, in his first appearance of the year at the track, racing to the front with a good finish holding a very fast Jon Boller Jr. to fifth.

Brad Whitney won the Holley USRA Stock Car feature.

Then it was time for the high-flying, fire-breathing, alcohol-drinking USRA Modifieds to take the fast and smooth 3/8-mile speedway. At the drop of the green flag Shayne Bailey would make a statement pulling out to a comfortable lead only to see it dissipate as the race progressed. Bailey would be challenged every lap by Houston Johnson who found the high grove to his liking but would fade late to place fifth. Next to challenge Bailey would be Cory Ray as he raced to second then slipped in turn 2 bringing out the caution and moving him to the rear. Baily would continue to set the pace as Bobby Penny would challenge late coming up a little short placing second on the night. Bailey would continue to lead and pick up his first win at I-35 Speedway and celebrate in McCarthy Auto Group Winners Circle. Penny was second with Bud Wilson third, Austin Johnson fourth and Houston Johnson fifth. Heat race winners were Shayne Bailey and Nic Hanes who was in the hunt until mechanical issues took him from contention.

Shayne Bailey won the USRA Modified feature.

I-35 Speedway would like to congratulate the kids winning the bikes donated by Donnie Brown. We invite everyone back next Saturday night for more “Dirt Trackin' at its Best.”

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

United States Racing Association
Summit USRA Weekly Racing Series
I-35 Speedway Winston, Mo.
Sunday, May 28, 2017


1. 7 Doug Keller
2. 91 Eddie Schwope Jr.
3. 17T Shadren Turner
4. 57 Randy Ainsworth
5. 20X Bud Wilson
6. 81 Jacob Blair
7. 07 Daniel Harris
8. 32P Jeremy Pittsenbarger
9. 27A Andrew Sheetz
10. 66X Chris Wright
11. 48 Shawn Grady
12. 16 Blake Pierce
13. 47X Conner Masoner
14. 72 Anthony Hill
15. 22 Dylan Neudorff
16. 94 Jared Hillyard


1. X9 Brad Whitney
2. 22X Alvie Christofferson
3. 34X Mich Ross
4. 8 Dean Hensler
5. 20X Jon Boller Jr.
6. 77 Dean Wray
7. 93 Sam Scott
8. 88 Darrell Whitt
9. 64 Trenton Jeanes
10. 83A Aaron Sauter
11. 89 Jeb Hays
12. G23 Greg Gilbert


1. 7 Shayne Bailey
2. 16 Bobby Penny
3. 96J Bud Wilson
4. 98 Austin Johnson
5. 97 Houston Johnson
6. 54 Buz Kaster
7. 2H John Hanson
8. 17$ Shane Lawson
9. 69N Cory Wray
10. 99J Billie Hoover
11. 26s Steven Glenn
12. 17X Nic Hanes
13. 3B Nic Bidinger
14. 71 Jim Hopkins

Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group