Fennewald captures USRA Modified win at Lucas Oil Speedway
Print this page
June 10, 2017  |  by Lyndal Scranton

Johnny Fennewald celebrates after capturing the USRA Modified win Saturday night at Lucas Oil Speedway.

Johnny Fennewald prevailed in a tight battle with Eric Turner and picked up the featured Pitts Homes USRA Modified victory Saturday night at Lucas Oil Speedway.

Fennewald, of Appleton City, earned $1,000 for the 25-lap victory as the Big Adventure RV Weekly Racing Series returned after a three-week break.

Fennewald regained the lead form Turner on lap six, after Turner had passed him coming out of turn four for the lead a lap earlier. Fennewald was checking out on the field, building nearly a straightaway-margin lead, when a caution on lap 14 bunched the field.

The two leaders broke away to make it a two-car battle for the lead with Turner looking for a way around Fennewald the rest of thew way. But Turner was unable to get past and Fennewald celebrated his first feature victory of the season - at least in a Modified.

Fennewald, doing double driving duty, has one win this season at Lucas Oil Speedway in a ULMA Late Model.

"I'll tell you what, it's been a while since I've been in a Modified and it takes one heck of a driving transition," Fennewald said. "I want it to drive like a Late Model and it won't. I'm kind of winded. These things wear me out.

"I want to thank Wes Summers. It's his new Longhorn chassis. I have to give a big thanks to Mikey Bryant, Mitch Keeter and Kyle Strickler. They're really a big help to me and good buddies, all three of them. I can't thank them enough."

Johnny Fennewald (8) duels with Eric Turner (99) in Saturday's USRA Modified feature.

Chase Domer wound up third with three-time reigning track champion Jeff Cutshaw in fourth.

Andy Bryant of Fort Scott, Kan., took over after an early back-and-forth battle with Shawn Strong and went on to capture his first Out-Pace USRA B-Mod feature of the season.

Bryant and Strong traded the lead four times over the first eight laps before Bryant went in front on lap eight and never surrendered it. Strong, seeking his second feature win of the season, finished second.

"About lap I started seeing lapped cars and I knew if we caught those, they'd either be on the bottom or I'd be able to get around them easily," Bryant said. "One of them, I got a little too close to. But I managed to pull away from them and get a win."

Bryant continued a solid season that includes two second-place finishes and a third in four Lucas Oil Speedway starts.

Sam Petty wound up third with Rex Merritt in fourth.

Lucas Oil Speedway is located at Highways 83 and 54 in Wheatland, Missouri. A campground with shower and bathroom facilities is also available. With its entrance located just outside the pit gate this sprawling scenic camping facility will continue to enhance the racing experience at the Diamond of Dirt Tracks.

Click www.LucasOilSpeedway.com for more information and detailed directions to the speedway or call the Track Hotline at (417) 282-5984. In addition, fans can get social with Lucas Oil Speedway by following @LucasSpeedway on Twitter, clicking "Like" at www.facebook.com/LucasOilSpeedway and on www.youtube.com/LucasOilSpeedway.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

United States Racing Association
Summit USRA Weekly Racing Series
Lucas Oil Speedway, Wheatland, Mo.
Saturday, June 10, 2017


Feature: 1. Johnny Fennewald, Appleton City; 2. Chase Domer, Nevada; 3. Eric Turner, Hermitage; 4. Jeff Cutshaw, Bolivar; 5. Mark Schafman, Edwardsville, Kan.; 6. Paden Phillips, Chanute, Kan.; 7. Lucas Gibbs, Udall, Kan.; 8. Daniel Wosoba, El Dorado Springs; 9. Mike Striegel, Hermitage; 10. Tracy Wolf, Buffalo; 11. Jared Russell, Muskogee, Okla.; 12. Donnie Fellers, Wheatland; 13. Sam Petty, Marshfield; 14. Jason Pursley, Hermitage.

Heat #1: 1. Wolf; 2. Cutshaw; 3. Domer; 4. Turner; 5. Phillips; 6. Wosoba; 7. Gibbs; 8. Petty.

Heat #2: 1. Fennewald; 2. Pursley; 3. Striegel; 4. Fellers; 5. Schafman; 6. Russell.


Feature: 1. Andy Bryant, Fort Scott, Kan.; 2. Shawn Strong, Republic; 3. Sam Petty, Marshfield; 4. Rex Merritt, Billings; 5. Robbe Ewing, Stockton; 6. Steve McDowell, Independence; 7. Taylor Moore, Bois D' Arc; 8. Jeremy Price, Blue Springs; 9. Alexys Vanzandt, Billings; 10. Michael Bowers, Rogersville; 11. Gary Fain, Lone Jack; 12. Cullen Thompson, Herman; 13. Quentin Taylor, Flemington; 14. Kaeden Cornell, Willard; 15. Houston Brown, Conway; 16. Kenny Shaw, Fort Scott, Kan.; 17. Randy Gilmore, Flemington; 18. Andy Chrisenberry, Chilhowee; 19. Justin Allen, Urbana; 20. Jim Cihy, Warsaw; 21. Jeff McNew, Blue Springs; 22. Cody Admire, Eldon; 23. Mark McGuire, Blue Springs; DNS - Jake Hereford, Fort Scott, Kan.; DNS - Robert Heydenreich Sr., Bolivar.

Heat #1: 1. Strong; 2. Merritt; 3. Vanzandt; 4. Moore; 5. Taylor; 6. Gilmore; 7. Allen; 8. Admire; 9. Hereford.

Heat #2: 1. Petty; 2. Thompson; 3. McDowell; 4. Chrisenberry; 5. Brown; 6. Bowers; 7. Heydenreich; 8. McGuire.

Heat #3: 1. Ewing; 2. Bryant; 3. Price; 4. Cornell; 5. Fain; 6. McNew; 7. Shaw; 8. Cihy.

Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group