Cummins triples-up at Chateau Raceway
Print this page
June 9, 2017  |  by Matthew Grage

Jason Cummins won the USRA Modified feature.

The warmest temperatures of the year greeted drivers and fans Friday night at Chateau Raceway in Lansing for the fifth night of racing action during the 2017 season.

In the USRA Modifieds, Jason Cummins of New Richland captured his third feature win of the season at the track. Greg Pfeifer Junior of Austin lead much of the first half of the caution-free feature until he caught the tail end of the field.

Pfeifer had committed to the top of the track right off the drop of the green while Cummins alternated between the top line at one end of the track and the bottom line at the other.

With the move-over flag flying, Pfeifer was unable to clear the car which was also driving the high line and that allowed Cummins to reel him in and eventually move around both him and the slower car to take the win away. Pfeifer held on for second over Brandon Aggen of Miltona.

Cummins and Jacob Dahle of Morristown captured the heat wins.

Derek Clement won a very wild Out-Pace USRA B-Mod feature. Clement led the first lap of the race off the pole but Jayden Larson of Mankato shot wide off the outside of the second row and made the line stick as he took over the top spot on lap two with Nate Chodur of Lake Mills, Iowa, moving up to second a few laps later shuffling Clement back to third.

A caution just over halfway through the event kept the leaders bunched and Chodur used the restart to his advantage as he took over the lead. A couple laps later Clement found the high line to his liking and went back to the front. Then a lap later Chodur had mechanical problems and stalled on the track bringing out another caution and his chances at the win.

Larson inherited the lead back for the restart with Clement on his back bumper. With three laps to go coming out of turn two Clement made his move to the bottom and put his machine back on point where he ran the rest of the way to the checkers. Kadden Kath of Owatonna made a later pass on Larson for second.

The lone heat win went to Chodur.

Derek Clement won the Out-Pace USRA B-Mod feture.

Racing action continues next Friday night, June 16, at 7:30 p.m.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

United States Racing Association
Summit USRA Weekly Racing Series
Chateau Raceway, Lansing, Minn.
Friday, June 9, 2017


Heat #1 (8 laps): 1. 02-Jacob Dahle, [2]; 2. 55-Brian Shaw, [4]; 3. 1-Greg Jensen, [1]; 4. 23-Darwin Karau, [5]; 5. 77-Jacob Stark, [3].

Heat #2 (8 laps): 1. 71-Jason Cummins, [4]; 2. 01-Brandon Aggen, [2]; 3. 73JR-Greg Pfeifer Jr, [3]; 4. 1A-Dwaine Hanson, [5]; 5. (DNF) 72-Doug Hillson, [1].

Feature (25 laps): 1. 71-Jason Cummins-New Richland, [5]; 2. 73JR-Greg Pfeifer Jr-Austin, [1]; 3. 01-Brandon Aggen-Miltona, [2]; 4. 23-Darwin Karau-Kasson, [6]; 5. 1A-Dwaine Hanson-Lakefield, [4]; 6. 1-Greg Jensen-Albert Lea, [9]; 7. 02-Jacob Dahle-Morristown [8]; 8. 77-Jacob Stark-Austin, [3]; 9. 72-Doug Hillson-Blooming Prairie, [10]; 10. (DNF) 55-Brian Shaw-Brownsdale, [7].


Heat (8 laps): 1. 88-Nate Chodur, [2]; 2. 36K-Jayden Larson, [4]; 3. 83X-Kadden Kath, [7]; 4. 4-Derek Clement, [5]; 5. 44-Matthew Brooks, [1]; 6. 31-Raey Hastings IV, [6]; 7. 17-Justin Murray, [3].

Feature: 1. 4-Derek Clement-Spring Valley, [1]; 2. 83X-Kadden Kath-Owatonna, [5]; 3. 36K-Jayden Larson-Mankato, [4]; 4. 44-Matthew Brooks-Austin, [3]; 5. 31-Raey Hastings IV-Austin, [6]; 6. 17-Justin Murray-Owatonna, [7]; 7. (DNF) 88-Nate Chodur-Lake Mills IA, [2].

Latest News from the USRA

March 17, 2018
Smith captures TOMS season opener
The 2018 Touring Outlaw Modified Series season opener kicked off at the Southern Oklahoma Speedway under heavy clouds and the threat of rain. With a field of 29 entrieread more
March 17, 2018
Morton masters final feature at King of America VIII Iron Man Challenge
Things just kept getting better and better for J.C. Morton this weekend at the Humboldt Speedway for the King of America VIII Modified Nationals presented by Summit Racinread more
March 16, 2018
I-35 Speedway season opener moved to March 24
Officials at the I-35 Speedway are moving the season opener to Saturday, March 24. Originally scheduled for March 17, Mother Nature has produced cold temperatures and read more
March 16, 2018
Zimmerman on top in Out-Pace USRA B-Mods at Humboldt
Veteran racer Randy Zimmerman of Fort Scott, Kan., flew by leader J.C. Morton on lap 16 of the Out-Pace USRA B-Mod feature, and then held off multiple challenges over theread more
March 15, 2018
King of America VIII Iron Man Challenge opener to Jolly
Thursday night kicked off the King of America VIII Modified Nationals presented by Summit Racing Equipment at the Humboldt, and the 2018 campaign for the USRA Iron Man Chread more
Contact Us

Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group