Schultz, Richards prevail at Central Missouri Speedway
Print this page
June 17, 2017  |  by Sam Stoecklin

Terry Schultz won the USRA Modified feature.

Race fans and drivers started the night with a sun-filled muggy summer evening on KIX 105.7 Night at Central Missouri Speedway. Terry Schultz of Sedalia fought for the win the USRA Modified feature for his first victory of the season. In the Out-Pace USRA B-Mod feature, Jake Richards of Lansing, Kan., went home with his fourth victory of the year.

Out-Pace USRA B-Mod drivers competed against a tough field of 19 drivers registered for racing. Blake Pierce charged to the first heat win of the night with Michael Bixby claiming his first heat win this season in heat two while the final heat-race win went to Richards.

When the drivers returned for their main event, Richards shot out to the lead from the pole position on the first lap and commanded the field throughout the race. Racing was interesting behind him as Pierce and Bixby raced closely in turn two until Bixby and Pierce collided ending Pierce’s night. Meanwhile, Steven Clancy who started sixth, motored past Cody Brill on the low side into second as Jacob Ebert trailed close behind.  Richards never allowed anyone to move past him as Clancy looked to close the gap late in the race. Richards again prevailed in the B-Mods and claimed his fourth feature win and second in a row at CMS.  Clancy had a strong run up to second with Brill, Ebert and Cody Frazon rounding out the top five.

Jake Richards won the Out-Pace USRA B-Mod feature.

This week during the USRA Modified heat race, the fans were entertained to some tight racing action as the drivers attempted to set up their starting feature positions. Dean Wille bested Jim Moody and Tim Karrick in the top three spots of the heat. As the skies lit up with threatening weather at the start of the 20-lap main event, Moody jumped out to the early lead using the high-side cushion to power off turn two. Schultz used the low side with some moisture to counter Moody’s high side run. It appeared Moody had a good chance to win this one until he jumped the cushion high in turn one. Schultz pounced and took advantage of the momentary slip and charged into the lead. Ultimately, Schultz held on for the remainder of the race for his first CMS feature win this year ahead of Moody in second. Wille had a good night and finished third with Karrick fourth and Kerry Davis. who started ninth, moving up to finish fifth.

Weekly racing returns next Saturday for Midwest Coating Night and one more weekend of regular championship racing prior to the impending Tom Wilson Memorial BBQ Bowl over Independence Day Weekend. USRA Modified and Out-Pace USRA B-Mod drivers will compete for victory lane glory, along with Street Stocks, Midwest Mod-Lites and Pure Stocks.

Information for the upcoming 12th Annual Tom Wilson Memorial BBQ Bowl, including start times, admission, race purses, race formats, program flow for the events and much more is now located on the CMS website at Click on the tab titled “Independence Day Weekend at CMS!”

On Saturday, pit gates open at 4:30, grandstands at 5, driver pill draw closes at 6:15. Warning: late drivers will not be awarded passing points. The pit meeting takes place at 6:30, hot laps roll out at 7:00 and racing begins at 7:30. General admission adults $12, Military w/I.D. and Seniors 65 to 74 $10, kids ages six to twelve $5, five years and under are free, seniors 75 and older are also free. Seniors 80 and older may receive free pit admission courtesy of promoter Earl Walls, who recently celebrated his own 80th birthday in 2017 last April! All pit passes for the weekend are $30 per person.

Keep up with CMS on Twitter @CMSgoing_green. Like us on Facebook at Join our email group by emailing Find CMS on YouTube at CMS Going Green! Keep up with CMS news and information by pointing your browser to The Website includes standings, results, schedule, news, and much more!

CMS wishes to thank its 2017 primary sponsors for their support including Cliff Harris Warrensburg Ford, Budweiser, KMZU 100.7 FM, Sunoco Race Fuels, Midwest Coatings, Better Country KIX 105.7, KSDL, and KSIS FM, Comfort Inn Warrensburg Station, KRLI FM 103.9 & KAOL 101.3 FM The Grenade, Pepsi, 610 Sports Radio Kansas City, College Town Apartments of Warrensburg, and Heartland Waste.

The list of 2017 business partners includes: Batliner Recycling, Kleinschmidt’s Western Store, OK Wheel Alignment, OK Tire Stores, Blue Springs Truck Line Inc., Brooks Auto LLC, Rick Darling Racing Engines/Head Porting, KMMO Radio, Sabre Solar LLC, KDKD Radio, LJS Graphics, Wilderness Ridge Tent & Canvas, DQ Grill & Chill of Warrensburg, Zaxby’s, Miller Lite, Victory Trophies & Plaques, Joslins Jewelry, Eickleberry Concrete & Construction,, R & B Septic Services, O’Reilly Auto Parts, Wilderness Ridge Tent and Canvas, and Seeburg Mufflers. To join the CMS business partner team, call Susan Walls at (816) 229-1338. No calls after 8 p.m. please. For complete point standings visit

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

United States Racing Association
Summit USRA Weekly Racing Series
Central Missouri Speedway, Warrensburg, Mo.
Saturday, June 17, 2017


1. (1) 17J Jake Richards, Lansing, Kan.
2. (6) 12C Steve Clancy Jr, Odessa, Mo.
3. (4) 96 Cody Brill, Harrisonville, Mo.
4. (8) 94 Jacob Ebert, Oak Grove, Mo.
5. (7) 73 Cody Frazon, Lamonte, Mo.
6. (13) 7B Bobby Russell, Smithville, Mo.
7. (16) 53w Dallas White, Centerview, Mo.
8. (2) 20 Michael Bixby, Harrisonville, Mo.
9. (10) 03 Chris Brockway, Warrensburg, Mo.
10. (5) 10x Doug Wetzel, Leeton, Mo.
11. (9) 28s Bill Small, Holden, Mo.
12. (15) 27 Jacob Callahan, Warrensburg, Mo.
13. (11) 99c Jack Cunningham, Wellington, Mo.
14. (12) 53 Monty Mitchell, Windsor, Mo.
15. (17) 31 Gary Akers, Independence, Mo.
16. (14) 17k Ethan Kueck, Concordia, Mo.
17. (3) 16 Blake Pierce, Kansas City, Mo.
DNS - 5R Jason Reeves Lawson, Mo.


1. (4) 90 Terry Schultz, Sedalia, Mo.
2. (2) 6W Jim Moody, Odesa, Mo.
3. (1) 68 Dean Wille, Warrensburg, Mo.
4. (3) 1K Tim Karrick, Basehor, Kan.
5. (9) 16s Kerry Davis, Parkville, Mo.
6. (5) 30 Dalton Kirk, Edgerton, Kan.
7. (7) 82 David Wood, Richmond, Mo.
8. (6) 92 Danny Scrogham, Peculiar, Mo.
9. (8) 97K Brian Johnson, Independence, Mo.

Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group