Honaker visits victory lane at Southern Oklahoma Speedway
Print this page
June 17, 2017  |  by Debra Hix

Feature races at the Southern Oklahoma Speedway never disappoint.

The green flag flies and the action starts, early in the race Kyle Whitworth leading the race and Kyle Robinson in second set the fast pace with Buddy Honaker in a close third. Honaker tried challenging for the lead several times but being shout out by Whitworth and Robinson at every turn giving Honaker no way to gain momentum to pass.

After about ten laps of this fast pass action the caution comes out stacking the field back together, Whitworth leads the field back to green, going into turn one Robinson makes his move taking the lead, behind him coming down the back straight away, they were five wide into turn three battling for second.

Robinson continued to lead with the rest of the field stack up right behind him four and five a breast every lap off turn four when a late race caution comes out, on the restart going into turn one Robinson goes to the bottom, Honaker takes the top off turn two, going into turn three Honaker stays on the top but on the bottom their stacked four a breast.

off turn four Honaker keeps the lead with Robinson and Sam Cox second and third. Honaker then battles to maintain his lead from Cox and Robinson three a breast off turn four every remaining lap with Travis Johnson, Ron Gould and Cam Case also challenging the three going four and five deep into turn three and four.

With three to go the scrambling started, on the white flag lap it was between Honaker, Cox and Robinson, side by side off turn four for the checkered flag, but winning the battle was Honaker followed by Cox in second, Robinson in third and Case in fourth.

Very exciting race from start to finish.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

United States Racing Association
Summit USRA Weekly Racing Series
Southern Oklahoma Speedway, Ardmore, Okla.
Saturday, June 17, 2017


1. 55h Buddy Honaker
2. 3 Sam Cox
3. 02 Kyle Robinson
4. 15c Cam Case
5. RG3 Ron Gould Jr.
6. 05 Justin Nabors
7. 12 Kyle Whitworth
8. 12r Randy Golden
9. 86J Travis Johnson
10. 49 Chadd Howell
11. 1w Chance Whitworth
12. 20w Jonathan Wells
13.. 4 Billy Carroll
14. 82 Jimmie Williams

Latest News from the USRA

January 18, 2018
Deadline for USRA banquet tickets is Friday
The United States Racing Association will host its annual awards banquet for drivers competing in this year’s Summit USRA Weekly Racing Series on Saturday, Jan. 27,read more
January 16, 2018
Go-karts fuel Moore's winter need for speed as he gears up for 2018 Lucas Oil Speedway USRA B-Mod season
For one of the Ozarks' rising USRA B-Mod prospects, it's time to start dreaming of spring-time warmth and top-five finishes in the season ahead at Lucas Oil Speedread more
January 15, 2018
I-35 Speedway drivers meeting Jan. 20
In preparation for the start of the 2018 racing season, a driver’s meeting for I-35 Speedway competitors will be held at the Cameron Community Center located at 915read more
January 14, 2018
Strand snares finale, Scott takes title at Wild West Shootout
Dustin Strand emerged atop Sunday's 25-lap USRA Modified feature as the sixth winner in as many events by taking the finale as Las Cruces, N.M.'s Johnny Scott edgread more
January 14, 2018
I-35 Speedway remembers Bud Wilson
Families that race together stay together. We have all heard this saying, even seen it printed on T-shirts, including the Racin for Rian shirts at the I-35 Speedway. read more
Contact Us

Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group