Racin for Rian packs ‘em in at I-35 Speedway
Print this page
June 24, 2017  |  by Rick Staley

Opening Ceremonies paid a touching tribute to the Racin for Rian Family as Paula Murphy was presented with a trophy for her hard work and contributions to this project. Bud and Amanda Wilson would lose their Daughter Rian and turn this tragedy into a great event honoring her and raising proceeds for the NCIU Family Fund at St. Luke’s Hospital. Fly high Rian; this night was dedicated to your memory!

This evening's racing action would get started with makeup features from June 17 with Holley USRA Stock Cars and Jon Boller Jr. setting the pace early. Boller and Brad Whitney would battle tooth and nail for the top spot with Boller holding steady. Laps would wind down and enter into the picture Dean Wray who had worked the low line to perfection coming through the pack to challenge late. As the white flag was shown signifying one more lap, the drivers would race three wide to the checkers with Dean Wray using the high line and edging Boller by mere inches at the stripe to claim the win. Boller would place second with Whitney third. Forth would go to a very fast Thomas Roberts with Jayden Bears placing a solid fifth place.

Dean Wray won the Holley USRA Stock Car make-up feature.

Out-Pace USRA B-Mods would see a full field of competitors as heat race winner Ricky Thornton Jr. would take the lead until slipping over the birm bringing his night to an end. Ed Noll would take over the top spot and lead the remainder of laps and capture win number one on this 2017 racing season at I-35 Speedway. Noll would be challenged late by heat race winner and second place finisher Doug Keller and other heat race winner and third place contender Jake Richards. Steve Clancy would work through the pack placing fourth with Shadren Turner finishing a very close fifth on the night.

Ed Noll won the Out-Pace USRA B-Mod feature.

USRA Modifieds would fly to the fast smooth race track next and see Ricky Thornton Jr. win both his heat race and the feature on this night of competition and claim the big paycheck. Derrick Hicks would challenge Thornton but have to settle for second on this night. Other heat race winner Mark Dotson would place third holding off the hard late challenge of yet another heat race winner Cory Wray who would place fourth. Zach Sanders would come from deep in the field to place fifth.

Ricky Thornton Jr. won the USRA Modified feature.

Closing out a night of great racing action were the always competitive and entertaining Holley USRA Stock Cars. Heat race winners Wray and Whitney would set the pace early dueling on the fast 3/8-mile speedway. Wray would get the advantage and pick up win number two on the night making the sweep of features in Holley USRA Stock Car. Whitney would have to settle for second with Boller a very close third on the night. Mich Ross and Alvie Christofferson would race to the checkers with Ross fourth and Christofferson fifth ending the night of great racing action.

Dean Wray won the Holley USRA Stock Car feature.

I-35 Speedway officials would like to thank all our drivers and fans for a great night of racing and family fun on Racin for Rian Night at the races. Congratulations to Pyper Wilson and Landen Johnson on winning the bikes at Intermission. See everyone next Saturday Night, July 1, at I-35 Speedway where there is always more Dirt Trackin’ at its Best.”

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

United States Racing Association
Summit USRA Weekly Racing Series
I-35 Speedway, Winston, Mo.
Saturday, June 24, 2017


Make-up Feature (from June 17):
1. 77 Dean Wray
2. 20X Jon Boller Jr.
3. X9 Brad Whitney
4. 65X Thomas Roberts
5. 20J Jayden Bears
6. 55T Jason Estes
7. 18C Nathan Carder
8. G23 Greg Gilbert
9. 34X Mich Ross
10. S20 Gene Stigall
11. 28 Tobin Bartlett
12. 88 Darrell Whitt
13. 93 Sam Scott

1. 77 Dean Wray
2. X9 Brad Whitney
3. 20X Jon Boller Jr.
4. 34X Mich Ross
5. 22X Alvie Christofferson
6. 20J Jayden Bears
7. G23 Greg Gilbert
8. 21H Jeb Hays
9. S20 Gene Stigall
10. 17H Ramone Ortega
11. 65X Thomas Roberts
12. 18C Nathan Carder
13. 55T Calvin Teel


1. 15 Ed Noll
2. 7 Doug Keller
3. 17J Jake Richards
4. 12C Steve Clancy
5. 17T Shadren Turner
6. 07 Daniel Harris
7. 22W Bud Wilson
8. 47X Conner Masoner
9. 10 Johnny McGinnis
10. 57 Randy Ainsworth
11. 91 Eddie Schwope Jr.
12. 81 Jacob Blair
13. 10H Garrett Hill
14. 27A Andrew Sheetz
15. 20RT Ricky Thornton Jr.
16. 94 Jared Hillyard
17. 20Y Yancy Shepard


1. 20RT Ricky Thornton Jr.
2. 78 Derrick Hicks
3. 85D Mark Dotson
4. 69N Cory Wray
5. 69 Zach Sanders
6. 21C Chad Clancy
7. 59 Jared Stiens
8. 17X Nic Hanes
9. R21 Ryan Schaffer
10. 54 Buz Kaster
11. 97 Houston Johnson
12. 2H John Hanson
13. 96J Anthony Logston
14. 16 Bobby Penny
15. 92P Jim Peeler
16. 11 Darren Shaw
17. 99J Billie Hoover
18. 26S Steven Glenn
19. 29 Dennis Elliott
20. 5D Devon Havlik
21. 98 Austin Johnson
22. 17$ Shane Lawson

Contact Us

© Copyright 2019 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group