Larson claims first win at Nobles County Speedway
Print this page
June 24, 2017  |  by Steve Zwemke

Dustin Larson won the Holley USRA Stock Car feature.

Dustin Larson was up to his usual tricks Saturday at Nobles County Speedway in Worthington, Minn. Larson raced his way past the likes of Jon DeBoer, Rich Gregoire and Luke Sathoff before finally getting by Roger Verdoorn to claim his first Holley USRA Stock Car win this season at NCS. Larson came from sixth in a race highlighted by a lot of passing from second through the rest of the field. Verdoorn dropped out of contention late in the race. DeBoer grabbed second ahead of Gregoire and Sathoff. Sathoff’s fourth-place finish enabled him to break a tie atop the point standings. He now leads Colby Klaassen by 13 points.

Cullen DeRuyter cruised to his second Out-Pace USRA B-Mod win. Miah Christensen ran second for most of the race until Devon Schlumbohm slipped passed him. Christensen was hoping to claim a Big Orv’s Bonus for winning back-to-back nights with the Rapid Speedway in Rock Rapids, Iowa. Pole sitter Curt Ahlers made his way back to fourth after falling to sixth midway through the feature. DeRuyter increased his points lead to 42 over Ahlers.

The Schwalbach Plumbing & Heating USRA Hobby Stocks saw their biggest field of the season with 21 cars. Front row starters John Ross and Corey Gronewald hooked up for a great battle with Ross in the lead. Dan Strandberg, looking for his fourth straight win, was moving through the field before bringing out a caution flag for an incident that ended with Nick Schilling upside down. Before the next green flag, Gronewald had to pit to change a tire. Tom Kracht came from the 15th starting position to challenge the leader, but Ross was able to hold back the field for his first win. After Kracht, Dustin Gulbrandson was third. Points leader Dan Strandberg was able to race up to eighth after being sent to the rear for his caution.

Matt Smith took advantage of a green-white-checkered finish in the new After Hour Graphics USRA Tuners division to beat Dylan Schreier in an exciting finish. Smith, battling a tight race car, acknowledged pushing Schreier out of his line during the final two laps in a humble victory lane visit. Megan Sandvig was involved in a jolting wreck as she was forced into tires at the end of a retaining wall on the backstretch. She was able to get out of her car and look over the damage.

Nobles County Speedway is off until Saturday, July 8, which is the Salute to Agriculture Night with free admission. Watch for updates by visiting or check out NCS’s Facebook page.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

United States Racing Association
Summit USRA Weekly Racing Series
Nobles County Speedway, Worthington, Minn.
June 24, 2017

HOLLEY USRA STOCK CARS: 1. Dustin Larson, Worthington; 2. Jon DeBoer, Rock Rapids, Iowa; 3. Rich Gregoire, Russell; 4. Luke Sathoff, Jackson; 5. Justin Regnerus, Middleburg, Iowa; 6. Kevin Debaere, Tracy; 7. Spencer Kalass, Luverne; 8. Dustin Gulbrandson, Sioux Falls, S.D.; 9. Colby Klaassen, Little Rock, Iowa; 10. Brandon Murphy, Worthington; 11. Derrick Nordstrom, Sioux Falls, S.D.; 12. Roger Verdoorn, Sibley, Iowa; 13. Stefan Sybesma, Sanborn, Iowa; 14. Dylan Fitzpatrick, Sioux Falls, S.D.; 15. Gary Mattison, Lamberton.

OUT-PACE USRA B-MODS: 1. Cullen DeRuyter, Ruthton; 2. Devon Schlumbohm, Sioux Falls, S.D.; 3. Miah Christensen, Sioux Falls, S.D.; 4. Curt Ahlers, Flandreau, S.D.; 5. Dave Kennedy, Sioux Falls, S.D.; 6. Nick Barger, Madison, S.D.; 7. Zac Pruner, Sioux Falls, S.D.; 8. Derrick Barglof, Sioux Rapids, Iowa; 9. Chris Moore, Madison, S.D.; 10. Eric Clancy, Melvin, Iowa; 11. Cole Christensen, Sioux Falls, S.D.

USRA HOBBY STOCKS: 1. John Ross, Worthington; 2. Tom Kracht, Luverne; 3. Dustin Gulbrandson, Sioux Falls, S.D.; 4. Malik Sampson, Worthington; 5. Jason Bradley, Sioux Falls, S.D.; 6. Nick Brady, Sioux Falls, S.D.; 7. Tyler Pospisil, Fulda; 8. Dan Strandberg, Worthington; 9. Colter Deutsch, Ellsworth; 10. Ryan Mulder, Harrisburg, S.D.; 11. Corey Gronewald, Worthington; 12. Jackson Kracht, Luverne; 13. Silas Top, Hardwick; 14. Josh Bradley, Harrisburg, S.D.; 15. Michael Weidert, Lismore; 16. Nick Janssen, Sioux Falls, S.D.; 17. Nick Schilling, Sanborn, Iowa; 18. Jake Manitz, Sibley, Iowa; 19. Travis Christensen, Sioux Falls, S.D.; DNS - Chad Lonneman, Adrian; DQ - Keeran Sampson, Worthington.

USRA TUNERS: 1. Matt Smith, Milroy; 2. Dylan Schreier, Hadley; 3. Robert Pottratz, Lynd; 4. Scott Espey, Alpha; 5. Joshua Uhl, Luverne; 6. Jordan Ahlers, Slayton; 7. Megan Sandvig, Spencer, Iowa; 8. Jason Wynia, Garvin.

Latest News from the USRA

January 15, 2018
I-35 Speedway drivers meeting Jan. 20
In preparation for the start of the 2018 racing season, a driver’s meeting for I-35 Speedway competitors will be held at the Cameron Community Center located at 915read more
January 14, 2018
I-35 Speedway remembers Bud Wilson
Families that race together stay together. We have all heard this saying, even seen it printed on T-shirts, including the Racin for Rian shirts at the I-35 Speedway. read more
January 13, 2018
Stormy wins as Scott brothers finish 1-2 at Wild West Shootout
Stormy Scott posted his first win of the 12th Annual Keyser Manufacturing Wild West Shootout presented O’Reilly Auto Parts Saturday by topping the USRA Modified fieread more
January 12, 2018
Jegtvig posts Friday night victory at Wild Wet Shootout
Blake Jegtvig became the fourth different winner in as many USRA Modified main events Friday night during Round 4 of the 12th Annual Keyser Manufacturing Wild West Shootoread more
January 10, 2018
Schott scores in Wild West Shootout Wednesday night action
Lucas Schott scored the USRA Modified victory Wednesday evening during the third round of the Keyser Manufacturing Wild West Shootout presented O’Reilly Auto Parts read more
Contact Us

Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group