Tarkington claims second win, Holman gets first at Tri-State Speedway
Print this page
June 24, 2017  |  by Rob Nugent

Brent Holman won the USRA Modified feature.

The eighth points race of the season at the legendary Tri-State Speedway was met with almost identical conditions as the previous week with temps in the mid-80s and a light southerly breeze at times. As a result, the fans and drivers were able to enjoy a nice late-June evening at the facility in Pocola, Okla. The night also featured added money in the USRA Modifieds and Out-Pace USRA B-Mods provided by Crey Hoover Land & Cattle Company.

The first race on the track after intermission was the Out-Pace USRA B-Mod feature paying $400 to win where Daniel Tarkington of Checotah returned to victory lane for the second time this season by taking the win over Dean Green and Lonny Flanagan.

The USRA Modifieds took to the high banks last for their feature. Brent Holman of Rogers, Ark., took home his first win of the 2017 season after a few runner-up positions. Early race leader Chad Wheeler took home second place over teammate Tate Cole.

Tri-State Speedway will return to action on Thursday, June 29, with open practice for all classes for the 46th Annual Firecracker Spectacular and 5th Annual Curtis Tennant Memorial Races presented by Shamrock Bolt & Screw Company. A complete points show for the Out-Pace USRA B-Mods will take place on Friday, June 30. Saturday, July 1, will feature a complete points program for the USRA Modifieds, with a huge fireworks salute to America after dark.

Don’t forget the new starting time of 8 p.m. with both pit gates and grandstand gates opening at 5. Drivers meeting is at 7 and hot laps are scheduled for 7:30.

The complete 2017 racing schedule can always be found on our website at www.Tri-StateSpeedway.com Also, be sure to stay up to date with us via our social media channels on Facebook, Twitter, Google+ and YouTube.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

United States Racing Association
Summit Racing USRA Weekly Racing Series
Tri-State Speedway, Pocola, Okla.
Saturday, June 24, 2017


Feature (15 laps): 1. 2-Daniel Tarkington, [8]; 2. 28-Dean Green, [5]; 3. 7-Lonny Flanagan, [7]; 4. 03-Chad Summerford, [9]; 5. 22-Dalton Ragsdale, [6]; 6. 216-Brent Manning, [4]; 7. 40-Steve Butler, [1]; 8. 77-Gerry Vaughn, [3]; 9. G8S-Will Gates, [2].


Feature (20 laps): 1. 17-Brent Holman, [4]; 2. 88-Chad Wheeler, [6]; 3. 89-Tate Cole, [8]; 4. 5-Steve Holzkamper, [5]; 5. 27L-Trevor Latham, [9]; 6. 1/4-Brandon Hunter, [3]; 7. 8-Jeremy Vaughn, [13]; 8. 8M-Dalton McKenzie, [11]; 9. 1/2-Zane Hunter, [10]; 10. 15-George Martin, [2]; 11. III-Myles Newman III, [7]; 12. 49-Kayden Menasco, [12]; 13. 10H-Randy Henson, [1]; 14. 10-Kyle Schmidt, [14]; 15. 79-Kreg Dobson, [15]; (DNS) 1T-Ryan Taylor.

Latest News from the USRA

April 21, 2018
Sanders, Donaldson, Noll winners on Walker Dozing Night at I-35 Speedway
The Holley USRA Stock Cars provided another side-by-side battle for the lead Saturday at the I-35 Speedway in Winston, Mo. Jeff Dixon jumped out to the early lead, butread more
April 21, 2018
Ratterree tops Legit Speedway Park lid-lifter
Chris Ratterree of Nampa, Idaho, claimed the Out-Pace USRA B-Mod victory Saturday night as the Legit Speedway Park in West Plains, Mo.,, kicked off the 2018 racing seasonread more
April 21, 2018
Heydenreich prevails as Lucas Oil Speedway opens 2018 season
Opening night at Lucas Oil Speedway saw Robert Heydenreich lesd all the way in capturing the featured Out-Pace USRA B-Mod main event Saturday night. A total of 133 carread more
April 20, 2018
Jackson grabs Lebanon Midway Speedway season opener
Current Out-Pace USRA B-Mod national points leader Kris Jackson jumped to the early lead over polesitter Aaron Scroggins and never looked back in grabbing the season openread more
April 20, 2018
Scott, Egbert, Gillmore grab opening night checkers at Rancho Milagro Short Track Shootout
Opening night of the Rancho Milagro Short Track Shootout was a windy and cold one, but the racing made it all worth it. Ninety-five cars and drivers accumulated within thread more
Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group