USRA Modifieds $5,000 to win, $1,000 to start this weekend at Central Missouri Speedway
Print this page
June 29, 2017  |  by Sam Stoecklin

Jim Moody, Kevin Blackburn, Terry Schultz, and Dwight Niehoff are just a few of the stand-out USRA Modified drivers expected to challenge for the $5,000 top prize at the Central Missouri Speedway this weekend.

Fans and drivers alike look forward each year to the annual special events racing at Central Missouri Speedway (CMS) centered around the Independence Day weekend, which has come to be recognized as a must-see event.

The time is now as the 12th Annual Tom Wilson Memorial BBQ Bowl featuring the biggest USRA Modified purse in the area is upon us. Promoters Earl and Susan Walls recognize their former announcer’s love for Modified racing by posting a whopping $32,000 purse for the Modified’s main event, throughout the two nights of action on Saturdayt and Sunday, July 1-2, over $50,000 is on the line for participating drivers.

Action begins on Saturday when USRA Modified drivers work their way through preliminary action capped by a 20-lap scramble to determine Sunday night’s inside row starters. Mod-Lites will be a big part of the two nights of special events, and joining in on the action for night one will be Street Stocks, Out-Pace USRA B-Mods and Pure Stocks competing for their weekly championship points.

The huge weekend ends on Sunday with another round of USRA Modified qualifying through preliminary action and another 20-lap scramble to determine the finale’s outside row starters. Along for the ride on Sunday will be the POWRi Allstar Midget Series and the Mod-Lites. The night will conclude with the $5,000-to-win, $1,000-to-start Tom Wilson Memorial BBQ Bowl 50-lap main event followed by Brandon Walls’ Fireworks Extravaganza.

Former Independence Day Weekend winners include Justin Boney (1998), Chad Lyle (1999-2001), Richard Layne (2002), Tim Karrick (2003), Jason Hughes (2004, 2006), Dean Wille (2005), Kelly Shryock (2007, 2011), Jeremy Payne (2008), Terry Phillips (2009), Dustin Boney (2010), Zack VanderBeek (2014) and Jim Moody (2015). The track was not in operation during the 2012-13 seasons, and last year’s edition was canceled due to weather.

One of the most exciting things about the weekend is to see who decides to show up and run for the big bucks. This year’s racing at CMS has been some of the best the track has produced for the fans and it is hard to predict a definitive winner. In the past, touring drivers have stopped in on CMS and took the checkers but most recently, Moody flew the checkers for the “local guy” by claiming his biggest-ever victory in 2015.

Information for next weekend’s 12th Annual Tom Wilson Memorial BBQ Bowl, may be found on the CMS website at Everything you need to know for the weekend is conveniently located on the website, everything from start times, admissions info, race purses, race formats, program flow for the events and much more! Once you get to the website, click on the tab titled “Independence Day Weekend at CMS!” The CMS Party Barn comes to life after the races on Saturday for a night of fun and entertainment as party-goers have a chance to sing, dance, and hang out enjoying the sounds of Karaoke and DJ Music by Char.

On Saturday and Sunday, pit gates open at 4:30, grandstands at 5, driver pill draw closes at 6:15. Warning: late drivers will not be awarded passing points. The pit meeting takes place at 6:30, hot laps roll out at 7:00 and racing begins at 7:30. Special Events pricing will be in effect both nights. General admission adults $15, Military w/I.D. and Seniors 65 to 74 $12, kids ages six to twelve $5, five years and under are free, seniors 75 and older are also free. Seniors 80 and older may receive free pit admission courtesy of promoter Earl Walls, who recently celebrated his own 80th birthday in 2017! Pit passes for anyone entering the pits on either night are $35 each. There will be no private vehicles allowed in the pits throughout the weekend, only race cars and haulers are permitted.

Keep up with CMS on Twitter @CMSgoing_green. Like us on Facebook at Join our email group by emailing Find CMS on YouTube at CMS Going Green! Keep up with CMS news and information by pointing your browser to The Website includes standings, results, schedule, news, and much more!

CMS wishes to thank its 2017 primary sponsors for their support including Cliff Harris Warrensburg Ford, Budweiser, KMZU 100.7 FM, Sunoco Race Fuels, Midwest Coatings, Better Country KIX 105.7, KSDL, and KSIS FM, Comfort Inn Warrensburg Station, KRLI FM 103.9 & KAOL 101.3 FM The Grenade, Pepsi, 610 Sports Radio Kansas City, College Town Apartments of Warrensburg, and Heartland Waste.

The list of 2017 business partners includes: Batliner Recycling, Kleinschmidt’s Western Store, OK Wheel Alignment, OK Tire Stores, Blue Springs Truck Line Inc., Brooks Auto LLC, Rick Darling Racing Engines/Head Porting, KMMO Radio, Sabre Solar LLC, KDKD Radio, LJS Graphics, Wilderness Ridge Tent & Canvas, DQ Grill & Chill of Warrensburg, Zaxby’s, Miller Lite, Victory Trophies & Plaques, Joslins Jewelry, Eickleberry Concrete & Construction,, R & B Septic Services, O’Reilly Auto Parts, Wilderness Ridge Tent and Canvas, and Seeburg Mufflers. To join the CMS business partner team, call Susan Walls at (816) 229-1338. No calls after 8 p.m. please. For complete point standings visit

Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group