Green, Latham garner third wins at Tri-State Speedway
Print this page
July 1, 2017  |  by Rob Nugent

Trevor Latham won the USRA Modified feature.

The ninth points race of the season at the legendary Tri-State Speedway was a night of repeat winners. The 46th Annual Firecracker Spectacular and 5th Annual Curtis Tennant Memorial presented by Shamrock Bolt & Screw Company was forced to scramble by none other than Mother Nature herself. Thanks also to Crey Hoover Land and Cattle Company for assisting with the weekend’s events.

Along with the huge fireworks display and the added money for the Out-Pace USRA B-Mods by and Green Country Poultry Litter, making it a $600-to-win race, 77 cars provided an incredible show for the packed grandstands.

The pre-race ceremonies started just before 8 p.m. with a memorial reading about the late Curtis Tennant. The invocation followed and during the National Anthem, several drivers, led by Jeff Tennant and Gerry Vaughn, made two parade laps while presenting our nation’s flag and several memorial flags honoring Curtis.

The first race on the track after intermission was the Out-Pace USRA B-Mod feature where Dean Green of Springdale, Ark., returned to victory lane for the third time this season which tied the number of wins of the second-place driver, Hunter Byers. Lonny Flanagan repeated his third-place finish from the previous week but remains the points leader with a 62-point margin.

Dean Green won the Out-Pace USRA B-Mod feature.

The USRA Modifieds took to the high banks last for their feature. Trevor Latham of Rogers, Ark., took home his third win of the season and remains the class points leader. Kreg Dobson charged through the field for a second-place finish over last week’s winner, Brent Holman.

The Tri-State Speedway will be off this coming weekend and will return to action on Saturday night, July 15, with a full night of racing in all five classes. Don’t forget the new starting time of 8 p.m. with both pit gates and grandstand gates opening at 5. The drivers meeting is at 7 and hot laps are scheduled for 7:30.

The complete 2017 racing schedule can always be found on our website at Also, be sure to stay up to date with us via our social media channels on Facebook, Twitter, Google+ and YouTube.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

United States Racing Association
Summit Racing USRA Weekly Racing Series
Tri-State Speedway, Pocola, Okla.
Saturday, July 1, 2017


Heat #1 (8 laps): 1. 7-Lonny Flanagan, [2]; 2. 40-Hunter Byers, [6]; 3. 28-Dean Green, [5]; 4. 55-Chuck Smith, [1]; 5. 1V-Johnny Virden, [3]; 6. 27-Jacob Campbell, [8]; 7. 26H-Hayden Holzman, [7]; (DNS) 41N-Beau Nelson.

Heat #2 (8 laps): 1. 94-Dustin Leatherman, [4]; 2. B12-Charlie Brummett, [7]; 3. 77-Gerry Vaughn, [3]; 4. 17-Luke Leatherman, [1]; 5. 7X-Paul Harper, [2]; 6. 359-Jay Kelly, [8]; 7. 19X-Jirad Blankenship, [5]; 8. 2-Daniel Tarkington, [6].

Feature (15 laps): 1. 28-Dean Green, [2]; 2. 40-Hunter Byers, [4]; 3. 7-Lonny Flanagan, [6]; 4. 55-Chuck Smith, [7]; 5. B12-Charlie Brummett, [3]; 6. 27-Jacob Campbell, [11]; 7. 94-Dustin Leatherman, [5]; 8. 17-Luke Leatherman, [8]; 9. 7J-Jason Payton, [16]; 10. 77-Gerry Vaughn, [1]; 11. 19X-Jirad Blankenship, [12]; 12. 26H-Hayden Holzman, [13]; 13. 1V-Johnny Virden, [9]; 14. 41N-Beau Nelson, [15]; (DNS) 359-Jay Kelly, ; (DNS) 2-Daniel Tarkington.


Heat #1 (8 laps): 1. 15-George Martin, [3]; 2. 17-Brent Holman, [6]; 3. 79-Kreg Dobson, [2]; 4. 8M-Dalton McKenzie, [4]; 5. 8-Jeremy Vaughn, [7]; 6. 48X-Alan Brown, [5]; 7. 48-Dallas Bourland, [1].

Heat #2 (8 laps): 1. 27L-Trevor Latham, [2]; 2. III-Myles Newman III, [5]; 3. 127-Andy Morris, [1]; 4. 1/2-Zane Hunter, [3]; 5. 49-Kayden Menasco, [6]; 6. 1/4-Brandon Hunter, [4].

Feature (20 laps): 1. 27L-Trevor Latham, [5]; 2. 79-Kreg Dobson, [2]; 3. 17-Brent Holman, [4]; 4. III-Myles Newman III, [3]; 5. 8M-Dalton McKenzie, [7]; 6. 49-Kayden Menasco, [10]; 7. 127-Andy Morris, [1]; 8. 1/2-Zane Hunter, [8]; 9. 8-Jeremy Vaughn, [9]; 10. 15-George Martin, [6]; 11. 48-Dallas Bourland, [13]; 12. 1/4-Brandon Hunter, [12]; 13. 48X-Alan Brown, [11].

Latest News from the USRA

April 25, 2018
Hamilton County Speedway announces May 5 grand opening, kids night
Officials at the Hamilton County Speedway in Webster City, Iowa, have announced that opening night for the 2018 racing season will happen Saturday, May 5, with an open prread more
April 24, 2018
Seeburg Mufflers Night brings in week two of Lakeside Speedway season
Last week, a new season at Lakeside Speedway began with Lance Town (USRA Modifieds), Brett Heeter (Holley USRA Stock Cars) and Brad Smith (Out-Pace USRA B-Mods) forever eread more
April 24, 2018
Five features for $5 on KY3 Night this Saturday at Lucas Oil Speedway
With a weather forecast of sunshine and a high of 70 degrees, all systems are go for a big Saturday of racing at Lucas Oil Speedway as the Big Adventure RV Weekly Racing read more
April 24, 2018
I-35 Speedway to host Asphalt Racers Reunion
I-35 Speedway honors our history in and around the Kansas City racing community. Part of our local racing history involved a decade plus of asphalt racing at I-70 and Lakread more
April 22, 2018
VanderBeek, Josselyn, Gillmore snag Sunday checkers in Rancho Milagro Short Track Shootout
Drivers filled the pits with energy to finish the Rancho Milagro Short Track Shootout at the Southern New Mexico Speedway on Sunday. Jason Josselyn of Tularosa pilotedread more
Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group